We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting”
Review of Hotel du Lys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Lys
Ranked #1,357 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“interesting”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Very close to the main features of paris, very close to cafes and resturants, historic building but the room was small. It was neat no air conditioner, we were given a fan, which was okay. good location, no lift all stairs okay if you do not have much luggage.

Room Tip: front upstairs rooms have a small balcony,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    89
    60
    21
    27
See reviews for
50
89
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed here in February of 2014 while travelling with my cousin. It took us quite a while to find the hotel after we came from the Metro, as it is along a very small and private street. When we got there, the man working at the desk seemed fairly polite, maybe a little snappy, but he talked to us about breakfast in the morning, the key system, which room we had, how to check out, etc.. Since this building is so fantastically historic (as a history major, I absolutely ADORED it), it does not have an elevator. Be prepared to carry luggage up several flights of very narrow stairs. Also, the locks and keys on the doors are very old, so we sometimes had trouble locking the door and had to get help from the front desk.
Other than these two things, our stay was fantastic. I loved the decor in the hotel, and the washroom was spectacular for such an old building. Super close to the Metro, buses, tourist hot spots, shopping, and night life. I would absolutely stay here if I travel to Paris again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aszilag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile


This hotel elicits strong responses. If you are charmed by the idea of staying in a hotel that dates back to the 1600s and are ready for what that may entail, then you're in the right place. We had room 19 for 5 nights. That meant taking about 80 stairs each day to return to our room. Steep stairs. Although there were on again off again problems with the air con the staff at the hotel tried to fix the problem and did attend to us on this. The shower and bathroom worked well. The beds were comfortable and clean. Our favourite part of the room was the balcony we could sit on in the evening with little geranium planters all around. The breakfast was delicious and all staff were attentive. We would stay here again. Very centrally located. Close to odeon metro stop.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank fromcanada77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Convenient location & accessible to subway, supermarkets and sightseeing points. We were a bit clumsy carrying large luggages by staircases on 4th floors for 3 girls. Room was clean and cosy old European style. Noted it was a historic building and appreciate their efforts to restore the old building in good shape. Lovely breakfast in a tiny cosy room.

Room Tip: Carrying large luggages better staying in lower floor for ladies
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 59fannyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I first went to Hotel du Lys thirty years ago with my husband and 16 yr old daughter. We stayed there twice that year for several days and found it to our liking. It's an old historic building and perhaps it is not for everyone: no elevator, no "glitz". But it was just right for us then and great for me solo now. From here you can walk to all the places I'm usually interested in seeing in and around the Latin Quarter. I was thrilled with the ease with which I could get to Charles de Gaul airport from the hotel: a very short walk to the RER and an express metro ride for 9.5 Euros! The neighborhood has many restaurants from which to choose. If you want a livelier scene, you can find it about three blocks away in any direction . The French breakfast is perfect and the staff extremely helpful. I'll always go back.

Room Tip: For some the stairs could present a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The hotel is well located but I think that is the best it can offer. The room was clean but a bit weary rather than romantic. Also my room was quite small. On the other hand, as it was clean and I also liked the small breakfast I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leena152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A friend and I had a twin room on the 3rd floor. The building dates back to the 1600's and is lovely. Our room was spacious and clean with everything we needed. The en suite was small but perfectly adequate. We left the window open at night and found the small street to be quite quiet. The continental breakfast was the same for all, a croissant and generous hunk of baguette with preserves and as much coffee as we wanted. It was delicious and set us up well for the day. The staff were all friendly and kind. We wouldn't hesitate to go there again - the location was excellent for tourists to walk or take buses or metro to all parts of the city. The stairs go round in a spiral and are slightly uneven and there is no lift. Anyone with heavy luggage or difficulty climbing stairs should be aware of this and ask for a room on a lower floor.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelbug860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Eugenie
Hotel Eugenie
#1,071 of 1,801 in Paris
290 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Relais Hotel du Vieux Paris
Relais Hotel du Vieux Paris
#469 of 1,801 in Paris
377 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Le Petit Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel St. Andre des Arts
Hotel St. Andre des Arts
#1,311 of 1,801 in Paris
346 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Cluny Square
Hotel Cluny Square
#384 of 1,801 in Paris
675 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Quartier Latin 2
Quartier Latin 2
#1,604 of 1,801 in Paris
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lys

Property: Hotel du Lys
Address: 23 rue Serpente, 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,357 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a 17th century old mansion situated in a very quiet street, Hotel du Lys is one of the best offers in Paris for its location, services and reasonable prices. It is located on the left bank, in a stone’s throw from the Seine river, and in walking distance of Notre-Dame, the Louvre, the Sorbonne, the Luxembourg 's garden, Saint Germain des Prés, Beaubourg, Saint Louis island, Invalides, Sainte Chapelle and the Musee d’Orsay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Lys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Lys Hotel
Du Lys Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing