We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small hotel in Paris” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel des Grands Hommes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Ranked #134 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
313 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Nice small hotel in Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel is located on the left bank on the Place Pantheon,near the Sorbonne. This is a lovely hotel, with beautiful decoration in the rooms and public spaces. Our room was on the second floor in the back - very quiet. It was a small room, but well appointed with adequate lighting and a modern bathroom. This is a small boutique hotel, and the front desk staff was very helpful with check in, restaurant suggestions, and other requests. Breakfast was in the basement, and you can have the continental breakfast (which was very generous) or additional options. There are so many options in Paris for hotels, and this one was a place to return.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HoustonRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,013
    477
    80
    17
    6
See reviews for
204
897
103
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

I booked a double room classified as "comfort category with view"; the price was a bit less than 200 e per night in July. Overall, I enjoyed my stay here (even taking into account the price):

+ The location is excellent, right next to Panthéon and within a short walk from lots of restaurants in the Latin Quarter. The room (3rd floor, facing the street) had a nice view to Panthéon.

+ The hotel was beautifully decorated, both in the lobby and in the room. Everything looked well maintained and clean.

+ The room was fairly large. In addition to the bed, there was also a nice couch for sitting and relaxing. There was enough space for luggage and clothes, and plenty of space for other items in the closets.

+ There was air conditioning, and it worked very well, both in the lobby and in the room, even when it was +36°C outdoors.

+ Wifi was free, very reliable, and fairly fast. There is a login page, but you only need to do the login once (on each device) during your entire stay; then everything just works automatically. (The only place with a poor wifi signal was the breakfast room in the basement.)

+ The reception staff was friendly and helpful.

There were only some minor issues:

- The room is not that practical for business trips if you want to get some work done in your hotel room. There is no writing desk. There are few power sockets, and not in very convenient locations. The lighting is poor; it gets very dark in the evening.

- Breakfast is not worth the price (14 e extra per person). Tiny fruit salad, some fresh bakery products (bread, croissant, etc.) with marmalade, a glass of orange juice, and coffee or (lukewarm!) tea. You can get the same thing in a nearby coffee shop or bakery much cheaper, and in much nicer surroundings.

- For some reason my wakeup call was never delivered. I was fairly upset about this, complained, and did not get any explanation or even a proper apology.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank czfrbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holbrook, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We LOVED everything about our stay. From the moment we entered, Patrick went above and beyond to make our family comfortable. Everyone was friendly and helpful, but Patrick is a real asset to the hotel.
The room was clean and 'cozy', but truthfully, this is Paris. There's so much to see that we only went to the room to sleep. After spending 5 restless nights in London, I was thrilled to get a great nights sleep. The bedding was quite comfortable and the ability to open the widows for fresh air was delightful.
The location is ideal-close to sights and places to eat. Just ask at the desk, they'll direct you to the side streets behind the hotel.
When Patrick saw my daughter was traveling with her 8 month old daughter, he upgraded their accommodations and put them in a larger room so she would have a crib. A very nice gesture-although it left me envious! They wound up in an extraordinary suite.
It was challenging to pick a hotel in Paris, since there are so many, but this exceeded our expectations. We can't wait to get back there--and we will go back!
Oh, BTW, don't forget to tour the Pantheon. Without knowing anything about it, we figured we should go just because it was across the street. We were so glad we did-WOW!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beeba820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Hotel Des Grands Hommes. 17 Place du Panthéon. This hotel has been around for years. It is clean, well decorated and the room I had, was very adequate for me. Well decorated, very clean although one was aware of the lift as my room was close by. Highly recommended for position and general presentation. However, if you don’t like heights make certain you choose a room no higher than the third floor. Prices as published, breakfast: €14!
I must not forget to mention the friendly, dedicated and welcoming staff!
Will certainly stay there on my next visit.

Room Tip: If you don't like heights don't choose a room beyond the third floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanislas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLPelletier, Responsable réception at Hotel des Grands Hommes, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Stanislas R

I would like to thank you for reviewing on the quality of the hotel and service.
Indeed, the classic full brekfast is at 14€ but we propose a formula at 10€ or 12€ as well.
I look forward to welcoming you back!

All the best,
Mathieu Billaud,
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We visited the Hotel Des Grands Hommes over the Bastille weekend for my wife's 50th Birthday. All of the staff helped to create a fantastic atmosphere around the hotel by providing superb attention to detail, impeccable customer service among beautiful surroundings. The hotel is located in the excellent Latin quarter with superb traditional restaurants tucked away off the main streets that are very good value for money. The hotels website provides an accurate representation of the charm and quality and if anything the 3 star rating does not do the hotel justice. We would be happy to recommend this hotel to all friends and family as an excellent base to visit a charming city.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel can attract some over night noise from passing pedestrians and cars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keeponwondering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLPelletier, Responsable réception at Hotel des Grands Hommes, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your laudatory review whcih honors us!

looking forward to welcoming you back,

Warmest regards,
Mathieu Billaud
Assistant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wv
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Our third stay here, our eighth with the hotel group. We stayed for two nights in July and loved it. Staff are top notch, rooms are gorgeous, and the location is ideal. If you can wait until the last minute, as in the week you are staying, you can find some real deals--assuming they are not full up. Or be safe and book well in advance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worshiguchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLPelletier, Responsable réception at Hotel des Grands Hommes, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you your laudatory review and for having noted we work to provide our best service.
All the best!
Mathieu Billaud,
Assistant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Another stay at the Hotel-des-grands-hommes.
Very parisian! rooms aren't big though but its location is ideal. Only downside is that if you have a car, you have to park on the square outside.
Wifi worked great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmeunier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLPelletier, Responsable réception at Hotel des Grands Hommes, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for having taken time to express the quality of the hotel and service provided while you were our guest.

Warmest regards,
Mathieu Billaud,
Assistant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
#139 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#87 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#136 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Hotel Design Sorbonne
#289 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Quartier Latin
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
#159 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#183 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Grands Hommes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Grands Hommes

Property: Hotel des Grands Hommes
Address: 17 Place du Pantheon, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#80 Family Hotel in Paris
#175 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Grands Hommes 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Fastbooking, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel des Grands Hommes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Grands Hommes Hotel
Des Grands Hommes Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing