We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel on Place du Pantheon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Ranked #141 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique hotel on Place du Pantheon”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed here two nights and had a fantastic time. The room was spectacular - beautiful, classy decor and a very comfortable bed. We were on the 6th floor with a lovely balcony overlooking the Pantheon (which we unfortunately didn't take full advantage of since it was raining) The service was excellent from start to finish, we had a delicious breakfast delivered to our room one morning. It's obviously quite pricey but we booked directly through their website and got a nearly 50% discount through a promotion. Would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Spend a bit more for the view on the Pantheon, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLPelletier, Responsable réception at Hotel des Grands Hommes, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Nicholas M

Thank you a lot for your review which honors us!
The room 61 has an outstanding view upon Paris to the Sacré-Coeur. Sorry for the rain but hope you had been able to get your breakfast on teh terrase...

Warmest regards,
Mathieu Billaud,
Manager Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,037
    486
    81
    18
    6
See reviews for
207
919
104
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Excellent location near the metro and the sights of Paris. Faultless service and scrumptious breakfast that sets you up for the day. Nothing too much trouble for the reception to sort out for you.Beautifully decorated rooms. We paid extra for a view of the Pantheon with small balcony which was lovely. Lots of great restaurants in the Latin Quarter nearby. 65 Euros for a quality 3 course with wine for 2 people.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLPelletier, Responsable réception at Hotel des Grands Hommes, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Paul H

I would like to thank you for having noted us 5/5.
The rooms facing the Pantheon are little bit larger and have a somptuous view on the peaceful Pantheon.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon!

All the best,
Mathieu Billaud.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
679 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel is one among many in the "Quartier Latin" area that my husband and I have tried every time we visit Paris.

But certainly this one stands out of the crowd. The hotel is well located just on the side of the Pantheon and very close to the Luxembourg gardens, as well as close to many interesting alternative French shops and good, not expensive restaurants and bistros. The area is perfect and the hotel is great.

Staff are effective and attentive in their service and the premisses could not be more charming. The rooms are reasonably spacious and well lightened for French standards (I think that 90% of the hotels´s rooms in Paris are pretty small). It has a little cozy verandah and the bathroom is really big with a nice old style bathtub. The premisses are beautifully decorated in a French style, specially the rooms, that reminds Belle époque (kins of modern reading of that style). The breakfast is not special, but good enough for French standards of a 3 star. Actually the hotel as a whole is better than that.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuPereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLPelletier, Responsable réception at Hotel des Grands Hommes, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear JuSouza,

I would like to thank you for your review.
Indeed the hotel is a 3 star one but with a real 4 star standard (rooms & service). The Empire / Directoire style is what make the hotel different (beside the custom made-service) and I am glad you liked it!

Warmest regards,
Mathieu Billaud,
Manager assistant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here with our family of 3 small children at the beginning of July. Not huge rooms, but comfortable and excellent staff. Manager Guillaume was particularly helpful in fixing the few queries we had.

Breakfast is not absolutely fantastic for the price when there are so many good boulangerie's on the doorstep.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dionyssoslao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This charming hotel is next to Paris Pantheon, 5 minutes walk from Luxembourg gardens and Sorbonne.
The rooms are small but perfectly designed and decorated, featuring luxurious 18-19th century style.
Staff very helpful and friendly.
Overall-the experience it creates, adds the value to Paris vacation.
And don't forget to drink Armagnac at its lobby.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandro k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in July, just after the tour de France had finished. We arrived on the eurostar, and took the metro down to the local stop Luxembourg. I have to say this was very easy and the hotel was only a few minutes walk so cannot fault the location. We arrived at 2.30pm, check-in was supposed to be at 2pm but our room was not ready. We we told to leave our bags and do some sight seeing, and they would call us when we could go to our room. There was no apology just an expectation that this was okay.

We had a look round the local shops, stopped for a glass of wine and still no phone call - so we decided to go back anyway.

Still no apology, but we think we may have been given an upgrade (although nothing was said) as we got a view of the Patheon when we were allocated a room.

The room was small, but as we were using this as a base for a city break we weren't planning on spending much time there. If you were staying for more than a couple of days this hotel would be unsuitable.

We chose not to have breakfast as it was 14EUR extra per person, and there are hundreds of cafes a short walk away that would offer better value for money.

The only good thing about this hotel was the location as it was easy to get to the metro, walk to the islands, and the local shops and restaurants are very good. I would not chose to stay at this hotel as the service was awful, and when paying for a room, you expect to be able to access it from the check-in time. Had I traveled from further away than London to begin my stay in Paris I would have been very angry,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank relaxandsightsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLPelletier, Responsable réception at Hotel des Grands Hommes, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review.
Please apologize for getting you the room cleaned-up a little later than you expected.
To improve our organisation, an e-mail is sent to each guest, 3 days before their arrival to have the approximate time of arrival. Nevertheless, it often happens that guests leave late, in teh meanwhile, many guests arrive early du to the jet-lag.
this is the reason why we ask guest a phone number to contact you directly when the room is ready. Sorry if we failed.
The hotel has 30 rooms with 6 different categories.
I wish to welcome you back for you to make a better opinion on our rooms (facing teh Pantheon, with balcony or terrace, Junior suite of 35 sqm...).
Warmest regards,
Mathieu Billaud,
Manager assistant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The staff at this hotel is the most amazing group of people I've ever dealt with. They made our trip perfect. Thank you!

The rooms are so perfectly Paris. Small, yes but beautiful. There was enough storage space to accommodate our 9 day trip. We stayed in room 63 just last week. We had the courtyard view and we were offered a change in rooms half way through but decided against it because we were happy enough. The bed was very comfortable.

The location is so perfect to get anywhere, especially back and forth to the airport and for picnics in Jardin du Luxembourg.

Nothing we asked them for was a bother. They never stop smiling and being helpful. I would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BWhite27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLPelletier, Responsable réception at Hotel des Grands Hommes, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for having taken time to express your feedback on the quality of the hotel and service provided.
Your review honors us.

Warmest regards,
Mathieu Billaud,
Manager assistant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
#142 of 1,802 in Paris
543 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#89 of 1,802 in Paris
1,139 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#110 of 1,802 in Paris
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
#170 of 1,802 in Paris
983 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Hotel Design Sorbonne
#278 of 1,802 in Paris
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Grands Hommes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Grands Hommes

Property: Hotel des Grands Hommes
Address: 17 Place du Pantheon, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#80 Family Hotel in Paris
#175 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Grands Hommes 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel des Grands Hommes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Grands Hommes Hotel
Des Grands Hommes Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing