We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good base for Central Paris...”
Review of Hotel des Arenes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel des Arenes
Ranked #996 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Llandudno
Level Contributor
115 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Very good base for Central Paris...”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The hotel Des Arenes is situated in the Latin Quarter and is only 100 yards or so from the Place Monge Metro station which gives you easy access to Central Paris and all the main places of interest, so is ideally suited to a stay in the Capital.
The hotel itself is clean and tidy. Is on six floors with the top floors having a nice little balcony. It is surprisingly quiet at night despite its location and you will get a good nights sleep here too. The breakfast room, which is basically what it is, is in the basement and looks a bit like a cafe. The breakfast is typically 'continental' and consists of a bread basket containing a bread roll, a croissant, a pain au chocolat and some Melba toast. You also get a variety of cheeses and preserves and either tea, chocolate or coffee. Cereals, yoghurts and fruit juice is also available. Not an amazing choice but fresh and on a par with most other French hotels. The rooms are cleaned daily and to a good standard. The one gripe however is that the toilet is on one side of the room and the bathroom on the other. Both the toilet and the shower are so small it was slightly awkward to move about about. I am not aware how many rooms are in this setup thought, it may just be room 63.
The reception is open 24hrs and the staff are friendly and helpful. They do however do their best to try and sell you transfers to the Airport for €32. Not worth it as you are so close to the Metro with easy access to the railway to CDG . (Take the RER-B, from Chatelet station)
The hotel is in the heart of the Latin Quarter and numerous bars and restaurants are only a a short walk away.
All in all, we had a pleasant stay at the Des Arenes. Having read some of the reviews I did have my reservations about staying here, these were immediately dismissed on seeing the hotel for myself. I would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LenDudno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    204
    104
    35
    33
See reviews for
77
198
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed in this hotel only one night but I can say that it was very good considering the room prices.

The location is great since you can reach most of the important places such as Pantheon and Notre Dame by walking and also you can prefer the metro which is only 3 min walk to the hotel entrance. Also, there are buses on the street of hotel.

Our room was facing the street and it was on the 5th floor. That's why we had a great view of Paris from our windows and balcony.

The receptionists were very helpful, kind and smiling.

Worths your money...

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank selinyetimoglu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsens, Denmark
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel a couple of years ago. Our room was facing the wonderfull arena and it was completely quiet. We slept with the windows open. On the other side of the hotel is the pretty busy Rue Monge, so ask for a room facing the arena!
The location is good close to the Metro and within walking distance to Notre Dame, latin quarter, pantheon etc.
The rooms are rather outdated and small, and cleanliness is average. But compared to other hotels in Paris, the rooms are actualy spacious...
The breakfast is pretty basic. It was included in our rate, but if you have to pay, go find an other café.
We enjoyed the quiet location at night, the beautiful views of the arena and a good night's of sleep, but compared to the price, we would find an other place next time in Paris

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jensen09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

1. Location was fine.
2. Breakfast: For 12 Euros a basket of bread is not acceptable- and unfriendly staff.
Some people got hard boiled eggs- but we were never (in 4 days) able to get some.
Not at 7 and not at 9 - time made no difference.
3. 2 of Front staff very friendly- but the Manager rude and ill- mannered.Twice on duty while
we were there.
4. We will in future take a more modern place close to metro futher out.
Too old- rooms to small. No lounge.
5. Not value for money paid at all!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EStruwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Went to Paris for 3 nights to celebrate my wife's birthday, the Hotel was pretty basic but had everything as advertised so what more can you ask for.
We were moved rooms for the second night because the manager thought we might prefer a room which was at the front of the hotel and a bit more modernised, he was correct and it made the stay even more enjoyable,
Breakfast was just typical continental, no sausages or bacon but pleasant and filling enough.
We never really spent to long at the hotel, it was really just a place to crash and get a shower but the location was fantastic, located right next to the Metro so you could really be anywhere within a short space of time, also close to the hotel were plenty of bars and restaurant which is where we spent our evenings.
Personally I never really wanted to go to Paris but have to concede it was absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
329 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

This hotel is reasonably priced in a good location if you like the Latin Quarter and Rue Mouffetard kind of Paris - as we do!

The staff is friendly and the rooms OK. However, we experienced that one of the beds (that made our double bed) actually collapsed. The reason was that the legs had wheels and were not properly secured. It caused both surprise/shock and a hurting knee (still one week after).

If we come back, it's because it is cheap, and we will check the beds :)

Room Tip: Room nr 3 was OK, check the beds....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2012

It depends what you want from your hotel. I wanted somewhere comfortable and convenient to base myself while seeing the sights of Paris. If that's what you want this hotel is ideal. It is within a couple of minutes walk of 2 Metro stations in the Latin Quater and about 15 min walk to Notre Dame. The staff are helpful and pleasant and the room adequate. It was clean, and whilst small, for my short stay I didn't really need anyhting else as I spent minimal time in the room other than to sleep. I would recommend you choose not to have breakfast in the hotel. Not becasue it isn't very good, but just that you can get a much better value breakfast from the local cafes and experience the morning atmosphere in the process. I would choose to go back to the hotel if I was in paris for a similar short stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#556 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Quartier Latin
Best Western Quartier Latin Pantheon
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
#205 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Timhotel Jardin des Plantes
Timhotel Jardin des Plantes
#1,196 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Quartier Latin
Qualys Hotel Apolonia Mouffetard Paris 5
Quartier Latin
Hotel Au Royal Cardinal
Hotel Au Royal Cardinal
#1,240 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Arenes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arenes

Property: Hotel des Arenes
Address: 51 rue Monge | 5 Arr, 75005 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #996 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Arenes 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel des Arenes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Arenes Hotel
Des Arenes Paris
Hotel Des Arenes Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing