We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally Located Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de l'Universite
Ranked #196 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Arriving at the Hotel de l’Universite at 8:00 am after 22 hours of transit from Sydney, Australia, we were pleasantly surprised to find that our room was ready. A charming and reasonably priced 3-star hotel in Paris’ Left Bank, the Hotel l’Universite’s rooms were comfortable, clean and not as minuscule as my husband, Peter had led me to believe - he has stayed at this hotel about 3 times over the past 10 years. The beds were superb, a ‘must’ for any sleep deprived traveler!

Ideally located in the heart of the Left Bank, Hotel de l'Universite is nestled amongst bustling cafes, restaurants, art galleries and antique dealers, with St Germain des Pres around the corner and Pont Neuf connecting us to the Right Bank a mere 5 minute walk away. So much to explore and discover!

We looked forward to our breakfasts at the hotel: Delicious baguettes and croissants, jams and cheeses, good coffee and a homey atmosphere. The staff, especially the 2 ladies that served us breakfast in the mornings, were always chirpy, friendly and accommodating, even though their English was limited.

The downside of this hotel was its internet connection, which was lousy, but you can’t have everything. I made the decision then and there to give myself a break from the internet and my travel writing for a few days - a wise decision as it compelled me to immerse myself in Paris without any distractions. We'd stay here again on our next trip to Paris; we loved the fact that this hotel was small, ideally located, reasonably priced, and has a personal touch.

Room Tip: We always request a quiet room at the time of our booking, which made all the difference to our stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VictoriaUgarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel from 8th to the 13th June 2012 and enjoyed every moment. We got upgraded to a deluxe double. Good sized room, lean but excellent staff. Oliver, Alain and Reno were good hosts, taking care of our every need and answering our every inquiry. Newly refurbished rooms with a spacious closet, safe and ref were a plus! Five minutes to Musee D'Orsee, 10 minutes to the Louvre, a few minutes more to the Tulleries Garden and the Place D'Concorde. Located at the Saint Germain des Pres, near bus and metro. I would recommend this hotel highly! Will stay with them again if given the chance!

Room Tip: dont forget to indicate your room preferences because they do their best to meet them-ie large bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cielo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

A great stay. Wonderful location. A quirky hotel in a quiet street. Friendly and helpful reception staff. My room was a good size, clean, with a good bathroom (including a bath).
As others mentioned, if you want to sleep-in in Paris, be warned about the renovation work next door that started about 7.30. It did not bother me as I was up and out.
Also, as others have mentioned, the taxi that the hotel booked for me to CDG turned out to be really really expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorktravelPlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I love Paris.Its a town that I visit more than 20 times since a lot of years because professional but also private reasons.Im working in luxury fashion brand distribution.During all this years I have stayed in different recommended Hotels , the one very Parisien, others very cool in the trendy mainstream of minimalism..Saint Germain offers a lot of hotels, but as my company choosed this wonderful hotel, every stay is a pleasure and I found the best place to be ! The hotel is very cental located, you need not more than 10 minutes with your famiy to the Louvre.The street is wonderful calm and you'll find the best delicatess shop in Rue Saint Peres,l'epicerie, open every day till midnight.By the way I saw few houses next of the delicatess shop yesterday, Jean Paul Belmondo, its not a joke, its an extraordinary area of very old and antiques shops and galeries.And you find wonderful private houses of magnificent quality. When you come to Rue l'Universite, you feel very private,as it is away of the mass touristic streets and hotels.The Hotel l'Universite has been just renovated end of 2011 and every room got its own charme.The entrance of the hotel don't let you imagine,what a juwel is really inside created.The entrance is typical french and the reception very simple.But the receptionist Michel,Rino and Olivier are extremly professional and do a great job.They are always very helpful,speak excellent englisch and are very helpful, to make your stay so nice as possible.The interiordesign of the rooms are an excellent mix of modern elements with classical tasted detailled furniture.The beds are extremly comfortable and kingsized in comparison to others hotels in Paris of this category.The save is big enough for ipads or labtops and easy to handle.You find also very modern electricity equipment and enough places to load you ipad,iphone.laptop and camera batteries on the same time.Thing, that you should appreciate,if you travel with business equipment,as other hotel have been also renovated but forgot this important detail, that in a modern world the media support gets daily more importance.The rooms have great TV, a clima,and also the wifi work perfectly, if you remeber to push also the button login;-).The bathroom are beautiful and new.You can enjoy the newest bathdesign,elegant and of the best quality.The room service are very nice and everything is always clean and fresh.The times i came for business I was always very well attended.This time I came exceptional for a long weekend with my husband and three childrens, and it was the same nice particulary treatment like before.The boys had a wonderful triple room with terrace in the 5 floor and we 're in the 4 floor, it was really easy to handle.The childrens also my gsband felt very happy, as the athmosphere of the hotel is very familar and relaxing.The terrace of the room 52 is geourgios and you can see also the Tour Eiffel.Imagine.We took the breakfast in our rooms and it was quick served and well presented.The're only to say that it is really the best hotel I ever had,if you like to have a relaxing time with you family, friends or business.The price /rates are great and in a good relation to what you get.I considering that in reality they should have one star more,as the perfect renovation without loosing the charm of a Parisien Hotel and the perfect choise of employees guaranted you a pleaseful stay.Enjoy it, you will never find such a juwel again!Its an insider tip.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VERENAGIMENEZ67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The hotel was average, the location excellent. The staff were polite.
When booking this hotel it should be made clear that there is building work going on right next door as we were waken up every day by 7:00 am by the hammering going on the wall next to our room,when we complained ,nothing was done and at checkout time no apologies either,needless to say we will not book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank palermo95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Dear Sir or Madam,
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a comment about your stay. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the location and the team. We apologize that the noise from the adjoining building's construction was a disturbance for you. We are not able to anticipate their work/schedules however we always do our best at the reception to find a room for you that provides the most peaceful stay possible. We would be very happy to welcome you back in the future for a more peaceful visit.
Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Great location and very quaint hotel - stayed in a room right at the top: which was lovely with fantastic view and a balcony. The stairs are steep to the top floor so dont book this room if this could be a problem (there is a lift, but like lots of Paris hotels, its small and slow). Really friendly staff - was there to go to a wedding and they were incredibly helpful with directions etc

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salbobLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We were there during June, 2011. The hotel was undergoing renovation, which will improve the quiet of the rooms. Well known as having unusually large rooms for the price and location. We've stayed here 5 times. If you demand all modern furnishings and appearance, go somewhere else -- you won't be happy here, One stays here for the location, the size of the rooms, the historical nature of the location, the proximity to the Louvre and the Musée d'Orsay, and the general atmosphere of the neighborhood. The breakfast is also generous.

Room Tip: Rooms vary very much in size. Go to the hotel website from which you can email your questions(staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank sonostudente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
#143 of 1,804 in Paris
525 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Lille
Hotel de Lille
#182 of 1,804 in Paris
270 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Verneuil Saint-Germain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Seine
Hotel de Seine
#130 of 1,804 in Paris
560 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Academie Hotel Saint Germain
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Artus Hotel by MH
Artus Hotel by MH
#98 of 1,804 in Paris
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Universite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Universite

Address: 22 rue de l Universite, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in Paris
#164 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#298 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £115 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Universite 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de l’Université is a former Benedictine convent and has retained many period features while adapting to the needs of 21st century society. The reception area is vast and delightful with its ancient beams. It is an immediate illustration of the style and appeal of this quality establishment. The Hotel de l’Université only has 27 bedrooms, allowing the staff to focus on an individualized care. Each room has its own decor and character, many ornate with ageless beams, but all benefiting from tall traditional Parisian windows allowing daylight to flood in. All the rooms have been renovated in 2011 and include air-conditioning, mini-bar, safety deposit box and a free Wi-Fi connection. A laundry service is available upon request. The rooms on the top floor overlook the rooftops of Paris and some have the rare bonus of a private terrace. The Hotel de l’Université is not a place to stay for the night. It is a journey into the history and style of Parisian life, a chance to experience life as one of the locals and bring back unforgettable memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel de l'Universite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Universite
De l Universite Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing