We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hotel near everything in Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de l'Universite
Ranked #232 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“hotel near everything in Paris”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stay there for 3 days. It is a 3 star hotel. Nice rooms, nice beds, very quiet street, near every site of interest and metro in Paris. The hotel offers breakfast but it is expensive so never tried it. Very near the Louvre, Orsay Museum. I recommend it to anyone who is planing to go there and be near everything without spending much in hotel without taking away the comfort and quiet after a long day walking.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smr1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    159
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
59
155
38
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The Hotel is in an excellent location. I was in a clean room at the back of the building, which was very quiet. The staff were discreet but helpful. There was a good sense of space in the entrance lobby and on the lovely old staircase, which is not typical of similar hotels in Paris.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This hotel was exactly what most of the previous reviews suggested. It appears the hotel was fairly recently remodeled and was very affordable compared to other locations I researched. The location was great. We were able to walk to Notre Dame, the Louvre and Musée d'Orsay. We were also close to a lot of little cafes and a few main boulevards. I only had two issues with this hotel. First, if we wanted to iron clothes, we had to go down to the basement to use the housekeeping iron. The staff told us that we weren't allowed to iron in our rooms. The second issue was the very small elevator. My husband and I had to go up one at a time with our carry-on bags. This really wasn't that big of a deal and it seems to be the norm for a lot of Parisian hotels. Overall the staff was very helpful and friendly and the rooms were well kept. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

You can't beat this location: it's a short walk to practically half the city landmarks (Latin Quarter, Louvre, Musee d'Orsay, Notre Dame, the Seine, the Marais), but at the same time on a quieter street with no noise late at night. The staff is very helpful and multi-lingual (one friendly gentleman even spoke Russian and Italian apart from French and English); I asked for an extra quiet room since I'm a poor sleeper and was given a room overlooking the backyard, it was very peaceful and lovely. Rooms and bathrooms are renovated; each room has a safe. Beds are much more comfortable than the awful double-mattress beds in US hotels. The free wi-fi worked perfectly. The rooms are on the small side, but so are the rooms anywhere else in Paris. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mvvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The Hotel de l'Université was an excellent place to stay. Clean large rooms on a quite small street in area dating back to the 17th century, exceptional location in Saint-Germain des Prés,
The restaurant is small but the food was good. A bit of a walk to public transport and shops but once there the choice was excellent. Note the elevator was tiny luggage and one person only

Room Tip: All rooms were good as far as I could see
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank greg-els
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We stayed in this quaint little hotel in June 2013 for 2 nights. It is ideally located in the left bank and only a short walk to the river Seine, Notre Dame, the Musee de Louvre and Musee D'Orsay. The rooms are a good size for a small hotel, bed is comfortable and the bathroom and overall presentation is nice. If you are looking for an affordable little hotel in a great location, you will not be disappointed. Reception open 24hrs and with friendly staff who speak English well.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JonG001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This hotel has been recently refurbished and so the rooms are very fresh and clean and elegant. Service is simple and friendly. We took breakfast in our room and the attention to detail was very good- beautiful crockery and excellent quality jams.
This hotel isn't expensive by Paris standards and the location is perfect. It doesn't feel like a luxury hotel in the lobby - there is no bar- but the rooms are large for Paris.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseM555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de l'Academie
Hotel de l'Academie
#404 of 1,798 in Paris
168 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Verneuil
Hotel Verneuil
#92 of 1,798 in Paris
718 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Saint, Paris
Hotel Le Saint, Paris
#278 of 1,798 in Paris
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel du Danube St. Germain
Hotel du Danube St. Germain
#735 of 1,798 in Paris
307 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Lille
Hotel de Lille
#366 of 1,798 in Paris
160 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel du Quai-Voltaire
Hotel du Quai-Voltaire
#879 of 1,798 in Paris
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Universite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Universite

Property: Hotel de l'Universite
Address: 22 rue de l Universite, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#139 Family Hotel in Paris
#166 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#299 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Universite 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de l’Université is a former Benedictine convent and has retained many period features while adapting to the needs of 21st century society. The reception area is vast and delightful with its ancient beams. It is an immediate illustration of the style and appeal of this quality establishment. The Hotel de l’Université only has 27 bedrooms, allowing the staff to focus on an individualized care. Each room has its own decor and character, many ornate with ageless beams, but all benefiting from tall traditional Parisian windows allowing daylight to flood in. All the rooms have been renovated in 2011 and include air-conditioning, mini-bar, safety deposit box and a free Wi-Fi connection. A laundry service is available upon request. The rooms on the top floor overlook the rooftops of Paris and some have the rare bonus of a private terrace. The Hotel de l’Université is not a place to stay for the night. It is a journey into the history and style of Parisian life, a chance to experience life as one of the locals and bring back unforgettable memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de l'Universite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Universite
De l Universite Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing