We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have loved to stay longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de l'Universite
Ranked #182 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Elk Grove, CA
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Would have loved to stay longer”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel for only 2 nights at the end of my trip & wish I could have stayed longer. I had reserved a room for single & they upgraded me to a full, very nice! The room was very bright, with lots of windows & was decorated brightly. Nice & modern, huge bathroom, so many electrical outlets, perfect for all the electronics we now have. The wifi was great, able to have both iPhone & ipad on line & speed was still good.
Location is nice & quiet, yet just a few minutes walk to restaurants & shops, near the musee d'orsay, the Seine & loved the Saint-Germain des Pres area!
The staff was friendly & helpful, made sure the taxi I requested for 7am on my last day arrived on time, they called in the morning to confirm it was on its way.
I wish I could have stayed longer at this hotel.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    173
    22
    4
    2
See reviews for
73
171
42
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New City, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The Hotel de L'Universite is a small hotel on the left back which is well located - close to the Musee D'Orsay and Saint Germain. The service is a pleasure. We stayed there may years ago and it was great to go back. We stayed in a suite on the top floor.

Room Tip: We liked Room 52 & found ti was roomy which is unusual for small hotels in paris.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, Calif
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I dont normally stay in such a quiet setting in the Latin Quarter, and frankly missed being closer to the more lively and colorful Rue de Buci area, which was five sometimes-long blocks away. But if you like to sleep with your window open as I do, this is a great choice because the street traffic is minimal. Staff are friendly and helpful, for the most part. And the room furnishings were adequate, with a large shower. Family members I was traveling with had problems with their air-conditioner and were moved to a rear-view (even quieter) room with a bathtub which was nicer. The tiny lift, typical of many older Parisian establishments, barely fit three people comfortably. Skipped their breakfast because of the many bakeries nearby. This was my 30th visit to Paris over the years and I will be back, although I might stay a little closer to the St Michel area the next time around.

Room Tip: I think that all rooms (I saw three) would be excellent choices from a noise standpoint because the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AbeLincoln115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We spent ten days staying in this delightful hotel. You can't ask for a better location. Cafes, bars and elegant shops are there at your doorstep. Staff are sweet, polite and attentive. Our room was spacious with a rooftop view of the Tour Eiffel and the beds super comfortable. A wonderful place, reasonably priced, in a charming area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fragrantrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Loved this hotel - great find. Lovely reception area with very friendly staff - small bar area - nice gin and tonic late one night (thank you) Lovely room on 4th floor - 6 foot bed - nice bathroom with great shower. Perfect location - we walked everywhere from here. Nice quiet street with lots of restaurants and bars nearby - great location for Saint Germain or Saint Michel areas - short walk to River Seine - no problem finding it from Metro or making our way to RER for return trip to airport

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marykav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Really liked the room decoration: nice colours, a very clean bathtub and shower area. I believe the hotel was recently refurbished. The location is very convenient for the Lourve (10 minutes away) and the River Seine. There is also a Monoprix supermarket a few minutes away. The lift is quite tiny though, we just managed to squeeze in two people and two small pieces of luggage. Didn't try breakfast as we wanted to eat out. All the staff were friendly, especially the guy on night duty. Wished we could have stayed longer. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kwaibigmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This hotel is very well located, with a lot of services, restaurants and attractions within walking distance to it. The staff was very kind, specially Rino and Michel (who has known my parents for 15 years). The rooms are normally sized, the bathroom is very good and included a jacuzzi. We didn't try breakfast as we were always waking up very late due to the jet lag. Overall it is a very good hotel for a mild price, 185 euros a night in August. Will come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodlamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Lille
Hotel de Lille
#150 of 1,800 in Paris
217 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Verneuil
Hotel Verneuil
#69 of 1,800 in Paris
763 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Saint, Paris
Hotel Le Saint, Paris
#254 of 1,800 in Paris
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Seine
Hotel de Seine
#136 of 1,800 in Paris
476 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Deux Continents
Hotel des Deux Continents
#681 of 1,800 in Paris
159 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Pas de Calais
Hotel Pas de Calais
#86 of 1,800 in Paris
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Universite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Universite

Property: Hotel de l'Universite
Address: 22 rue de l Universite, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#138 Family Hotel in Paris
#165 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#299 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Universite 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de l’Université is a former Benedictine convent and has retained many period features while adapting to the needs of 21st century society. The reception area is vast and delightful with its ancient beams. It is an immediate illustration of the style and appeal of this quality establishment. The Hotel de l’Université only has 27 bedrooms, allowing the staff to focus on an individualized care. Each room has its own decor and character, many ornate with ageless beams, but all benefiting from tall traditional Parisian windows allowing daylight to flood in. All the rooms have been renovated in 2011 and include air-conditioning, mini-bar, safety deposit box and a free Wi-Fi connection. A laundry service is available upon request. The rooms on the top floor overlook the rooftops of Paris and some have the rare bonus of a private terrace. The Hotel de l’Université is not a place to stay for the night. It is a journey into the history and style of Parisian life, a chance to experience life as one of the locals and bring back unforgettable memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de l'Universite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Universite
De l Universite Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing