We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de l'Universite
Ranked #197 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The location is absolutely perfect, the room were very nice and tasteful decorated. the staff spoke excellent english and treated us very nice.
When I go back to Paris I will certainly stay here, there is no reason to change because this is a great Hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NilsLindeblad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

195 - 201 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

Fabulous hotel where we had a lovely spacious room on the second floor. Nice traditional French decor in what was obviously an historic building but beautifully modernised. Perfect location for the Louvre and Musee d'Orsay, both within walking distance. Helpful, friendly staff. It's a quiet area full of antique shops and of course the university, so dont expect the night life of the Left Bank to be around you.

Room Tip: We stayed in January on the second floor at the front and it was not noisy at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eleanoryork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for four nights in early November. What a find !! The hotel has obviously been completely renovated recently, with plenty of old French character and charm. Our room #22 on the second floor had plenty of space, soft beds and a good size bathroom WITH A SEPARATE TOILET !! We couldn't ask for more. We were beside the lift well and had a street view. There was no noise from either the street or the lift. 5 stars for the staff. Reception staff could speak a multitude of languages, and Olivier, who seemed to be on duty 24 hours a day was always welcoming and so helpful with any information we needed. We had intended to have breakfast in one of the nearby cafes, but the little dining area was so inviting we chose it every morning. The continental buffet consisted of fruit juices, cereals, assorted freshly baked French breads, and piping hot coffee. We couldn't eat it all - real value. Lepa, who served our breakfast each morning, was a delight, and she was able to cheerfully sort out what we need despite the language barrier. No other meals are provided, but there are dozens of cafes, restaurants and creperies within five minutes of the hotel
The hotel's location is ideal for walking. So close to the River Seine, Musee d'Orsay, Notre Dame, The Louvre, and the wonderful shopping on the Left Bank.

We wished we were staying longer, and would certainly return here on our next trip to Paris.

READERS: Do not be influenced by the Average, Poor and Terrible reviews. They were written up to eight years ago - well before the renovations took place, and possibly even changed management. We consider Tripadvisor should remove them - we think they are unfair as they in no way relate to the hotel in 2013.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gamm9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I booked Hotel de l'Universite due to the great price. We were able to walk everywhere from the location of our hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. But the first night we had a room street side and it was so noisy with scooter and cars and people laughing all night long we barely got an sleep. It was so awful! But I told the front desk that we would leave if we didn't get a more quite room and thankfully they moved us to the inside portion if rooms which are more expensive but did not charge us any extra. It is so important for the quality of your stay to choose a quite room. If not you will be up all night with road noise! But a good hotel everything considered.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room and make sure it is not facing the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We booked our hotel off the internet - sight unseen - and were a little apprehensive about what we would find when we arrived. What a great choice! The room was comfy - with an in-room bath and very recently remodeled. The desk staff was incredible. They helped us almost every day with some reservation or recommendation. We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krzymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We booked this hotel on a friend's recommendation and were not disappointed. In fact, on arrival we got an upgrade to room 52 with terrace and a a little suite. Great location within walking distance to all the great sights. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: rooms in top floor are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monicabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We discovered this hotel on the Internet and opted to stay there based on the many positive reviews (and the absence of negative reports). It was a very good choice. Our room - #15 on the first floor -- was spacious, well-appointed, well-furnished and clean. The bed was comfortable, the bath user-friendly, and the air-conditioning quiet. The elevator, though tiny, was adequate for the two of us -- but with our room being on the first floor, we often used the stairs. The hotel is within easy walking distances to the Metro, tor the River Seine, to many cafes, to shops and to the Musee D'Orsay. If we ever return to Paris, we'd be delighted to stay once again at Hotel l'Universite. And we will gladly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calvin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Lille
Hotel de Lille
#175 of 1,805 in Paris
277 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Verneuil Saint-Germain
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
#145 of 1,805 in Paris
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Artus Hotel by MH
Artus Hotel by MH
#94 of 1,805 in Paris
985 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Academie Hotel Saint Germain
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Seine
Hotel de Seine
#125 of 1,805 in Paris
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Universite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Universite

Address: 22 rue de l Universite, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in Paris
#164 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#298 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £119 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Universite 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de l’Université is a former Benedictine convent and has retained many period features while adapting to the needs of 21st century society. The reception area is vast and delightful with its ancient beams. It is an immediate illustration of the style and appeal of this quality establishment. The Hotel de l’Université only has 27 bedrooms, allowing the staff to focus on an individualized care. Each room has its own decor and character, many ornate with ageless beams, but all benefiting from tall traditional Parisian windows allowing daylight to flood in. All the rooms have been renovated in 2011 and include air-conditioning, mini-bar, safety deposit box and a free Wi-Fi connection. A laundry service is available upon request. The rooms on the top floor overlook the rooftops of Paris and some have the rare bonus of a private terrace. The Hotel de l’Université is not a place to stay for the night. It is a journey into the history and style of Parisian life, a chance to experience life as one of the locals and bring back unforgettable memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel de l'Universite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Universite
De l Universite Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing