We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind of expensive - right in the heart of Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de l'Universite
Ranked #202 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Kind of expensive - right in the heart of Paris”
Reviewed 16 January 2009

I was booked here for my friend's wedding in Paris. The best thing I can say is that the place was clean and safe. It was typically Parisian in that you had to climb three steep flights of steps to get to the room (there was also a tiny elevator) and the room was pretty small and the shower was slightly disfunctional in that a lot of water got all over the bathroom - worse for the hotel than for me. The room actually faced a lovely courtyard and got a nice breeze, so that part was pleasant.

It's right in the middle of tourist Paris - 10 minutes to the Louvre or Musee d'Orsay for example, though not particularly convenient to the subway. It's also close to San German, which is fun for nightlife.

You get not that much for a lot of money, but I think that's typical of Paris.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness, charm
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank IsaacBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    163
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
61
160
40
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2007

We are 50-something New Yorkers who like our creature-comforts and our sleep when we travel. We stayed for a week and were very contented. We had a large room on the third floor facing the street. We were concerned about noise from renovations across the street, but the windows were double-paned and there was absolutely no street noise. The room was charming and there was plenty of storage space as well as a small refrigerator. The bathroom was large and modern. The lift was tiny but worked. We had a short walk through an interesting neighborhood to get to the nearest Metro stop (after the transit strike ended) , but we were able to walk to many places we planned to see. The hotel is very close to the Musee d'Orsay and the Seine, the Latin Quarter, and a good walk to the Eiffel Tower. The staff all spoke English and were extremely helpful and ready to engage in conversation when they had the time. We can be very critical of accommodations but would definitely choose Hotel de l'Universite for our next trip to Paris.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank LGC125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
americanexpat10
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2007

I stayed in the Hotel de l'Universite on a long weekend visit to Paris with my husband in in-laws. We were looking for something central and budget but with some charm and this definitely fit the bill. Both rooms were large except the 'double beds' were twins pushed together and slid apart in the middle of the night. Rooms were quiet with some antique furniture and nice decoration overall. One of the rooms had huge french doors opening to the street-side of the hotel with window boxes overflowing with flowers. Bathrooms in both rooms were a bit "holiday inn" and were dull and small but clean. Front desk staff was very nice and even paid a taxi driver when the taxi driver returned with our balckberry we had left in the backseat and demanded payment to hand it over. We were very grateful! Would recommend this hotel if staying in Paris on a budget. The location could not have been better.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bathrooms
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank americanexpat10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2006

I have stayed in Paris 3-star properties several times and this one is the absolute worse. It should probably be a 2-star (at best). I paid more for this place and got the least. The room was small with the foot of my bed extending into the doorway. The place was not very clean (dusty) and furniture was in poor condition (e.g. crumpled lampshade, door in closet wouldn't close). The decor (if one can call it that) was lacking. There were holes in the one picture hanging on the wall. My non-smoking room was really a "second hand" smoking room since the fumes of cigarette smoke came through the vent from another room.

The staff members were not that helpful. I requested assistance in arranging a taxi to the airport which ended up costing me 60 euro instead of 40 euro that I paid to get from the airport to the hotel. The taxi driver explained to me that the hotel uses a "private" taxi company which costs more.

I definitely recommend staying away from this run-down facility!!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank traveler0005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 April 2006

This Hotel was ok. My husband and I booked two rooms, one for our daughters and one for us. The price was reasonable so it was well worth it. The hotel is OLD so if you are into history and historic furniture, this is for you. The kids loved their room that faced the street. The rooms were big for Paris and the bathrooms were really nice. Both of our rooms had HUGE modern bathtubs.
Breakfast was ok, but the whole bread/roll/jam thing get's old after 3 days.
The staff was friendly and spoke English fairly well. They helped us book our dinner on the Siene, etc.
If you use this hotel, take some time learn your location. Look at the map, walk around, it really is in a nice location in the Latin Quarter.
For the price, the hotel is fine. However, I probably would not stay their again, Henry the IV hotel is a better value and a better location in the Latin Quarter.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oklahoma city
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2005

Stayed at this hotel 9/8 through 9/12. Other reviews have testified to the worn carpet and old furnishings, but we still found it to be quite charming. We wanted an economical hotel in a good location, and were very pleased with the Hotel de l'Universite. If they renovated it, the price would double, and I think it would lose a bit of it's atmosphere. Had one of the 2 terrace rooms on the top floor, #51 (ask for the other room with terrace; it's bigger). The tiny elevator only goes up to 4th floor, then small staircase to the 5th, so you do have to haul bags up one flight for a terrace room. Peeked into room #31 and it looked very nice and was quite large; bigger than our room. It was a bit like staying in your grandparents home, in which the furniture and wallpaper is the same as when they first married! Nice-sized room, particularly for Europe, and at 205 euros for the terrace room, we thought it well worth it. Comfortable bed, but not huge (bigger than a double, smaller than a queen), with in room safe and mini-frige. The terrace was not fancy, but you could see the top 1/3 of the Eiffel tower, which was lit up at night. Marble bath room with huge clawfoot tub and bidet, but toilet with seat was in a separate room off the entry to the room -nice for privacy. Shower not attached to wall, but hand-held, so we had to get used to showering while sitting down in the tub. Baths in the old fashioned tub were very nice in the evenings after walking all day, as was relaxing on terrace with a nice French cognac. Reasonably priced wine/liquor store around the corner, as well as a supermarket to stock up on water, etc. - Turn right out of the hotel door, then right again on Rue de Bac going toward the Seine. Best part of hotel was desk staff - Michael, Rino, and Olivier. In advance of our visit, via email, these wonderful employees made reservations for our Seine dinner cruise as well as a delightful (but very expensive) lunch at Paris' newest, hottest gourmet restaurant, L'Astrance (hard to find, but the most amazing gourmet experience in Paris -read the online reviews and splurge; it's worth it). They had even called the day before each outing to re-confirm reservations. Excellent staff. Hotel is in St. Germain des Pres, and it is absolutely the best location. Far preferred it to the ritzy Champs de Elysees area - St. Germain des Pres is more like what you'd expect of Parisian life. 3 block walk to metro stop from hotel, but they're small blocks. Other tips: get a metro pass (3 or 5 day), a metro map, and learn the metro; it goes everywhere you want to go. To get on the train that's going the right direction, find the very last stop of the train that takes you to the site you're headed for - that's how your train will be listed on the overhead signs at the actual stations - by the end stops. If you get on one going the wrong way, just get off at the next stop and catch another one. The metro trains connect to the RER trains, which you need if you want to go up to Sacre Couer and the Montmarte area - that's the only place we found local artists selling their work - beautiful oils. Cafes in Montmarte are also excellent, and were the only reasonably priced cafes we found. The renowned Les Deux Magots is at the corner by the metro stop closest to the hotel (St. Germain des Pres stop) - nice to say you've been there, but just have a drink; food only so-so. Onion soup is great everywhere, tho. Site tips: you don't have to get to the Eiffel tower 30 min before it opens, but don't go later than 10:30am or so or the lines get very long. Buy the ticket and climb the stairs to the top of the Arc de Triomphe; it's beautiful. If you're into the churches, take a 2nd camera loaded with 1600 speed film (digitals don't do well in dark churches unless you have a top-of-the-line one) and use that for inside the churches. Notre Dame in particular is very dark inside and the flash is useless for trying to capture the immense nave in all it's beauty. Catholics should not miss the Miraculous Medal Chapel at 140 Rue de Bac - bit of a walk from the hotel (turn left on Rue de Bac off of Rue de Universite), but nice shops along this street - chapel opens at 2:30pm daily and it is quite amazing; breath-taking experience.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank kaceevh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 June 2005

Other reviewers have given the essence. It is, except for splendid bathrooms, rather rundown. The other real positive is its location near Musees d'Orsay, Luxembourg and Rodin plus the restaurants, shops and other great attractions of St. Germain. Two blocks to the Pont Royal and the best attractions on the right bank are also within walking distance. You will like hotels Bourgogne et Montana, L'Angleterre, and des Marronniers much better. But the worst is that Universite overbooked us and wouldn't admit it. We had confirmed reservations for two rooms, four people, four nights and they said they had never heard of two of us. They also said that all of the hotels in their area were totally booked even though we were able to find rooms immediately within two blocks at L'Angleterre and Marronniers.

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Verneuil
Hotel Verneuil
#89 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de l'Academie
Hotel de l'Academie
#322 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Saint, Paris
Hotel Le Saint, Paris
#216 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel du Danube St. Germain
Hotel du Danube St. Germain
#671 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Lille
Hotel de Lille
#288 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel du Quai-Voltaire
Hotel du Quai-Voltaire
#910 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Universite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Universite

Property: Hotel de l'Universite
Address: 22 rue de l Universite, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#138 Family Hotel in Paris
#165 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#299 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Universite 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de l’Université is a former Benedictine convent and has retained many period features while adapting to the needs of 21st century society. The reception area is vast and delightful with its ancient beams. It is an immediate illustration of the style and appeal of this quality establishment. The Hotel de l’Université only has 27 bedrooms, allowing the staff to focus on an individualized care. Each room has its own decor and character, many ornate with ageless beams, but all benefiting from tall traditional Parisian windows allowing daylight to flood in. All the rooms have been renovated in 2011 and include air-conditioning, mini-bar, safety deposit box and a free Wi-Fi connection. A laundry service is available upon request. The rooms on the top floor overlook the rooftops of Paris and some have the rare bonus of a private terrace. The Hotel de l’Université is not a place to stay for the night. It is a journey into the history and style of Parisian life, a chance to experience life as one of the locals and bring back unforgettable memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel de l'Universite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Universite
De l Universite Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing