We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than our expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de l'Empereur
Ranked #254 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Better than our expectations”
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Context: family of four staying four nights in two rooms. We had the suite -- rooms 14 and 15 (I think). Separate rooms with a third door for the very short hall for both rooms. All three doors locked with separate card keys. We liked both rooms. Both were very different but nice. The place was clean ... clean rooms, clean linens, clean bathrooms, refreshed each day. Excellent housekeeping. The reviews told us to expect "tiny" rooms but we found them to be fit for purpose ... plenty of room to move about but no room for more than one to sit. No problem. We came to Paris to see Paris and not to sit in our room. We did have a bit of daily trouble getting hot water in room 15 but since it was August (albeit the coldest Paris August in 25 years) it was a minor inconvenience to take a cool (not cold) shower. We had no hot water problem in room 14. The hotel is in a perfect location on a quiet street. The metro is perhaps 100 meters or less from the front door. Its a bit of a walk to the Eiffel Tower ... a real plus if you like to walk. The staff is friendly and helpful but don't expect concierge service ... this is a simple hotel. Breakfast is offered at a price but with all the restaurants and bakeries in the area, you have many attractive alternatives with superior views. In summary, we do recommend this hotel. It exceeded our expectations and certainly meet our needs. It seemed very safe and the streets seemed safe ... we walked them until late in the evening. No problems. Excellent stay.

Room Tip: Book online and well in advance of your planned arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    333
    40
    12
    9
See reviews for
168
428
35
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2014

We loved this hotel. From the great big bed in our room to the rain shower in the bathroom. It was the perfect location to explore Paris with the Metro just minutes away. It's proximity to the Eiffel Tower meant we could visit it every day.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
empereurparis, Directeur général at Hotel de l'Empereur, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Dear Lisa K,

Thank you very much for you review.
We try our best to satisfy you and we are very happy that you loved your stay with us!

We hope to welcome you again.

Best regards.

Charline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We felt we were in a real Parisian Hotel. Great view from our window over the Invalides. Within walking distance to most places including Metro which is easy to get around with. Surrounded by wonderful interesting streets. Close to laundrette and also wonderful food shops and of course lots and lots of restaurants. Very comfortable room and good bathroom.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Invalides - great view and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Churchie147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

We stay august bank hol weekend we had views of the invalides and our own little balcony. Rooms were very nice and clean and staff very helpful and polite. The area is lovely an quiet and a metro is a few mins walk. Lovely short break be nice if rooms had a fridge or kettle

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Johnsonsspackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Very good hotel. Value for money. Its not a modern dexor hotel.. but just loved the typical parisan look of the rooms.. the best part is the location.. you are close tp everything... u can walk down to eifel lawns champs de mars anytime.. metro station la tour moubourn is less than 5 mins walk.. invalids is right opposite to you.. you can walk down to pont de allexander III or just take a stroll at river

Rooms are clean n comfortable.. staff is extremely friendly.. overall we loved this boutique hotel..

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshishMalushte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

It is small but cute and very clean. I got room with view of invalide's dome. Very pretty, very romantic. Location is great just 2 block away from metro and local pedestrian market filled with cafe and restaurants. 10 minutes stroll to eiffel tower. Very recommended.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank awp2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Called the hotel a few times before arriving for some general questions. Spoke with Stephanie and Kessi. They were very prompt with my email questions and very pleasant to deal with. Met the owner, Mme Pelletier, for directions to the outskirts of the city for some shopping on the metro. We stayed 8 nights.

I bought the Paris Pass for 6 days. NEVER buy the pass. Paid an extra fee to have it delivered to the hotel as it came from Britian. We never got through all those big lines ups with the pass, so buying the tickets is a better dollar value. The pass did not cover the Eiffel Tower, so that was a disappointment. If you buy the day pass from a travel agency for 19.00 euros for the Eiffel Tower, it gets you right to the private lines and up to the tower within minutes. Will do that in future returns. So NEVER buy the pass.

The hotel is so lovely, as a former interior decorator, I appreciated the fine details of the decor. Right down to the lining of the drapes. Nothing overlooked in those areas. I was impressed with the lighting in the rooms, and of course the balconies when you opened the french windows. We had an end unit, #24, on the second floor at the end of the hall. It was a pleasure to leave the windows open at night and listen to the local sounds. It did not bother us at all with some street noise. In fact we loved it. It shows that Paris is alive.

The rooms were done up on a daily basis, and in whole the whole place was kept in top notch. We always got fresh towels and mini bars of soap. The shower room with the sink was nicely done up. In fact, I picked this hotel for the shower room and the decor.

Although the hotel offers breakfast, we managed to wonder around and found fresh baked goods at local bakeries. The bakery around the corner had great sweets.

Kessi gave us options for dining on Rue Cler. Although it was August, and most places were closed until August 22, we did find some great places to eat.

I speak french, therefore it was great going to Paris. We used the metro, which is just down the street at La Tour Maubourg (line 8). This area is very safe and we had no issues. The metro is so fast and the people in general at the little shops in the metro were very pleasant to deal with.

Paris is very easy to get around, and everything is very close. We did lots of walking, but it was fun. We would make our trip up to the "Metro Opera". Lots of cute shops, and something for everyone. You have to know your prices before you start to shop. The same item can vary a great deal at different locations. I found this out for buying scraves with Paris on it. If you buy them from the street kios, it is much cheaper. Same goes with the baret hats. At the Eiffel Tower, they were 20.00 euros, and near the Opera, I got them for 5.00 euros with Paris embroided on them.

The only thing I wished that Paris had more of, is the french traditional music of Paris for the tourist, who want that famous Paris flair. There was an accordian player down in the metro playing traditional french music. Just loved hearing him.

The decor of the hotel is truly french traditional, which I appreciated totally. We could walk out the front door of the hotel and walk to the Eiffel Tower, and many museums, including the Louve.

Never had any issues with the Wifi. Once you get your user name and password, it gets you there everytime you leave the building, and come back and reconnect everytime. We did not have a data plan for France, so the wifi worked well, and so did Skype. Got to love all this technology. All the restaurants have wifi and they were very happy to give you the password to get onto their system. It was nice to go to those places to keep in touch with friends. Most restaurants have facebook pages also.

I used the airport shuttle to the hotel and back to the airport. They arrived on time for arrival and departure. Right to the door service. Much cheaper than a taxi. Nice clean mini vans for the pick up and departure.

In general there was no complaints about the hotel. It is a boutique hotel, and I will never stay at any the big chain hotels after staying here. The front desk knew you by your name as soon as you arrived. It has that down home feeling as soon as you walk through the door. Always greeted by the front desk staff with "Bonjour".

Bonjour Paris!!

I look forward to returning in the near future and to see more of Paris, as one week is not long enough to see everything there is to see. We took the boat tour, and it was wonderful. We loved all those bridges Paris has. It made it so eary to get around Paris.

Also with the Paris Pass, you are entitled to get on the "hop on hop off" bus. The catch is that you have to go to the bus main office to get a day ticket. It isn't always convenient to where you are staying. The pass was suppose to by pass all this nonsense. Just buying the ticket from the bus driver is a much better option. It saves you going all over the city to find the office for the bus company when you are tired and you don't know your way around as a new tourist.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Beachgirl2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Muguet
Hotel Muguet
#167 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Motte Picquet
Hotel Motte Picquet
#149 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Jardins d'Eiffel
Hotel Jardins d'Eiffel
#350 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de Latour Maubourg
Hotel de Latour Maubourg
#611 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel du Champ de Mars
Hotel du Champ de Mars
#258 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Eiffel Turenne
Hotel Eiffel Turenne
#66 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Empereur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Empereur

Property: Hotel de l'Empereur
Address: 2 rue Chevert | 07 Arr., 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#136 Family Hotel in Paris
#264 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Empereur 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I bought this hotel in january 2010. It is just renovated now.You will find very nice air-conditionned and cosy rooms with bathrooms, safe, hairdryer... Most of them have a wonderful view of the Invalides. Located very close to the Eiffel Tower and Rue Cler, I will be very pleased to welcome you at Hotel de l'Empereur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de l'Empereur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Empereur
De l Empereur Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing