We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff”
Review of Hotel de Lutece

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de Lutece
Ranked #543 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stopped in Paris for a short break. The Hotel de Lutece is in an excellent position - so central to all of Paris. The room (Room 111) was facing the street and although reasonably small was perfect for 2 of us, and had an enormous bathroom.
Even though it was late February we didn't need the heating on as the room was lovely and warm.
The staff at the Lutece were very helpful and welcoming, in particular the lady who served us breakfast - she has been there over 17 years and was extremely friendly and suggested other rooms we may like next time we visit - which we will certainly do.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frothygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
There are newer reviews for Hotel de Lutece
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

For the second time this year we stayed at Hotel Lutece during our visit to Paris. This is the best location in Paris. We love the I'lle St. Louis for its beautiful charm and wonderful people. The staff at Hotel Lutece are amazing! They helped us in advance by making several dinner reservations and during our stay were always welcoming, friendly and accommodating. The hotel is situated within walking distance of so many great attractions--the Louvre, Hotel DeVille, the Marais, the Latin Quarter and of course, Notre Dame. Also nearby are several metro stations to transport you to locations a bit further away. We loved our rooms overlooking rue St-Louis-en-I'lle and its lovely and unique storefronts. Although the hotel offered breakfast in their pretty breakfast room, we recommend finding other places on the isle and surrounding areas for a change of view. We love the St. Regis for coffee and croissant and there were many other possibilities on the isle. Cannot speak highly enough of this hotel and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulandMaryT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We've stayed on Ile St.-Louis on previous trips and still prefer this location for easy access to both sides of the river, although the island has lost a bit of its charm over the years.

Our room was small but very efficient with two closets and multiple shelves. It was easy to control the temperature of the room, there was no street or interior noise, and we slept well. Our bathroom was recently renovated and very nice with lots of counter space and good lighting.

We never had to wait long for the elevator, but we did find the breakfast room too small for the number of guests. One morning we were served in the lobby which was not very comfortable.

The reception staff was friendly, but I was surprised when the person on duty one day couldn't answer what I thought was a fairly basic question about taking public transportation to a particular museum.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sempre39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We spent two days here at the end of our trip. The hotel is very clean. I remember when making the reservation having the choice of updated bathroom or view of the Garden. We chose the updated bathroom and it was very nice; our view was the street. We didn't have any problems with street noise. The beds were very cosy.

Earlier in our trip, we stayed in the Rue Cler area. There was an increase in price for this hotel. I was happy we were staying in another area that made other sights very convenient. We strolled to Notre Dame, and Sainte Chapelle; nearby Metro stops get you to the Sacred Heart Basilica, museums, and the RER will get you to Versailles. There were several good restaurant choices for dinner just a few doors down. The breakfast at the hotel was convenient and tasty; there is a nice lady (sorry I forgot your name) who cooked your breakfast. Bought some macaroons and brought them back home with me; wish I bought a larger box! Found out that the food and baked goods in France were very good. Even the bakery at the train station had really good enclairs and maroons.

The hotel set up a shared airport shuttle (van) to the airport for us. The shuttle made travel to airport easy, convenient and not too pricey.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cruztravelr19808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Great location, small rooms, rooms on street a little noisy. Nice staff, cozy and good ambiance. Very French. It lacks amenities but able to walk to cafes, bistro's, other shops and sites. Easy access to metro. Would spend a little more for a more upgraded and quiet hotel on the Island.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lolly616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The style is very French traditional, but the facilities are tiny, tired and inadequate for a comfortable convenient stay. In four days we were unable to get breakfast since the cramped breakfast area was full (four small tables !! ), there were no facilities to make drinks in the room and the 2 person lift was difficult to engage at peak times. Our bathroom was tiny and there was a 2 inch gap between the bath and floor reflecting the overall tiredness of the proprty. Yes the position is great but be prepared for the shortfalls.

Room Tip: All rooms facing the street are noisy particularly early morning with building work and bin collecti...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jaguarbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We've stayed in this hotel at least 5 times and we still love the location. The rooms are clean and the staff is nice. The major issues are the size of the some of the rooms -- tiny! And the elevator that is very tiny and really needs modernization. One can wait 15 minutes to get it.
Also some of the rooms are a 1/2 flight up (or down) from the elevator so one needs to drag one's luggage up or down a 1/2 flight of narrow and curving steps. Not for the disabled!

Room Tip: Avoid room 444 as there are steps within the room!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveler from MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel des Deux Iles
Hotel des Deux Iles
#832 of 1,804 in Paris
202 reviews
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel du Jeu de Paume
Hotel du Jeu de Paume
#156 of 1,804 in Paris
469 reviews
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle
Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle
#690 of 1,804 in Paris
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notre Dame / Marais
Hotel le Notre Dame
Hotel le Notre Dame
#246 of 1,804 in Paris
909 reviews
Le Marais
Les Tournelles
Les Tournelles
#69 of 1,804 in Paris
219 reviews
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hospitel-Hotel Dieu Paris
Hospitel-Hotel Dieu Paris
#1,072 of 1,804 in Paris
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Lutece? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Lutece

Address: 65 rue Saint Louis en L Ile, 75004 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis , Notre Dame / Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#410 Family Hotel in Paris
#429 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £141 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Lutece 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel de Lutece reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Lutece Hotel
De Lutece Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing