We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle
Ranked #641 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Very pleasant hotel, located in the core of Paris, with nice staff, pleasant decoration and renovation. Also, there is free Wifi. We recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2012

Hotel Location: excellent! It is on the charming and relatively quiet l’Ile St Louis and within easy reach of Batobus and Metro stations and a short walk away from Notre Dame and St Germain des Pres and the Marais district. There are pleasant little restaurants on the doorstep although a 10 minute walk will take you off the island and to cheaper ones.

The Staff; unfailingly pleasant and helpful.

The Hotel: very welcoming and spotlessly clean. There is a lift to all floors but there are still some small and winding stairs to negotiate which could be a problem if you have mobility difficulties or a very large suitcase!

The room: I think we had the smallest room in the hotel (looking at the plan in reception) but it was about the same size as our guest room at home and perfectly adequate for sleep and lounging about. The bathroom was small but well appointed. We took tiny suitcases that luckily fitted into the wardrobe but storage of large suitcases would have been a problem. The bed was comfortable. The welcome tray was much appreciated (bring your own milk!).

Breakfast: I initially thought 13€ for breakfast was rather a lot but the cafes nearby charged 7€ for an orange juice, hot drink and croissant or bread/toast and butter and jam. Perhaps the hotel breakfast with as much as you can eat and offering a variety isn’t such a bad idea? As long as you can eat that much early in the morning!

Romance: Just being here is romantic with the walks by the Seine and the cosy restaurants but if you want to push the boat out.......buy a lock from the souvenir shop on the quay north of Pont l’Archveche and write your names/message on it and lock it onto the bridge; make a wish as you throw the keys in the Seine!

We had a great time here and listening to a group play Si Tu Vois Ma Mere on the Pont Saint Louis was a real bonus! The onion soup at the Brasserie on the corner of Rue Jean de Bellay makes a great Springtime lunch.

Room Tip: The rooms facing Rue Boutarel appeared larger. Otherwise take a small suitcase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CarolynBanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Although this was my 7th visit to Paris, it was only my 2nd time in a hotel. For other stays, we rented apartments in the 1st or 8th arrondissements. For this visit, I knew I wanted to stay on the centrally located Ile Saint Louis--and researched apartments there--but ultimately decided on a hotel, opting to forgo space and a kitchen in favour of convenience, concierge and maid services. There are 4 hotels on the island; I chose this hotel based on TA reviews, the hotel's own website, and quoted rates. I was not disappointed--the hotel has been recently and attractively renovated.

ILE SAINT LOUIS
"Petite" is an apt adjective for pretty much everything on the island, but in a charming way, not at all negative. The island is primarily residential. There is a main one-lane road down its centre with a few cross streets and a road around its circumference. Most businesses are along the central road, with a few clustered on the western edge closest to Ile de la Cite and Notre Dame, and a few more on the cross street that is a main thoroughfare, via 2 bridges, between the Right and Left Banks.
Besides the 4 hotels (all with less than 20 rooms), there are numerous shops and galleries, 3 pastry and bread shops, 2 butchers, 2 cheese shops, a tiny grocer,and many living room-sized restaurants and tea salons. Plus there is the famous ice cream shop Berthillon, with an adjacent salon, and a gelato shop. A few other vendors on the island also sell Berthillon, and some of the restaurants serve it.
Some places were closed during my visit in January, but many businesses were open on Sundays. Restaurants either served dinner only, lunch and dinner separately, or continuous service. We never left the island for dinner, except for once when we went to the Marais to experience the famous L'As du Fallafel. In January, reservations did not seem necessary, especially if dining early (7pm). Customers were a mix of tourists and locals.

THE HOTEL
The hotel has 6 floors plus a stone-walled arched basement where breakfast is served and a computer and printer for guests is located. There are 2-4 rooms per floor (including the ground floor, just off the reception area)--all rooms face the main or side road (the hotel is on a corner). It is on the west part of the island, closest to Notre Dame. There is a tiny elevator and a compact circular staircase. The recent remodel is lovely inside and out, a vast improvement from the "before" photos visible with older TA reviews. The petite lobby is bright and welcoming, usually with a single person on duty for reception as well as concierge services. Bernard and Denis are particularly kind. All spoke English.
The room also was small, but not the smallest I've ever seen, nor the smallest in the hotel. I had a corner room with 2 tall windows than could be opened facing the 2 streets and allowing in much light. A glimpse of the Seine River could be seen 90 degrees out one window. The ceiling was high, with exposed beams. The bathroom was tiny, but the shower was large, with 2 heads, and nicely tiled to look like old stone. There was coffee maker and free WiFi. There was a minifridge that held sodas and snacks, all priced similarly to a local market or tabac. The electricity in the room is activated by placing a plastic sleeve attached to your room key into an outlet by the door, so don't expect to be able to recharge any electronic devices in the room while you are out. You leave your room key with the receptionist whenever you step out.
With a pastry and bread shop just across the street, I did not try the hotel's breakfast, but it seemed to be an expanded continental type with breads, pastries and cereals, plus yogurt, cold cuts and cheeses.
Daily maid service was thorough.

All in all a very enjoyable stay in a quaint hotel on a quaint, fabulously located island. While tourists can inundate the island during the day, it quiets down considerably in the evening, and is a charming place to call "home" while in Paris.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank pillowsofwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Following the positive reviews on Tripadvisor, i booked this hotel for our trip to Paris and i really didn't regret it. It is located in the historic center of Paris (Ile Saint-Louis) which looks more like a village than the city. Many good restaurants and shops are there and the hotel was recently renovated. The hotel concierge was very helpful and could speak excellent English. Our room was cozy and extremely clean and we also enjoyed the buffet breakfast that was served at the basement. We recommend it with no reluctance.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My boyfriend ans i stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in February for our honeymoon trip. We definitely wanted to stay on the Saint-Louis island and booked this hotel on the basis of its Tripadvisor reviews. This was a excellent choice and the hotel met all our expectations. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

This recently renovated hotel is absolutely fabulous! What an amazing location, in the Saint-Louis island, a pleasant village in the center of Paris. We spent a couple of days there and we were really pleased! We recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

This hotel is a one a typically Paris street with great shops. A short walk to the river and great views of Notre-Dame and a very short cab ride to the Musee and great shopping. A must stay, I will be back! The staff was so nice and helpful!!

Room Tip: The fifth floor had a larger room for Paris and great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel de Lutece
Hotel de Lutece
#555 of 1,803 in Paris
352 reviews
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel des Deux Iles
Hotel des Deux Iles
#800 of 1,803 in Paris
207 reviews
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel du Jeu de Paume
Hotel du Jeu de Paume
#156 of 1,803 in Paris
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notre Dame / Marais
Hotel le Notre Dame
Hotel le Notre Dame
#245 of 1,803 in Paris
915 reviews
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hospitel-Hotel Dieu Paris
Hospitel-Hotel Dieu Paris
#1,039 of 1,803 in Paris
203 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Saint-Louis Marais
Hotel Saint-Louis Marais
#1,154 of 1,803 in Paris
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle

Address: 75 rue Saint Louis en L Ile, 75004 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#339 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#394 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £159 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Ile Saint-Louis, the hotel Saint-Louis en l’Isle has an outstanding location. A very quiet place in the middle of Paris, the Ile Saint-Louis is a village with a prestigious history, symobolized by the 17th century town houses that lie there. Very close to Notre-Dame cathedral, the Marais quarter, the Place de la Bastille and the Saint-Germain quarter, you will find in Ile Saint-Louis unique Parisian authenticity, well-being and hospitality. A charming hotel by excellence, the hotel Saint-Louis en l’Ile will welcome you in a warm atmosphere. Visible stones, old terra cotta and oak beams make this place unique. An elevator serves all floors, including the stone vaulted basement where breakfast is served.Whether your visit is for tourism or business, the hotel Saint-Louis en l´Isle will see to your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis Hotel Paris
Hotel St Louis Paris
Hotel Saint Louis Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing