We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living in a village in the middle of Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle
Ranked #585 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Living in a village in the middle of Paris”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We wanted to try this hotel for some time and weren't disapointed. During the day time there is much activity with lots of tourists passing by visiting the Notre Dame which is only a few hundred meters away, and during the night it is totally peaceful. In the little supermarket, all the locals from the island meet and one has the feeling one is living in a small village. The personal in the hotel were very helpful and gave us good tips.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    196
    43
    16
    14
See reviews for
86
345
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Excellent location on the Island of St. Louis in Paris.
Extremely nice hotel with a lot "Charme" . The room was tiny but with all the comforts.
Breakfast was fine.
It was simply great and all was perfect!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vaccardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Hotel Saint-Louis with a couple of friends. The location is brilliant a few hundred meters from Notre-Dame and in the quiet and cosy island of Saint-Louis, in a street with nearly no cars and plenty of nice shops and restaurants. The hotel is newly refurbished to a high standard and clean and comfortable. In the usual Paris style, the rooms are not big, but adequate, apart perhaps from the bathroom: the shower was excellent, but a radiator had been fitted just in front of the toilet in the narrow room making it impossible for a tall person to sit on the toilet - to be reviewed urgently!
The staff are nearly all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is served in the window-less cellar which is clean and comfortable, but we preferred the excellent breakfast served in a cafe on the corner - with a beautiful view of Ile de la Cité and Notre-Dame.
All in all to be recommended - but ask for an adequate bathroom if you are a tall person!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, with a sufficiently large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fellini250693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorba Linda, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Location-
Yes I believe the location is what makes this Hotel so great. First timers to Paris, four nights in the hotel, and we were overall happy with our choice. Getting around from here is so easy. Metro and RER stops on either side of the river. Just doors up from the hotel is a grocery store with fresh fruit, snacks and drinks, also a pharmacy around the corner if you forgot your toothbrush, anything you may need is right here on the isle within a short walk. Cafe St Regis is just steps out the door for great coffee and a quick breakfast before hitting the streets. Walking by Notre Dame early in the morning without crowds was heaven and you can even hear the bells ringing from the hotel when you open the windows.

Room-
Stay was at the end of Oct in the popular room 502 on the top floor. Mattress firm by USA standards but slept well. Beautifully furnished and elegant, loved the beamed ceilings. Slight humming noises from equipment on roof but nothing that would keep you up, this coming from a light sleeper. Dissapointed with quality of linens, pillows and blanket; flimsy low quality and looking at the pictures you would not expect it here. Bathroom had a nice albiet akward tub which we looked forward to soaking our tired muscles in and used it each day. For a tall person this shower would prove to be awkward because of a sloped ceiling over the bath/shower combo. Towels were a dingy white and thin which was off putting to me. Not much room for two people to get ready at the same time. Lived out of our suitcases because of one armoire with limited hangars and no furniture with drawers

Service-
As I said, our first time to Paris. Didn't know what to expect. Service was O.K. If not hands off and even stern at one point. Would not have had a problem if we were shown how to use the heating equipment or if instructions were left in English in the room. We even saw others having the same issue and have seen it mentioned here. We learned what great service was after heading out to other parts of the country.

A few little tweaks here and there would greatly improve someone's stay here. Upgraded linens, more hangers and English instructions on equipment would go a long way.





Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank amylou2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights at this charming little hotel and really enjoyed being in the isle St. Louis. The isle makes you feel like you aren't in a super touristy part of Paris and the location was perfect for us as we love to walk everywhere so didn't mind we were a bit further away from it all. With that said you walk out of the hotel and BAM! There is Notre-dame!
Yes, as to what others have stated --the rooms are really small so be prepared.
They also offer a shuttle for the airport that is around $90 euros each way. We were able to split one with another couple in the hotel so just ask the front desk if that is an option.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgrom2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

There cannot be a better location in Paris. Just steps from Notre Dame but the neighborhood is relatively tourist and crowd free. Room was nice, very clean, a bit small but I am told that is typical for Paris. Very nice local restaurants: liked Cafe Med the best. Great local shops. Some of the staff were a little stern but I guess that is typically French. Most were very nice. I agree with Robyn W about the soft pillows. Breakfasts were very nice but a little steep at 13 euros.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed here in October of 2010 (not November 2012 as indicated -- that was as far back as it would allow me to go) on our trip of a lifetime to Paris. It is a lovely "boutique" hotel in a perfect location, right behind and across the bridge from Notre Dame. We were on the second floor and our windows opened up onto the quaint little street filled with shops, bistros, bars, etc. Once we returned to the USA, I discovered that I had somehow left my digital camera in the hotel room. I emailed the hotel and believe it or not, housekeeping had found it and turned it in. They shipped it back to me via FedEx (at my cost, of course). Talk about customer service! How easy it would have been for the housekeeper to have taken the camera as her own. If/when we ever get to return to Paris, we will FOR SURE stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the street side, so that you can enjoy the ambience of Paris!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravelinusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel des Deux Iles
Hotel des Deux Iles
#851 of 1,800 in Paris
200 reviews
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel de Lutece
Hotel de Lutece
#555 of 1,800 in Paris
337 reviews
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel du Jeu de Paume
Hotel du Jeu de Paume
#144 of 1,800 in Paris
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notre Dame / Marais
Hotel le Notre Dame
Hotel le Notre Dame
#254 of 1,800 in Paris
900 reviews
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hospitel-Hotel Dieu Paris
Hospitel-Hotel Dieu Paris
#1,043 of 1,800 in Paris
201 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Melia Paris Notre-Dame
Melia Paris Notre-Dame
#323 of 1,800 in Paris
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle

Property: Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle
Address: 75 rue Saint Louis en L Ile, 75004 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#339 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#394 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Ile Saint-Louis, the hotel Saint-Louis en l’Isle has an outstanding location. A very quiet place in the middle of Paris, the Ile Saint-Louis is a village with a prestigious history, symobolized by the 17th century town houses that lie there. Very close to Notre-Dame cathedral, the Marais quarter, the Place de la Bastille and the Saint-Germain quarter, you will find in Ile Saint-Louis unique Parisian authenticity, well-being and hospitality. A charming hotel by excellence, the hotel Saint-Louis en l’Ile will welcome you in a warm atmosphere. Visible stones, old terra cotta and oak beams make this place unique. An elevator serves all floors, including the stone vaulted basement where breakfast is served.Whether your visit is for tourism or business, the hotel Saint-Louis en l´Isle will see to your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis Hotel Paris
Hotel St Louis Paris
Hotel Saint Louis Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing