We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle
Ranked #548 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, Illinois
Level Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fun location!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is located on the I'sle St Louis (island). It's location is right on top of restaurants,shops,cafés .
It is in the 4th arrondissement. Close to many areas. (Marais)The metro is not far either. Fun area to walk around, but keep in mind it can be overwhelmingly crowed on holidays and in summer. Hotel is small, but nice, bathrooms have great shower heads. Pillows were horrible. Maid was bit inconsistent in leaving supplies for the coffee. But we are always delighted to have a coffee maker in the room. Not all small boutique hotels supply them.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    195
    43
    16
    13
See reviews for
86
340
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Coast California
Level Contributor
178 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had two pleasant stays at this hotel during our trip to Europe. Very accommodating staff. Clean, well decorated rooms, albeit very small. Quaint breakfast area in the basement, but we eventually skipped it. It's quite pricey for what's provided. Juice and a basket of pastries. However, one day we watched a couple be presented with three baskets of pastries and bread, then when it was time for our breakfast we were told they had two croissants left. We were charged the entire amount for our breakfast and decided that in the future we'd walk the half block to the St. Regis. I believe at the hotel we paid 16 Euros for a glass of juice and two croissants, and you can get yummy, creamy, rich hot chocolate, juice and a croissant for 7 Euros. In addition, the staff at the St. Regis is friendly, pleasant and quite funny. A great way to begin your day.

The hotel is in a very convenient location, right in the heart of Paris. At night, when the tourists leave, the island becomes very quiet, making for a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Skip the breakfast at the hotel and walk the half block to the St. Regis on the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lakemissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSLI_04, Propriétaire at Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you on behalf of the whole team for your nice comment. I am sorry about your experience with our breakfast. I would like to let our future guests know that breakfast is 13 euros per person and it included unlimited hot and cold beverages (Tea, coffee, Nespresso, hot chocolate, different fuit juices), croissant, pain au chocolat, baguette, special breads with jelly and nutella, yogurts with different flavors, various cheeses, ham, salami, sausages and with an extra fee eggs with bacon and/or cheese. Most of our guests have a large buffet breakfast and a very light lunch until dinner. Our breakfast is served in out stone vaulted basement and I agree that having a breakfast on the terrace of the St Regis is also a very nice experience. Best regards.The owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

So very pleased we found this gem. Words cannot describe this place or the location. It's magical really. So central, so quiet, so everything good. Lovely staff, property clean and quaint. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. It's a very lively location during the day and evening. Took us a wee time to work out why half of Paris was queuing up outside shops in the tight little streets, they were there for the gelato and the icecream, lol. Managed to do some serious shopping in the great wee shops,there and ate on the island every night. The brekkie at the hotel is just the bees knees for a great start to a busy day. The gentlemen at the desk are awesome, Dennis is most helpful, as others have said, but they all are. Thanks for a fabulous property that deserves 5 * in my opinion.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dingdongNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights at the beginning of our honeymoon. We were given a very warm greeting and congratulations upon arrival. On top of that, our room was ready when we arrived (which was at about 1:00 PM if I remember correctly)... which was so fabulous as we had been traveling for about 14 hours and had gotten married the day before! Needless to say we were exhausted. Our room was on the 2nd floor - The elevator is sort of funny in that it doesn't stop on every floor... but that's the fun of an old quirky building. The staircase was steep and winding, but completely charming! Our room was quite small but had everything we needed: A standing shower, sink, toilet and large window in the bathroom.... Large bed, nightstands, iPod radio, closet, and large window in the bedroom looking out onto Rue Ile Saint Louis. Beautiful! The windows kept out the street noise when closed, but of course once you open them, there is some noise - but you are in the center of Paris. You should expect street noise. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We ran downstairs one night to grab an extra pillow - they didn't have any that night, but the man who we spoke with was sure to grab one for us the next day. The bed was comfortable enough and we had everything we needed in walking distance (there is a small little market just a few doors down where you can grab inexpensive bottles of waters and munchies, which is great!). And, you cannot beat the location! Torn between the left bank and the right bank? Easy... stay in the middle. Plus you get to walk along the Seine no matte which direction you are headed - and passed those great little riverside vendors. And for the price, it's quite a deal!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aautera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Bar, Washington
Level Contributor
214 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

chose this hotel for it's location and we stayed only one night but had 2 days.

Very cute hotel and cute neighborhood. We chose this area because quiet area with lots of food and shops with Notre Dame and Sainte Chapelle just short walk away. Boats for ride on seine about 10 minute walk . Was just lovely.

Hotel room was the smallest of our trip.We had a room on an upper floor and had a refrigerator. Bathroom was a good size.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Second trip to Paris and I loved staying at this charming little historic hotel (affordably priced under 200 euro!)... centrally located on the street which runs through the center of the island in the middle of Paris! The gentlemen at the front desk were fun to talk with and I enjoyed their dry sense of humor. Le petit dejeuner is offered at the hotel down the winding stone staircase in the basement and is also a great value at 13 euro...especially after seeing the prices at other restaurants. There is not a full service restaurant in the hotel...but the St. Regis and many other cafes, bars, and plenty of various dining experiences are only a short walk away and of course there are so many fabulous restaurants and cafes still within walking distance when you cross the river on either side. This street is full of cute boutiques, galleries, la Poste (super convenient to mail your packages of souvenirs...mine actually beat me back to the US...they offer three sizes of set rate boxes) , and several Berthillon ice cream opportunities (rhubarb was yummy). Le Marche...fresh fruit & veggies with the amenities of a convenience market...is merely a few steps away so I could easily pick up bottled water or juices for my walking adventures. Rooms have a refrigerated wet bar and a safe inside a fairly nice sized mirrored closet. The combination of warm stone, rustic beams, pretty sconces, and the upscale monochromatic color palette was magazine perfect in my room even if it was a bit on the small side...but that's Paris! Learning to pack lighter each time! Built in blow dryer by the bathroom mirror can lighten your suitcase knowing it's there. The shower was very spacious and had plenty of hot water and great pressure. As a gal...my only suggestion would be that face cloths would be provided to guests...so glad I travel with one to wash makeup off...and it also might be time to upgrade the towels, sheets, and mattress covers. Bed spread/coverlet and curtains...very nice (room is quiet and dark with curtains closed and easy to sleep in! Beautiful and full of light when open) so please don't let that discourage you from staying at this darling hotel...I will definitely be back soon! Traveled with friends a couple of days then stayed on my own...felt very safe and comfortable here. I have wonderful pictures...hope to post later...

Room Tip: Third floor, side street windows...quiet and quaint!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Artsy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We have visited Paris several times before, but the location of this hotel cannot be bettered. In a superb part of Paris, within easy walking distance of so many of iconic sights of Paris. The Isle St Louis provides a perfect setting for a holiday, with helpful staff. The facility of being collected and returned from the Eurostar terminal greatly facilitated our stay.

The high point of our stay was a concert at Saint Chapelle, easily walkable from the hotel. Many places to eat in the vicinity. Superior room gave us a larger bed, and a comfortable sleep.

Room Tip: Superior rooms have larger beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel de Lutece
Hotel de Lutece
#570 of 1,802 in Paris
324 reviews
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel des Deux Iles
Hotel des Deux Iles
#885 of 1,802 in Paris
196 reviews
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel du Jeu de Paume
Hotel du Jeu de Paume
#151 of 1,802 in Paris
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notre Dame / Marais
Hotel le Notre Dame
Hotel le Notre Dame
#263 of 1,802 in Paris
882 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Saint-Louis Marais
Hotel Saint-Louis Marais
#1,208 of 1,802 in Paris
263 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Melia Colbert - Paris
Melia Colbert - Paris
#317 of 1,802 in Paris
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle

Property: Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle
Address: 75 rue Saint Louis en L Ile, 75004 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#339 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#394 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Ile Saint-Louis, the hotel Saint-Louis en l’Isle has an outstanding location. A very quiet place in the middle of Paris, the Ile Saint-Louis is a village with a prestigious history, symobolized by the 17th century town houses that lie there. Very close to Notre-Dame cathedral, the Marais quarter, the Place de la Bastille and the Saint-Germain quarter, you will find in Ile Saint-Louis unique Parisian authenticity, well-being and hospitality. A charming hotel by excellence, the hotel Saint-Louis en l’Ile will welcome you in a warm atmosphere. Visible stones, old terra cotta and oak beams make this place unique. An elevator serves all floors, including the stone vaulted basement where breakfast is served.Whether your visit is for tourism or business, the hotel Saint-Louis en l´Isle will see to your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis Hotel Paris
Hotel St Louis Paris
Hotel Saint Louis Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing