We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please don't go there, don't waist tour money!”
Review of Hotel Louis 2

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Louis 2
Ranked #556 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Please don't go there, don't waist tour money!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I was looking for a nice & typical hotel in the center of Paris to spend a lovely weekend with my bf. On booking I found a special offer for a comfort room at the Hotel Louis 2 (155€ per night instead of 244€).
The position is absolutely perfect (carrefour de l'odeon). This is the only good thing.
Actually the hotel is nice, well decorated & clean.
So what's wrong?
I had to wait 35 min to check in because the young lady (all the staff is very young) had her head in the clouds. She gave me a tiny tiny room (no more than 9mq). I asked for a better one as long I reserved the comfort one (the difference is bath/tube bath). The staff has been kind and satisfy my request after 40 minutes. Not big change because the new room was about 10mq, but better than nothing also because they explained me that only junior suites are bigger than standard or comfort rooms. In the center of Paris is pretty common to get small rooms, I know it, but this one was really tiny (impossible to move with 2 hand luggages).
In the room there are no 4 stars facilities (no coffee machine for example). The bathroom was tiny as the rest of the room. Although the decoration is nice. The bed not that comfortable and the queen bed is made by 2 single beds.
A lot of noises. You can hear everything from others rooms or corridor.
The staff, maybe because so young & un-experienced, is not that professional.
I travel quite a lot, I sleep in 4 stars hotel as in bead&breakfast or un-starred hotels and I never NEVER had an experience like this. The price is not justified especially if you pay the full rate (244€!!!!). In the same street there are better hotels for the same price (Relais de l'odeon et hotel odeon).
Please don't waist your money

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nikiwasthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Louis2_Paris, Directeur général at Hotel Louis 2, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Nikiwasthere,
Thank you for your review.
I regret that your stay with us did not meet with your expectations. And I apologize for any inconvenience that you may have endured. Our staff Of diverse ages are usually dynamic,reactive and attentive to our guests needs, and it's indeed unfortunate that this was not the case for you.
It is true that our rooms are not large in size which is standard for Parisian hotels in the 6th area. We will soon have tea making facilities in all our rooms for the moment they are available at the request of our guests.
Thank you for your appreciation in regards to cleanliness and decoration of our rooms.
I assure you that I have taken note of everything you have mentioned and I will work together with my team to make the necessary improvements.
Please don't hesitate to contact me as I am always available for my guests

Yours sincerely
Benjamin Maba
The director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    164
    38
    11
    4
See reviews for
53
240
39
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perugia, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay at this tiny pretty hotel. Great location, small but nice and clean rooms furnished in a good romantic style. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Nothing more needed for a great weekend escape to Paris.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Huncutka8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Louis2_Paris, Directeur général at Hotel Louis 2, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of Hotel Louis2.
Many of our guests do find our rooms small but charming and we do have a very romantic atmosphere that appeals to many. We endeavor to create a warm friendly relationship with our guests throughout their stay and I am very pleased that this was indeed what you found.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours sincerely
Benjamin Maba
The director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Double rooms are fairly tiny (by American standards) but location is super convenient and close to a ton of brasseries, cafés and shopping. If you arrive during checkout time, the process of checking can be quite slow...we had to wait an hour before we got access to the front desk receptionist, and only to be told our room wouldn't be available until 3 hours later. The upside: they pour drinks generously at the lobby bar!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jky6780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Louis2_Paris, Directeur général at Hotel Louis 2, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for your review.
It's true that our hotel has a policy of check out at 12:00 and arrivals from 14:00. But we always try to accommodate our early arrivals as best we can and in as far as we can. Especially our guests from over seas who arrive early and need to rest.
There are days however when unfortunately we don't have early rooms available.
I would advise anyone who would be arriving early to contact us in advance by telephone or e mail and we will do our utmost best to prepair their room as early as possible.
Again I thank you for taking the time to review our hotel
Yours sincerely

Benjamin Maba
The director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, USA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This small hotel is in a perfect location. The staff could not be nicer or more helpful. The toms are quite small as most European boutique hotel are. Extremely clean, nice breakfast if you are ok to pay. Lovely and warm. Best part is staff and location. Great value for Oaris

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IWork2travel37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Louis2_Paris, Directeur général at Hotel Louis 2, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel
I will be sure to inform our staff of your kind appreciation. They are a very dedicated team.
We are happy that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast we are pleased to inform you that now, if you reserve our breakfast on arrival for your entire stay it will cost 10 euros and not the usual 15 euros.
Also we can supply a variety of breakfast products for anyone with special dietetic needs, If we are informed before their arrival.
We hope to see you again soon.
Yours sincerely

Benjamin Maba
The director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel in a excellent location. The staff are incredibly helpful. As the other reviews say the rooms are a little on the small side but it wasn't a problem when me and my boyfriend stayed there, the beds are good size. Very clean and well presented.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Louis2_Paris, Directeur général at Hotel Louis 2, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Jodie N,
Thanks you for your review.
As you can imagine we are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us at hotel Louis 2.
We are a small hotel dedicated to given a friendly personal service to all our guests. its true that our beds are very comfortable they are for the most part new our pillows are also hypoallergenic. The well-being of our guests is very important to us.
Thanks again for your appreciations and we hope you will return to see us soon.

Benjamin Maba
The Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This charming hotel is definitely worth a stay, and not just for the great location. For those not used to European rooms, the rooms are quite small (as is the hotel in general) but it seems to add to the charm of this cute hotel. The location couldn't be more convenient as there are many bars, restaurants, and shops in the area and you are less than a 10 minute walk to Notre Dame, and even closer to the Luxembourg Gardens.

For breakfast, I highly recommend Gerard Mulot (just around the corner from the hotel) - wonderful freshly baked breads and pastries and the coffee is quite good (compared to most other Parisian coffee).

Will definitely be staying here next time I'm in Paris.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Louis2_Paris, Directeur général at Hotel Louis 2, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Amy F,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel .
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is true that Louis 2 is a small and charming hotel which has a warm, friendly and personal service, which can sometimes be missing in many of the larger hotels.
I would just like to add that our breads and pastries come from Gerard mulot bakery. In fact we have chosen all our breakfast suppliers very carefully making sure that we provide only the finest quality products for our guests.
Again it's good to know that your time with us was enjoyable and we look forward to receiving you again in the future.
Yours sincerely

Benjamin Maba
The Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This adorable boutique hotel is perfectly situated in the bustling St. Germain section of Paris. The hotel is charming and interestingly decorated with royal type artifacts. The breakfast was quite good. The room was tiny but that is par for the course in Paris and the bed quite comfortable. The WiFi worked perfectly both in the room and the lobby. The room was quiet despite the activity below. The desk staff was extremely pleasant and helpful, even during busy circumstances. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carebear2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Louis2_Paris, Directeur général at Hotel Louis 2, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your review.
It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are constantly looking at ways to improve our service. The breakfast is one of the many areas in which we have been focusing.
It is good to know that our efforts have not gone unnoticed.
The comfort and well-being of our guests is also very important to us.
Again we thank you for your recommendation and look forward to any future visits.
Yours sincerely

Benjamin Maba
The director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
#105 of 1,801 in Paris
1,075 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#174 of 1,801 in Paris
436 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Victoire & Germain
Hotel Victoire & Germain
#356 of 1,801 in Paris
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Tonic Hotel Saint Germain
Tonic Hotel Saint Germain
#1,048 of 1,801 in Paris
108 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Fleurie
Hotel de Fleurie
#830 of 1,801 in Paris
378 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#101 of 1,801 in Paris
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Louis 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Louis 2

Property: Hotel Louis 2
Address: 2 rue Saint Sulpice | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#237 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#298 Business Hotel in Paris
#316 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Louis 2 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 260 metres from le Sénat and the Jardin du Luxembourg, Hotel Louis 2 is a 13-minute walk from Notre Dame Cathedral. It offers 24-hour reception and a buffet breakfast can be ordered.Free Wi-Fi is available in each air-conditioned room, which includes a TV and a minibar. The stylish rooms are mainly decorated in white, red and black and each have an en suite bathroom.A continental breakfast with fresh orange juice, cheeses, eggs and homemade fruit salads is available every morning. Different type of breads and hams are also provided,In the heart of a district typical of old Paris, with freestone buildings, little cafes and busy restaurants, the hotel features 22 bright rooms and junior suites with classic interior design.The Louis 2 is in the district of the editors and booksellers. Odeon Metro Station with direct links to Chatelet and Gare de Lyon is 210 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Louis 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louis Ii Hotel
Louis Ii Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing