We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good utilitarian hotel”
Review of Hotel Henri IV

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Henri IV
Ranked #1,228 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good utilitarian hotel”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

As other reviews are saying, the main draw of this hotel is its location. From here you are walking distance to many of Paris' main sights. It is very "no frills" though. The beds were a little hard, there is no wifi, and the stairs may be a little much if you have to get a suitcase to the higher floors. But this is all reflected in the incredibly reasonable price. It should be noted that, while its not the hotel's fault, if the windows are open the acoustics make any noise in the town square sound like its right by your window. Some other perks of the hotel are the charming breakfast and the helpful (English speaking) staff. When checking in, ask if you can see the available rooms. Our group had three rooms that varied in size but not in price!

Room Tip: High rooms are better due to street noise, if you can handle the steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    90
    43
    17
    29
See reviews for
37
110
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Read through the reviews and look at the pictures so you know what you're getting into. If you're a budget traveller who cares more about spending time outside of the hotel than in your hotel room, you'll love Hotel Henri IV.

The staff are all friendly, helpful, and most speak English for those of you who are like me, and do not.

Room # 9, a renovated room, is quaint and was spacious (for Paris) with a decent sized bathroom and a great window that opened for welcoming in fresh air. While the room wasn't spotless (dust in vents and along pipes), it was clean enough for your average Joe (cleaner than my house, so I must be average Joe). The bed sheets were spic and span (looked brand new) and the towels and tissue were refreshed as needed.

They offer a light breakfast (coffee with milk and a baguette with butter and jam) which was a perfect start to our day. We never had to wait for a seat or for service. In fact, service was instant every single morning for the 6 days we were there.

If you don't know Paris (and we didn't before this trip), it's situated on Ile De La Cite in Place Dauphine, a great little quiet park full of locals playing bocci ball and couples cuddling. Quite literally, you can't get a better location. If you like to walk, like we do, you can get everywhere by foot and the RER (subway/trains) entrance is just around the corner. It's within a few blocks of Notre Dame, Musée du Louvre and The Latin Quarter. And while there are several restaurants located just steps from the front door, we only ate in the one just across the street called Ma Salle à Manger and what a delightful experience it was. Had we eaten there our first night, instead of our second last, I'm sure we would have eaten there again...the food was perfect and the price not too bad.

Because of the convenience of the location, we also saved about 80€ (40€ each way) by taking the train from the airport instead of cab, and it was super easy even though we hadn't a clue how to use it. And on departure, the train takes you right to all three terminals at the airport.

A downside to this hotel is that it does not have an elevator. We were only on the 3rd floor, which is four floors up from the ground, and every time we had to climb the stairs we could feel the burn in our legs. And it wasn't fun with heavy luggage. While this is something to be aware of if you have any particular challenges with mobility, it's well worth the climb if you you're able bodied.

Another downside is the lack of wifi. While there is free wifi at Starbucks and McDonalds which are everywhere, we had problems connecting most of the time. So it would have been very nice to have wifi in the hotel. I would have gladly paid a little more to get it. That said, it was somewhat freeing to be unplugged as my wife and I were here celebrating our 20th anniversary (while the kids stayed home for some quality grandparent time).

I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay there again should I return to Paris.

Room Tip: Room # 9 is great...not to high up (because there is no elevator), fully renovated, and relatively s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Troy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Everyone is right: the location is excellent. You are near the tip of L'isle de la Cite, just behind the Palace of Justice. Near St. Chapelle and Notre Dame. The neighborhood is surrounded by the Seine, looking out on a charming park, BUT, to say that maintenance has been deferred is an understatement. There are holes in the floors and walls. The winding staircase is painful to navigate if you have more than carry-on luggage. Most, but not all of the staff, were helpful. They do allow you to leave luggage in their storage area, which is generous. The modest free breakfast is also a nice perk, though seating is quite limited in the reception area. You will need to decide if the location and price are worth the downsides of Henri IV.

Room Tip: Do not underestimate the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SavvyConsumer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Location is unbeatable. Price is hard to match. Staff were helpful... But a few big drawbacks. Firstly, NO WIFI. Seriously!?! Secondly, I peeked into some rooms when housekeeping had the door open. Some rooms are much nicer than others. Our room was falling apart, & floorboards were missing...

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank paul p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Being very selfish, we wouldn't normally review this hotel as otherwise more people would find out about this AMAZING hotel. However, since the cat is already out of the bag it seems (and it's also in the Time Out guide), I guess there's no harm in reviewing.

This really is a slice of the old Paris, a little frayed at the edges, but just ooooozing charm. But even better than that, the location and price. Place Dauphine is a beautiful and oddly quiet square, with a few lovely restaurants and cafes, right at the tip of Ile de la Cite. You couldn't get a better location! And the prices - for Paris? Really?

If you're looking for plush or just another Holiday Inn yawnsville experience, this hotel isn't for you. If you're looking for somewhere that actually feels genuine and idiosyncratic yet is just a five minutes walk from the Louvre, the metro, the Rive Gauche, and Pont Neuf, then this is the place for you.

Having said that, don't go when we're going. Or else! It's already difficult enough to book ;-)

(PS, when we were there in December 2013, we were told that they were selling the hotel. However, it seems to be still going strong according to the website. Long may Henri reign!)

Room Tip: Book in advance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James_and_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel our last night in France (after traveling to Marseilles and back) and I'm so glad we did. What a perfect location (near everything, including the many charming restaurants in the square just outside the hotel). The building is beautiful, our room was beautiful (old-world style which we love) and clean, and the staff were very kind and helpful. Our only complaint is that it was our last night in Paris :-(
If you need an elevator, though, this hotel has none, but it has a stunning winding staircase and the room and view makes the climb worth it.
Breakfast is also included in the very reasonable price, but we did not get to try it as we needed to get to the airport very early (but next time!)
You must experience this hotel at least once...this is real Paris!!

Room Tip: Choose an upper room for the view (if you don't mind stairs) and book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 479Judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

One star for location and the other for price. We found this hotel via an article and did the usual research. I consider myself to be a sophisticated travel, but in this instance I feel as though we were duped. First, the website does a great job of showing the "best" of what this hotel could offer. BUT THERE ISNT MUCH. there is no elevator, so if you have a lot of luggage it's tough. It gets tougher due to the very narrow winding staircase, with worn treads. The staff was curt to put it mildly. And the rooms are tiny (trying to post pictures), there was chipped paint, holes in the bathroom, and guests in the rooms without toilets have to open a door on their floor to an outside landing with a toilet stall. Gross! So, go here if you can't afford to spend 100 euros for a hotel, but be forewarned.

Room Tip: Ask for a big room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel
Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel
#522 of 1,801 in Paris
560 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Residence Henri 4
Hotel Residence Henri 4
#101 of 1,801 in Paris
1,007 reviews
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel des Deux Iles
Hotel des Deux Iles
#915 of 1,801 in Paris
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel de Lutece
Hotel de Lutece
#596 of 1,801 in Paris
332 reviews
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel du Jeu de Paume
Hotel du Jeu de Paume
#137 of 1,801 in Paris
454 reviews
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle
Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle
#575 of 1,801 in Paris
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Henri IV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Henri IV

Property: Hotel Henri IV
Address: 25 Place Dauphine, 75001 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Henri Iv Hotel
Henri Iv Paris
Hotel Henri Iv Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing