We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Less than expected”
Review of Hotel Delavigne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Delavigne
Ranked #887 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Less than expected”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

This hotel is centrally located. The lobby is pleasant and matches photos on their website. The guest rooms do not. The double room was very small. The furnishings are very outdated and not comfortable. Bed was not in good shape. Bathroom by contrast was large airy and clean, but also could use some attention. Toilet seat not properly fitted to base. The hallways are in need of new carpets and smell musty. This street is also not quiet. Unbelievable noise on the weekend. I felt the police should have been called it was so bad from spillover bar customers on next street. Air conditioning did not work first 3 days of a 6 night stay.The breakfast is not worth 12 euros extra. Somewhat harried server made guests feel unwelcome. The day staff is amazingly friendly and helpful. Cannot say enough good things about them. Their overnight staff not so much. At one time we came in and no one was at front desk. we ended up reaching over counter and retrieving our own key. Not a secure feeling. They should go update to new lock/key system.

Room Tip: Upper floor if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raynard3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    127
    42
    13
    6
See reviews for
38
101
18
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dar
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Friendly small hotel, a tiny bit shabby but the price is ok. The location is superbly central and one can walk everywhere. People at reception are nice and very helpful and all the rooms have wifi. ............ ....................... .............................. ........................................ ............................... ....................................... ............................................................... ......................................

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanzitourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This hotel is superb, one of the best I've stayed in in Paris. It certainly has a parisienne charm, as it's well decorated, warm and inviting. The rooms can vary as I have discovered and I do admit that some are nicer than others. However needs are met as the room is provided with water and glasses, shower caps, and even shoe polish! The area is good, as it is a short walk from La Jardin du Luxembourg and a short walk from high street shops. To get to the main attractions such as the Tour Eiffel you will have to get a bus/boat, as it is too far to walk. However other attractions such as the Louvre and Musee D'Orsay are within walking distance (if you do not mind a longer walk). The only negative i really have about this hotel is that it is quite noisy outside at night. But you have to consider this is Paris and therefore it will be noisy, so that can't really be helped.

Room Tip: when booking, make sure you don't get a room in the attic, the ones below are much nicer althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Yes the rooms are small but the location is central, safe and quiet. Three minutes away from the Metro, Fifteen minute walk from Notre Dame. For the price I would definately recommend this hotel. Hotel very clean (bathroom could do with updating)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank codge85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Stayed for two nights at this charming hotel in the St Germain/Latin Quarters. Very helpful person at the front desk -Francesco did wonders in giving us assistance to plan our stay and cover the city in the short time.
Clean but smallish rooms, but that's Paris. Very well located to walk around the lively parts of the entire Notre Dame area. Memorable stay. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hippieonthehighway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We had two nights at the Hotel Delavigne close to the Odeon, Luxembourg Gardens and St Germain. We had checked reviews and were prepared for a small room - the room was small, could have been been better decorated and the bath was rather small but it was quiet at night. The staff were very helpful and pleasant during our visit and the internet was reasonable - but it didn't work on our final morning for some reason. A good excuse not to do any work.
We used the metro from Charles De Gaulle airport, quick and efficient - but we booked a taxi back to the airport, I was walked out and footsore. Great centre for the Left Bank, Notre Dame, Musee d'Orsay, not far to the Pompidou Centre. Not cheap but great location.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenisWm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

A fantastic hotel in a great spot.

The guys on the front desk are fantastic; so friendly and extraordinarily helpful.

We had a double room with a window looking out to the street. The room is very compact but nicely appointed, clean and quiet. Bathroom was a good size with a nice, strong shower. My only gripe (and it's a small one) is that we had one Powerpoint for charging electronics and it was very weak - our stuff didn't really charge at all.

There are lots of great restaurants close by as well as the metro. We loved it and would certainly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TashaAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Grand Hotel des Balcons
Grand Hotel des Balcons
#464 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Tonic Hotel Saint Germain
Tonic Hotel Saint Germain
#1,064 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Michelet Odeon
Hotel Michelet Odeon
#734 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#169 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Fleurie
Hotel de Fleurie
#823 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Louis 2
Hotel Louis 2
#555 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Delavigne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Delavigne

Property: Hotel Delavigne
Address: 1 rue Casimir Delavigne | 06 Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #887 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Delavigne 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Delavigne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delavigne Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing