We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over-Billed And Lied To.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Leveque

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Leveque
Ranked #770 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Over-Billed And Lied To.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I stayed 3 days in early May 2014 in a single room for 84 Euros a night. I traveled around France for 4 days and returned to this hotel for one last night in France. I had been told the room would be 5 more Euros, and would that be ok? Yes. I had signed a paper that I thought agreed to that. When the bill came it was 105 Euros more: 189 Euros! The man at the front desk refused to fix it. Said my credit card would be billed. I made an appointment to meet with the person who had the authority to change my rate. When I returned at the correct time for the meeting I was told that manager had gone home and wouldn't be returning and left word for me that she wasn't changing my rate.

Then the man at the front desk said the increase was also due to me getting a much larger room. I went up to look at the room and it was the same exact tiny floor plan as I had before. I went back down and told him this. He disagreed with me, insisting it was much larger, but refused to come up stairs with me and physically compare the rooms together.

This is the worst experience I have had in a hotel, ever.

Room Tip: The rooms are tiny--a small pathway around the bed. Tiny bathroom. A lot of noise from adjoining r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Smartlight9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crouinelise, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel Leveque, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We have seen your message on line and we would like to make some clarifications on your comment.

You first reserved a standard room back side and left the hotel in early may. At check out time you made directly with the front desk a new room reservation for days few later. Actually we proposed you our last availability with one superior room street side.
To make everything clear with all other customers we ask them to sign a paper form confirmation with: type of room, room rate; period of stay and cancellation policy . The signature valid the official document. (A copy is given to them to remember)

Actuallly the document was signed by yourself so there were no confusion possible.

Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    143
    56
    19
    12
See reviews for
71
130
36
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Spent 11 wonderful days on the Rue Cler. Location is excellent and staff is extremely friendly and helpful. This was our 3rd stay and hope to return soon. Close to Eiffel Tower, Metro and The River Seine. Great neighborhood to walk. Highly recommend The Grand Hotel Leveque !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TandJ465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crouinelise, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel Leveque, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Customers,

Thank you so very much for your kind comment. We are very pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope to see you soon on your next stay in Paris. With kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

This is the perfect location for your trip to Paris. Located on Rue Cler, the food possibilities are endless. You can walk to the Eiffel Tower and it is close to Metro Stops for all other sights. The English speaking staff was very pleasant and helpful. The bathrooms have been updated and the rooms were adequate. For the price, you can't beat this hotel, and it was fun to walk the markets in the mornings

Room Tip: pay a little extra for the updated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crouinelise, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel Leveque, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear customer,

We are delighted that you have spent a very pleasant stay with us at the Grand Hotel Leveque and thank you for writing these comments on Tripadvisor.

Thank you very much for your recommendation of our hotel to users.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely staff, however could not check in after getting here. Had to wait and wait. Also no dependable internet. None in our Ron and sketchy in the lobby. Very frustrating. In the 21st century with so much dependence on internet especially for traveling this is pretty absurd.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank cmlvngstn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crouinelise, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel Leveque, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like first to thank you for taking the time to write to us after your stay at Grand Hotel Leveque.

We have noted your comments with great interest. It is true that we have two days pending problems with our internet connections operator.
We do apologize for this désagréement.
So far everything is back to normal Wifi works perfectly.

We hope to still have another opportunity to welcome you to our establishment.

Cordially Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed here last in 1998 and once again found it to be a very nice place in a great Paris location just as Rick Steves says in his book. Front desk folks are great to work with, speak excellent English and are helpful. We are very likely to stay here again.

Room Tip: Try for a room facing the back as they are quieter. Rue Cler gets busy early with the delivery truc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crouinelise, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel Leveque, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear customers,

Thank you for your loyalty, we are pleased that you have once again enjoyed our hotel and its team. All our staff wish you a great summer. See you next time.

Cordially Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Rick G

We've stayed at this hotel 3 times and have always enjoyed our stay and the room renovations are well done. Very well located and the food markets on Rue Cler are great. The Eiffel Tower is close by as is a Metro stop. Definitely recommend

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crouinelise, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel Leveque, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest,

I wish to begin by thanking you for your nice comment and your faithfulness in our establishment.
We were also very pleased that you enjoyed our new rooms and bathrooms renovation.

All our team is look forward to welcolme you again soon.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Rue Cler is a great place to stay. Every morning we visited fruit vendors and bakeries for breakfast. Busses a block away can take you anywhere in Paris. Walk to the Eiffel Tower in 10 minuets. The rooms and baths are small but who stays in there room anyway. Opt for the bigger room, still small. The hotel is basic and very clean. A good value for a fantastic location.

Room Tip: Get room 52 the center balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crouinelise, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel Leveque, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,
What a pleasure to have you with us !!
Thank you very much to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Grand Hotel Leveque.
We hope to welcome you very soon.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel du Champ de Mars
Hotel du Champ de Mars
#248 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Motte Picquet
Hotel Motte Picquet
#129 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Cler Hotel
Cler Hotel
#57 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Beaugency
Hotel Beaugency
#867 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Eber
Hotel Eber
#673 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Eiffel Rive Gauche
Eiffel Rive Gauche
#1,134 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Leveque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Leveque

Property: Grand Hotel Leveque
Address: 29 rue Cler | 7th Arr., 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#362 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Leveque 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Leveque is a chraming hotel on Rue Cler near the Eiffel Tower.We welcome you during all the year in different type of rooms.Breakfast, air-conditionning, safe, ceiling fan, hairdryer in all the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Leveque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris
Grand Hotel Leveque Paris
Grand Leveque Hotel
Hotel Leveque Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing