We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splendid location and a good nights sleep” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Saint Germain des Pres

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Saint Germain des Pres
Ranked #792 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
184 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Splendid location and a good nights sleep”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

In Paris you can always expect small rooms. This is not an exception. But the decoration is charming, the beds are comfortable, the breakfast buffé is small but quite enough for an European stomach. The interior in the breakfastroom is wonderful. The cleaning is good and the only thing I can complain about is that our room wasn't cleaned until late in the afternoon, even though we had asked that it would be made up at 3 o'clock.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SirMilton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    121
    34
    13
    10
See reviews for
37
135
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

My wife and I started our 2 week vacation with a 4 day stay in Paris. We chose this hotel based on recommendations from a friend who has stayed here in the past. We were not disappointed. The rooms were clean and well appointed. Small by American standards, but not so in France. The staff was helpful and friendly. And the location is fantastic! Nearby are the museums, public gardens, restaurants, and boulevards that beckon to us all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VicRob17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed for a week end of April. Location was amazing. Walking distance to many sites and metro stop a block away. Rooms were small as previously mentioned but clean. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Our room faced the street so it was a bit noisy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Our short stay in Paris was such a most enjoyable and memorable time. It was the perfect way that my wife and myself could celebrate our golden wedding anniversary 50years .Hotel Saint Germain des Pres is everything a visitor could wish for, comfortable,spotlessly clean and very friendly. All the staff are helpful, polite and very friendly. The Hotel is situated no further than approximately 100 meters from the river Seine, 100 meters from the Metro station and about 150 meters from the Latin Quarter for it's cheap and delightful food. An excellent buffet breakfast is available where all tastes are catered for to give a perfect start to the day and at the time of writing available for only 12 Euros. You would be hard pushed to find even a midday snack and drink anywhere in Paris to match this price. We now hold many happy memories of our stay in Paris. Thank you to all the staff at Hotel Saint Germain des Pres

Room Tip: Telephone the Hotel they will help you to choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johcajhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
300 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

I wrote a review of this hotel in December 2013 only to find it mysteriously deleted. I got bed bugs here - only to be told by reception that I had brought them with me. (Very funny - this was my first stop from home). Whilst the hotel shifted my rooms, the biggest issue I had was the lack of empathy from reception. Given my trip was solo, just an ounce of advice on what to do would have been appreciated. On a positive note, the local manager did follow up my email to them post visit. Sweet, but again, denied they had a problem. Guys - bed bugs might not be in your beds (apparently you get them treated); but I fell asleep leaning up against your fabric covered walls... A great location, but get your customer service right! I had to wake up the reception guy just to check out in the morning... Would not return.

Room Tip: Wifi available. Luggable distance to the metro. Try the coffee at the corner cafe for breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jiffy2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsgdp, Directeur général at Hotel Saint Germain des Pres, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Madam, I acknowledge receipt of this new review which I had already answered you by e-mail and via this site in December. Three months later I confirm you that after check by myself and a specialized company, no bed bugs were found in your room. Three months later, nobody was a victim of what you say to have undergoes. Very cordially. Eric Desfaudais. Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theil Rabier France
Level Contributor
202 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We were here for the weekend and wanted "cheap".
That we got. Very cozy little room (actually, tiny would be a better description, but warm).
Very helpful staff and friendly to boot.
Problem was we a) had absolutely no view other than an array of pies outside the window, and b) I am convinced our room was directly over the Metro line. Despite being 4 floors up, it felt as though the Metro was in the bathroom, and it was a busy line.
Still, we wanted cheap and cheerful, and that was what we got.

Room Tip: Ask for a street side room away from the lift (elevator)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bolger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsgdp, Directeur général at Hotel Saint Germain des Pres, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Sir, We thank you for your choice of the Saint Germain des Prés area during your stay in Paris. Unfortunately I thing you have posted your review on the wrong hotel, Please check on your reservation and invoice HOTEL SAINT GERMAIN DES PRES, 36 rue Bonaparte, 75006 PARIS. Many Hotels do have SAINT GERMAIN into their name, only one HOTEL SAINT GERMAIN DES PRES. In fact you really can not hear the metro from where we are located.
Kindest regards
Eric Desfaudais.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We celebrated my husband's 70th birthday here. Brilliant location, cozy room, great service. Alas, upon arrival to the city of lights, my husband's wallet was stolen in the Metro. Luckily I had lots of credit cards so we still managed despite the loss of IDs. After our return to Malta his wallet was found and the police told us to pick the wallet up at the police station. Easier said than done. Messenger costs and shipping?! The Hotel Saint Germain des Pres manager graciously went to the police station for us, dealt with the bureaucracy and mailed it to us. We are so thankful and grateful. Who said Parisians are not helpful? We will be back asap!!!!

Room Tip: Don't forget to tip the cleaning lady upon your departure. Ask for a shuttle to the airport so y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabrielleaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Deux Continents
Hotel des Deux Continents
#659 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Marronniers
Hotel des Marronniers
#747 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#69 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Au Manoir Saint Germain De Pres
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de l'Academie
Hotel de l'Academie
#290 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Germain des Pres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Germain des Pres

Property: Hotel Saint Germain des Pres
Address: 36 rue Bonaparte, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#462 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint Germain des Pres 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the Paris' most coveted positions, Hotel Saint Germain des Prés provides a cool haven with a feel of a chic Paris pied a terre. Built in the 18th century as a gracious townhouse, the hotel retains many period details and original architectural features.Today Hotel Saint Germain is a landmark of unique character and 21st century timeless elegance. A choice of interesting people the world over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Saint Germain des Pres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Germain Des Pres Hotel
Hotel St Germain Des Pres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing