We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good three star hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel de l'Univers
Ranked #728 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good three star hotel in great location”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Stayed here for two nights on business in July 2012.

The hotel is in a great location within 5 minutes walk of Odean Metro & right in the middle of a very bustling area with many great restaurants and bars (Vins & Terroir was great).

The hotel fronts onto a small road with restaurants and bars, small but nice foyer. We asked for a rear facing room (having read reviews re noise from the night club opposite) and were given a twin on the top (6th) floor. The room was compact, but fine for a couple of days - about what I would expect for a basic three star hotel. Air con worked well (it was 36 degrees) and it was really quiet, so slept well.

Room Tip: Rear facing rooms are quiet - it is a very busy area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Robh9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    169
    47
    15
    8
See reviews for
58
168
29
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
washington, dc
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This hotel is a great value & pretty much what I expected after reading a bunch of reviews here. The location is absolutely terrific -- arguably the best in all of Paris. We didn't spend a lot of time in our room,, but it was perfectly fine, even though it was quite small: the bathroom didn't feel as small as the bedroom & had a really nice shower; there is a big closet for luggage; and we had good free wifi on the third floor. Our room faced into an alley & was really quiet, despite being just a block from Saint Germaine. Also nice: The front desk to the hotel was staffed 24 hours a day.
Only word of warning is that the hotel's elevator is very small, slow & old fashion, and the stair case is steep & in some disrepair, so it's probably not the best place if your traveling with a stroller or wheel chair.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the back alley/couryard are very quiet. Ask for a room on a low floor since the ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank acon2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

When we first arrived at this hotel, the first impressions weren't great, there were 3-4 builders drilling/sawing/banging away in the reception, so we thought it was going to be a Parisian Faulty Towers... but over the 2 night stay the room was perfect, we wasn't bothered by the ground force crew downstairs and found it to be a very nice hotel in a very good location. The hotel is only 10 minutes walk to the Louve museum and the Notre Dam cathedral and is surrounded by various cafe/bars/restaurants. Even though this hotel was in a busy area with a night club opposite, we wasn't bothered by the noise at all and had a very good sleep.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel for four nights in May and were delighted with our accommodations and friendly staff. The Manager upgraded us to a deluxe room and, though small, did not
disappoint. The room and bath were beautifully decorated, and we had a separate WC.
We were on a fairly busy side street, and I was impressed by how quiet the room was.
No hint of street noise, and the other people in the hotel were very quiet as well.

We picked this hotel for its excellent location - a few blocks from the Metro (we came in
via Charles De Gaulle) - and also for its proximity to Notre Dame and the Boulevard
St. Germain, which was right at the end of the street. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The deluxe room was excellent and it really didn't matter that we faced the street as the Frenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pmateu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

GHU is a quaint hotel on a tiny street just north of Boul Mich. The rooms are small but very clean and well maintained. My room came with a water closet....how's that for Old World Charm? Pricesa re reasonable for the area. Breakfast for E 12 is very good. Staff are friendly and helpful. Had fun kibbitzing with the night clerks. Try for a back facing room dofr quiet, Front windows appear double glazed but the street can be noisy

Room Tip: Rooms in the back arer quieter,. Get a superior room, which are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hencat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Riding
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stayed at this lovely hotel in June with a 14 year old grandson. We were welcomed by the pleasant lady at the front desk. She and others at the front desk during our stay all spoke English. We had booked a deluxe room. Our room had fabric covering on the walls, and the bedspread and upholstered headboard matched the wall fabric. There were exposed dark beams on the light ceiling, and the effect was charming. The bathroom was roomy and modern. We had breakfast each morning at the hotel in the wine cellar. The breakfast selections included both hot and cold foods, and was excellent. We enjoyed both the meal and the atmosphere of the room.
The hotel is very centrally located, just off the Boulevard Saint Germain and near Rue de Buci, with all its restaurants. It is within walking distance of Notre Dame Cathedral on Ile de la Cite. The double decker red bus that tours Paris has a stop just across the street from Notre Dame. The only possible negative we found for this hotel was the night club across the street, which only had noise part of one night. We enjoyed our vitist very much, and hope to return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank london42lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

The location is great but the rooms are tiny and dark and the common areas very shabby and run-down. Not worth the high price of the room at all. I would stay elsewhere next time, even if it's in a less centrally located hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aimeekelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Victoire & Germain
Hotel Victoire & Germain
#528 of 1,798 in Paris
47 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Seine
Hotel de Seine
#194 of 1,798 in Paris
437 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Deux Continents
Hotel des Deux Continents
#647 of 1,798 in Paris
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Le Regent
Hotel Le Regent
#759 of 1,798 in Paris
317 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain
Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain
#262 of 1,798 in Paris
812 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Fleurie
Hotel de Fleurie
#812 of 1,798 in Paris
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de l'Univers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de l'Univers

Property: Grand Hotel de l'Univers
Address: 6 rue Gregoire de Tours | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel de l'Univers)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#567 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel de l'Univers 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel can boast one of Paris' best addresses. It stands in the centre of Saint Germain des Prés. A short stroll from the Eglise St. Germain des Prés and the famous café "Les Deux Magot's". A place to see and to be seen! Recently restored this delightful hotel of distinction provides a variety of rooms with cosy intimacy. As an old townhouse, Grand hotel de l'Univers still has many of it's original details like the beans in the ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel de l'Univers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing