We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Cozy Old World Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel de l'Univers
Ranked #636 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in May. We had a wonderful stay. The hotel is located in the Saint Germain section, which to me is the best place to stay. It is centrally located to many attractions. It's a 5 minute walk to Notre Damn and the Seine, 20 minute walk to the Louvre, 10 minute walk to Luxembourg Gardens and many more. The hotel is surrounded by restaurants, cafes, eateries, some shops and bars. It's a wonderful neighborhood that embodies the old world romance & charm of Paris. It is on a quiet cobble stone street and because of this we were able to leave our window open at night.
The staff spoke English quite well and the hotel was very clean. The bathrooms had updated amenities. We stayed in room 46 and for two people it was a decent size.
I would highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Request to not stay in a room that is next to the elevator. I can imagine it might be quite loud to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Have just returned from a quick Paris break and stayed at this hotel as friends from NZ had already booked so keen to join them. The hotel responded quickly to my plea and it was all booked. Richard on reception is brilliant - can answer any query and also able to give really good advice on restaurants, taxis etc. Small/very old hotel so need to bear that in mind but location on left bank area is great with bars/restaurants nearby - and the breakfast was excellent value with lots of variety. Will certainly return.

Room Tip: Keep away from lift - only a few rooms on each floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GolfladyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

A small hotel, we found this establishment ideal for a short stay in Paris. It is close to many of the major attractions of the city. Rooms were slightly on the small side but they were certainly adequate. They were also very clean. The staff were very helpful, tolerant of my limited French and reverting to English when I was out of my depth.
Breakfasts were more than satisfactory.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vandi40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
4  Thank MorrisVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I feel bad for writing this so late. Stayed at BW Grand Hotel in June 2013. Property was clean, fairly quite, excellent location. But the staff at the front desk were fantastic! I remember Caroline in particular. Our flight going to Barcelona had been cancelled due to FAA strike and we were forced (poor us) to stay in Paris an extra night. The hotel was booked and didn't have a room for us. However, the desk staff took the initiative to call several hotels and provide us with pricing as well as help facilitate our transfer our belongings. In addition, that also helped us get a new flight booked through AirFrance.

I can't imagine getting this excellent service in the U.S. Bravo to the staff at BW Grand Hotel!!

And, "merci beaucoup!"

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank no1beachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Whilst this isn't a luxury hotel, the rooms are very comfortable, clean and tidy, and the hotel staff are helpful and pleasant. In the St Germain area, there is a metro nearby, plenty of places to either eat in or just buy a filled baguette for a lunch at Notre Dame or on the banks of the Seine - within short walking distance. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel, as there were just too many little eateries to be explored. It is a good base for sightseeing - you CAN walk as far as the Eiffel Tower if you wish, or even the Champs Elysee if you are PARTICULARLY energetic!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OzCaliburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Room small but very nice. So quiet and bed really comfortable that i was able to sleep very well. Clean and comfortable. Perfect location for a Walk in the evening lot's of bars and restaurants. Perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 23f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Prés
Hotel Victoire & Germain
Hotel Victoire & Germain
#376 of 1,809 in Paris
85 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Prés
Hotel de Seine
Hotel de Seine
#126 of 1,809 in Paris
577 reviews
Odéon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Le Regent
Hotel Le Regent
#762 of 1,809 in Paris
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Prés
Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain
Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain
#250 of 1,809 in Paris
926 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Prés
Hotel Louis 2
Hotel Louis 2
#665 of 1,809 in Paris
452 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Prés
Prince de Conti
Prince de Conti
#1,187 of 1,809 in Paris
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de l'Univers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de l'Univers

Address: 6 rue Gregoire de Tours | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel de l'Univers)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#565 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £107 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel de l'Univers 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel can boast one of Paris' best addresses. It stands in the centre of Saint Germain des Prés. A short stroll from the Eglise St. Germain des Prés and the famous café "Les Deux Magot's". A place to see and to be seen! Recently restored this delightful hotel of distinction provides a variety of rooms with cosy intimacy. As an old townhouse, Grand hotel de l'Univers still has many of it's original details like the beans in the ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel de l'Univers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing