We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel de l'Univers
Ranked #723 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Paris”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Paris for 10 days as part of our honeymoon. The staff was very very pleasant and helped us with any questions we had. The room was beautiful. The location was perfect! Best spot to be in Paris. Our only critique is the bed could have been a bit more comfy after 10 days. Would stay there again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    169
    47
    15
    8
See reviews for
58
171
29
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed at the Grand Hotel de l'Univers on June 20 for 5 nights. The location is great. It is very convenient to the Metro and buses. There are also many restaurants to choose from just around the corner.

My lasting impression of this hotel will be the staff. They were all very helpful with directions, maps and recommendations. Richard, in particular, was most helpful to myself. I rolled my ankle while walking and needed a pharmacy for anti inflammatory medication. It was a Sunday and after having walked to a nearby pharmacy that was closed, Richard suggested a doctor could be called to check out my ankle. Richard called the doctor who made a house call at the hotel. I needed to get a couple of prescriptions filled and Richard called a couple of pharmacies to make sure they were open and then printed us directions.
All staff were helpful making sure I had ice reduce the swelling. Thay could not hev been more helpful!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shclegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
361 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My wife and I spent about 2 weeks in this hotel while I was in Paris for business. Sure, the room is small but it has an updated bathroom and is clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet is served in a stone wine cellar and it includes hot and cold items. The location is excellent for tourism. It is within walking distance of the museums and Notre Dame. There are many restaurants nearby and it is close to Metro and RER. To top it all off, the staff is very helpful and friendly.

We were in room 61 which was in the back. We didn't have street noise but we heard the elevator. It was not a major issue and did not detract from our stay. And the room rate is excellent for this area of Paris.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peripatetic_Engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Grand hotel of the universe (!) Our hotel is truly charming. Very tiny room but complete with everything we need, French provincial furnishings, an extremely complicated tap arrangement in the bathroom and a conveniently separate loo. Terrific buffet breakfast in a beautifully furnished 'cave' in the basement with a vaulted ceiling, and granite-topped tables. Everything you could want to eat! Excellent location - a block from St. Germaine.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Very comfortable hotel located in the Saint Germain area of Paris. Friendly welcoming staff, happy to be of assistance when required. Wonderful breakfast available in the beautiful stone basement dining room. Numerous good restaurants in close proximity to the hotel, supermarket and many "eating spots" nearby. Access to the shops for whatever you want is easy - fashion goods, antiques, books, artwork all nearby. Easy walking to the Seine for river transport to the famous tourist attractions

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are quieter. The additional cost of the superior rooms is worth it because of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ralph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrose, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I booked this hotel for 6 nights after reading 3 comments which were the common denominator in most positive reviews - cleanliness, friendliness of staff and ideal location. All 3 were spot on! The room was very small (typical of all Parisian hotel rooms!) but spotlessly clean with typical and quaint French decor, the reception personnel could not have been nicer or more helpful (and I note, in particular, Richard, Erique and Caroline on the day shift and Jacques and Léon on the night shift.) I speak fluent French but was aware of their multilingual skills for nationalities who spoke other languages.

The buffet breakfast at the hotel was all and anything you could want with a pleasant staff in attendance. Fairly expensive but... this is Paris, after all!

The location was ideal, on a narrow, quiet street and full of restaurants, just down from the more active rue de Buci with more restaurants and impromptu music on Friday night. I dined in a different restaurant every night and enjoyed all. The Quattordice had great pizza, Yoom,
across from the hotel had wonderful dim sum (but does not start serving until around 8PM) and all the brasseries serve meals at any time - l'Atlas, Chalet Grégoire, Le Jade and others. Those have 3 levels of fixed price meals which include choice of an entrée, main dish and dessert. No shortage of eating establishments in this area. Neighborhood was friendly and felt safe.

The location of the hotel was ideal and I could walk in any direction and arrive at The Louvre, Notre Dame, The Eiffel Tower, even to the Gare de Bercy to check out a train, in advance, that I was to take to my next destination. However, for those who are not aggressive walkers, there is always the métro station Odéon a few blocks away. Be aware, however, that the métro stations have lots of up and down stairways and long corridors if you are changing métro lines within and can also be strenuous.

I so enjoyed the hotel and the surrounding neighborhood, as well as the chats with the front desk staff, that I will surely return to this hotel on my next trip to Paris.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the elevator as you can hear clicking noises when it is in operation. H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank koalagirl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The hotel is an excellent value. The room was small but made up for it with lovely, quality decor and amenities. The bathroom was average size but the shower was large. Hair conditioner isn't provided. Hotel is located in the middle of a busy area but quiet. Plenty of restaurants nearby. However, avoid the one 1/2 block away on the same street, opposite side. We had better luck at a seafood restaurant between the flower stand and Paul's.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank streetglide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Victoire & Germain
Hotel Victoire & Germain
#390 of 1,797 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Seine
Hotel de Seine
#198 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Deux Continents
Hotel des Deux Continents
#673 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Le Regent
Hotel Le Regent
#744 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain
Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain
#284 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Fleurie
Hotel de Fleurie
#826 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de l'Univers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de l'Univers

Property: Grand Hotel de l'Univers
Address: 6 rue Gregoire de Tours | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel de l'Univers)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#566 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel de l'Univers 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel can boast one of Paris' best addresses. It stands in the centre of Saint Germain des Prés. A short stroll from the Eglise St. Germain des Prés and the famous café "Les Deux Magot's". A place to see and to be seen! Recently restored this delightful hotel of distinction provides a variety of rooms with cosy intimacy. As an old townhouse, Grand hotel de l'Univers still has many of it's original details like the beans in the ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel de l'Univers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing