We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular as always”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
Ranked #24 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Spectacular as always”
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Great location and very helpful staff and an unexpected renovation

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clancz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 23 June 2011
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

We thank you very much for this new review. The Saint James Paris has indeed been renovated in a very unique style, each room being designed as a guest room of an eccentric 19th century family house. The hot air-balloons of the garden, that can be seen on the picture you took, are here to remind of the past of our grounds, which in the 18th century were used as Paris' first airfield. We are glad you noticed our service and atmosphere to be unchanged and look forward to welcoming back often in the future.
Best regards,
Yves Monnin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    981
    129
    33
    10
    4
See reviews for
171
700
37
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2010

The concierge is fantastic, the rooms excellent, the location wonderful. Have stayed there twice and will be there again this Christmas (2010). Once with spouse and adult son and once with spouse. This time will be with spouse. Both Christian and Pascal have been extraordinarily helpful in locating restaurants for us before we arrive and last trip in helping us with museums. It is a very relaxing, wonderful place.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grouse47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesMonnin, General Manager at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 25 January 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for posting a review on the Saint James Paris. We try our best to make our guests feel as relaxed as they would be at home. It will be our pleasure to welcoming you and your family back soon.

Yves Monnin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2010

my teenage daughter and i just returned from a 6 day stay in paris.the Saint James was just lovely.the room was large and charming.the staff--particularly the concierges and specifically Christian--were unbelievably helpful.whether it was explaining how to get to a museum or finding a restaurant or getting concert tickets--they were just great.i would highly recommend this hotel for it's great service,charming rooms and great location.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karyn1241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesMonnin, General Manager at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 25 January 2011
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your extremely kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and our services. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your daughter again soon and are always at your disposal to plan your activities in Paris, either ahead of time or once on site.

Yves Monnin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2010

This hotel is wonderful. The building and courtyard are gorgeous, and the interior makes you feel like you stepped into an old world mansion. The study/bar is unique and welcoming with bookshelves of antique books adding to the ambiance. The grand staircase and elegant lobby were beautiful, and our room had a quirky "haunted mansion" feel to it that was so much fun. We stayed in a standard room, and there were portraits on the walls and chandeleirs above the bed. Speaking to another couple, we learned that each room is decorated a little differently, and I'd imagine they are all equally fantastic.

The hotel was expensive, and I would normally not spend so much on a room, but I can definitively say that it was worth the cost. For the few days that we were in Paris we were treated to wonderful service and uniquely amazing accomodations. The hotel is also in close proximity to decent dining, subway entrances, and depending on how ambitious you are, walking distance to all the major sites. Though I wouldn't necessary recommend it, my husband and I were able to take the subway to Notre Dame and walk all the way back to the hotel. Sites along the way during our walk included the Louvre, Museum d'Orsay, Eiffel Tower, and Arc de Triomphe.

This hotel is a true find, and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizMcLure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 6 December 2010
Dear Madam,

We thank you very much for your extremely kind review that we take as an encouragement to keep working on improving our services as well as the homey feeling we try to provide to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wien, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2010

The Saint James is absolutely amazing. I've been to Paris many, many times but this is the most romantic amazing hotel I'Ve ever seen. It looks like a gorgeous old mansion and has a very beautiful private courtyard and amaying fountain in front. Rates very reasonable for such a fancy hotel. Rooms beautiful red print cloth walls - its just stunning! Also just one minute away from the beautiful Parc Boulogne. It has a lovely lake to walk or run around, many trails, natural beauty in the midst of busy Paris. I really recommend it! Would be perfect for a honeymoon or something.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank christalynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 6 December 2010
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

We thank you very much for your nice comment and look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pryor, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

This hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood, not far from the city center. I booked this small hotel through Small Luxury Hotels of the world, and was kindly given a very nice upgrade to a large room on the top floor. My husband and I celebrated our 20th anniversary, which I let them know when I made the reservation, and they said "Happy Anniversary" upon check-in....The Saint James was undergoing some renovations while we where there, which gave a new modern vibe to the elegant 100 year old Chateau-style hotel. They have new furniture in the entry and dinning room, bold red and black design with a turn of the century style mixed with a edge....Loved the Library Bar which was receiving new carpet the day we arrived but was up and running by the next day. Breakfast was served outside on the restaurant terrace who's only fault was you could not see out of . You are in a tent while eating, they should open up a few walls to view a garden. The entrance to the hotel is grand behind walls, makes you feel like you have a special place to come home to after a long day...and the staff treats you the same way. Very nice, I would stay here again...

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adinaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 6 December 2010
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your kind review of the Saint James Paris and for your understanding during the redecoration process of our library-bar and main restaurant. We hope to welcome you back soon in order for you to fully enjoy our redecorated areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fort lauderdale
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

I, my husband and two other couples stayed here last week and amongst us we had very different opinions on the St. James. We very much liked our room - large suite, great bathroom, floor to ceiling windows, comfortable bed but not much in the way of decor - could definitely use updating. The other two couples hated their rooms - they had rooms with stairs going up to their bedrooms and found the decor to be slightly above a cheap motel. One couple was able to move to another room which they liked better. I honestly didn't think it was that bad but again certainly not beautiful. The lobby and another common area were being renovated and covered in drop cloths, ladders and construction equipment. We were never told about this project in advance
On the positive side - the bar is fantastic - in an old library and just wonderful. Be aware that the minibar prices are about half of those in the bar but, of course, you don't get the extremely nice bartenders (Bruno) and the nice little snacks. The dining rooms were set up outside under tents and had a zen vibe. We only ate breakfast there and it was quite lovely. One other note - this hotel has the fastest room service we have ever experienced.
The best part of our stay was the staff. Christian,the concierge, and the entire desk could not have been more helpful with all aspects of our trip. The hotel is a little jewel - beautiful grounds and I think I would recommend it knowing that there is refurbishment to come.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelforfun2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 6 December 2010
Dear Madam,
Thank you very much for your extensive and honest review of the Saint James Paris. All common areas have now been redecorated as well as many bedrooms. As all rooms are different, we encourage our clients to let us know if they do not like one and wish to change. After a few stays, most clients pick up “their” room, making the Saint James their home away from home. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your friends back and trust you will like the new atmosphere as much as you enjoyed the service during your previous stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
#23 of 1,802 in Paris
699 reviews
Opera / Bourse
La Maison Favart
La Maison Favart
#28 of 1,802 in Paris
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Six
Hotel Le Six
#21 of 1,802 in Paris
1,801 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Keppler
Hotel Keppler
#27 of 1,802 in Paris
1,064 reviews
Le Marais
Le Pavillon de la Reine
Le Pavillon de la Reine
#42 of 1,802 in Paris
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Property: Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
Address: 43 Avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#9 Family Hotel in Paris
#14 Business Hotel in Paris
#15 Spa Hotel in Paris
#22 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the Champs-Elysées, the Saint James Paris is a 100-year old château surrounded by its own private garden, offering a unique experience of grandeur and intimacy, classicism and extravagance. Each of the 49 spacious suites and rooms exudes its own atmosphere. This eccentric family home also offers a mythical library-bar, a restaurant with one Michelin star - Chef Jean-Luc Rocha, a one-of-its-kind terrace in the garden, and a spa in partnership with Guerlain offering treatment rooms, steam-rooms and fitness. A member of Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James Paris Hotel Paris
Saint James Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing