We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to comprehend...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
Ranked #21 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hard to comprehend...”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

When I started to plan my first trip to Europe I was overwhelmed with the amount of information about this to do and places to see. I was planning a marriage proposal to my girl friend, and Paris seemed like the obvious place to plan the surprise. After emailing a couple of hotel restaurants for menus etc. I settled on the Saint James. Christian, the Concierge helped me plan not only a memorable dinner, but a wonderful night time tour of Paris by Limo with Champagne afterwards. Laurence the driver was a great host and his timing impeccable as we arrived to view the Eifel Tower just on 11pm as it lit up and I asked the big question...how could she resist ? ! As a Luxury Hotel owner in New Zealand, I was keen to experience something unusual, but traditional in Europe. I didn't stay as I was travelling with children, but can highly recommend the space, staff and restaurant - just wonderful, Thanks !!

Room Tip: Ask the concierge to arrange a limo tour of Paris at night with Champagne - the perfect end to a won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alan_from_Ohtel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your kind review and for choosing the Saint James Paris. We were glad to be part of this very unique moment and look forward to welcoming you back for a romantic stay in our little chateau.

Sincerely,
Yves Monnin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    982
    129
    33
    10
    4
See reviews for
171
700
37
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

The building is really lovely, the decor a little nuts. We stayed in a room with leopard print wallpaper, leopard print window shutters, a "parquet effect" wall to wall carpet, a bath on a mini-stage with red velvet curtains ... apparently it was the English hunting lodge room or something. Still, the bed was fantastically comfortable, the toiletries Annick Goutal, the bath and shower superb, so a top quality hotel experience in many ways. What really distinguished the hotel though was the Sunday brunch. Even if you don't stay here, it is really worth booking a table for this feast. The decor in the restaurant and library bar, where brunch is served, is more in keeping with the bones of the building and therefore (matter of taste) a more sumptious environment to relax in. And the brunch is amazing - fantastic quality, fantastic variety, beautifully laid out. Well worth the expense.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HotelEnthusiast09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your very kind review. Each of the rooms & suites of our “crazy chic” little chateau tells its own story and you stayed in the “Last Queen of Scots” room. Next time you check-in, we will pleased to give you a tour and let you select the room that matches your tastes best. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon,

Sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

This hotel is truly beautiful. The concierge was so helpful. This was my first time in Paris and he helped us get around and told us all the great things to do that werent the typical Paris things (I.e. Eiffel tower). The garden is just amazing and the rooms are very spacious and well kept. This hotel was recently renovated so everything is new. Although we did have a few minor problems. On our second night the power went out in our room... And only our room. They could not figure out what was wrong so they moved us to another room. We didn't mind moving but at about 2am we had someone walk into the new room that we were staying in. It was quite frightening to wake up to. Especially when whoever walked in left the second they knew someone was in there and then the front desk could not explain why someone had a key and wondered into our room. Luckily the hotel was very nice about it and comped a night because of this. Other than that it was a nice stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PEF24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Dear Madam,

We are glad you enjoyed the Saint James Paris and our services, except for the two problems you experienced one night. As told when I came to meet you the next morning, we are truly sorry you had to move rooms for a minor problem that should have been solved right away. One of our staff then made a mistake when he did not check if your new room was still unoccupied. I agreed with you that this is not acceptable and waived your charges for that night. Be sure that this will not happen again and that we would be pleased to welcoming you back if you chose to stay with us again during your next visit to Paris.

Sincerely,

Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Last week we stayed two nights at the Saint James Paris. Our expectations were quite high since I also work in the travel industry and my friend is an interior designer. But the hotel was really stunning and we were both very very impressed.
From the moment you arrive until the moment you leave everything is top notch.
Upon arrival the voiturier parked the car and helped us bring in the luggage, the check-in goes very smooth and Laetitia the very nice lady at reception showed us around and gave us a bit of information about the building and the room. I was quite intrigued by all the hot air balloons on the wall paper and the balloon shaped lamps. Saint James was apparently the first place where hot air balloons went up in France. It also reflects on three balloon shaped pavillions which are being used as bar area when the weather is nice.
We stayed in one of the suites and the room was very spacious and beautifully decorated. There's a lot of attention to detail and we could not fault anything. The metro-tiled bathroom with bathtub and separate shower were very relaxing after strolling through the streets of Paris.
The hotel has a very convenient location, only at 15 minutes walking from the Champs-Elysées and there's a metro only a few steps from the hotel.
We would like to thank Mr Monnin and his entire staff for the great hospitaliy they showed us. It is very rare to find this level of service.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank becs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Dear Madam,

On behalf of all the team, I would like to thank you for your extremely kind review. It was a great pleasure to welcome you and we are glad you appreciated our new “crazy chic” atmosphere as well as the efforts we put in making our service special and caring. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I stayed at the Saint James or one night on business in November.The way I'd categorize it is nice but not great. The location is good but the decor is what a little tacky...very over the top. I think that's the look their going for. But it's not really my taste. Another reviewer called it a hotel that doesn't take itself too seriously. I think that's probably right.

On the plus side, the bed was comfortable and the location was quiet. The rooms were very spacious. It really depends whether the style is to your liking. For 371 Euros, it wasn't bad, but I can't help feel that I could have had better.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ImTheDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your staying at the Saint James Paris and for your feedback. Our new décor is surely a strong statement. Every one of our many returning guests is unique, as are our spacious rooms & suites. Some of them provide a very soft and calm atmosphere, and we are confident that we could find one that would match your taste. We look forward to welcoming you back for a visit and to making your next stay truly perfect.

Sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

As a couple from Australia and with 3 children we rarely have time to ourselves. So when a short trip to Paris was on the cards for work, I wanted to book the penultimate parisian hotel we could afford to make the most of our once in a life time experience. And Saint James Paris exceeded all our expectations. Our Room 406 was a fantastic folly, the hotel was stunning outside and in, restaurant was extraordinary, location awesome - not at all touristy but still great restuarants/cafes/metro all within walking distance and the staff were extremely helpful especially in reserving restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colleen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesMonnin, General Manager at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your very positive review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We now look forward to having you back with your children to experience another of our 48 "follies" and to discover more landmarks in the direct neighbourhood!

Sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We arrived very early in the morning and, although the room was not ready, we enjoyed a lovely side-breakfast in the wood panelled bar. The hotel is beautiful, having undergone a recent re-development, and the room, a suite on the second floor, was excellent. It's also a beautiful part of Paris and walking out in a morning was a great way to start the day. This will be a regular Paris stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solarbea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesMonnin, General Manager at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your kind review! We look forward to welcoming you back and to become your home when in Paris.

Sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
#27 of 1,802 in Paris
701 reviews
Opera / Bourse
La Maison Favart
La Maison Favart
#28 of 1,802 in Paris
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Six
Hotel Le Six
#22 of 1,802 in Paris
1,803 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Keppler
Hotel Keppler
#24 of 1,802 in Paris
1,065 reviews
Le Marais
Le Pavillon de la Reine
Le Pavillon de la Reine
#50 of 1,802 in Paris
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Property: Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
Address: 43 Avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#9 Family Hotel in Paris
#13 Spa Hotel in Paris
#14 Business Hotel in Paris
#19 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the Champs-Elysées, the Saint James Paris is a 100-year old château surrounded by its own private garden, offering a unique experience of grandeur and intimacy, classicism and extravagance. Each of the 49 spacious suites and rooms exudes its own atmosphere. This eccentric family home also offers a mythical library-bar, a restaurant with one Michelin star - Chef Jean-Luc Rocha, a one-of-its-kind terrace in the garden, and a spa in partnership with Guerlain offering treatment rooms, steam-rooms and fitness. A member of Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James Paris Hotel Paris
Saint James Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing