We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply a brilliant break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
Ranked #22 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“simply a brilliant break”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

A short hop from Zurich to Paris for a special occasion. I have been googeling for a while till I descovered that Relais & Chateau Manor near Place Victor Hugo. What I found was simply a delightful base for an unforgetable break in Paris. We have seen many luxuriouse Hotels all over the globe, but this one was special. A bit of what we enjoyed in the Manor houses in the Bourgogne, a little bit of british style and crazyness (the Zebras decorating the fire place in the lobby), small but delightful. Life style at it’s finest. The staff was not only helpful; they did everything with a smile. They love their job. We felt welcome and well pampered. The Restaurant recommondations by the charming concierges where just perfect hits. The receptions staff was extremly nice, The rooms are cosy, beautiful furnished (we had a boudoir duplex). A bottle of white wine offered by the management to my wifes special birthday remained unopened – we took it with us to enjoy it at home, as a memory of this outstanding house. No reason to look for another accomondation in Paris. Price: not cheap, but worth every penny. However, nobody wants to talk about money after a couple of nights in this hidden juwel. We’ll come back! D., A,, O.,T.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

Thank you for your extremely kind review. We look forward to having you back soon!

Sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,006
    130
    33
    11
    4
See reviews for
176
713
39
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed here one night at the end of our week trip in Paris after I jumped on a jetsetter deal--I'd been eyeing this hotel ever since I saw it featured in a design magazine. It did not disappoint. We were upgraded to a gorgeous suite, and, as it was my birthday, there was a bottle of champagne waiting in the room! We enjoyed drinks in the fabulous garden, dinner in the candlelit dining room, and after-dinner drinks in the library. Had breakfast in the morning at a patisserie/boulangerie a couple blocks away (maybe esalade or something?), which was delicious. The staff were all lovely and helpful, and the neighborhood is un-touristy and very nice. I don't know if I would have stayed here during our whole trip since most of the restos/cafes/clubs we went to were in the 5/6/7eme, but the overall fabulosity of the hotel might make up for the slightly out of the way locale.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebwbikegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for choosing our little château and for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to having you back soon!

Sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

My husband took me here for a surprise birthday weekend away.

The chateaux is stunning, and arriving at night, with it all lit up and the fountains going it really looks super impressive. We were upgraded to a better room and the view looked out over the front of the hotel and the fountains.

The whole place is ostentatious in it's design, mixing modern with classic (personally loved the carpet that looks like parquet flooring)

Service was brilliant, really the best I have come across in a long while. Nothing was too much trouble and everything was explained well.

The in room mini bar was fantastic - proper bottles of scotch & vodka instead of those mini servings you normally get.

We booked through Mr&Mrs Smith so were given complimentary cocktails in a our room which were lovely.

We had a cold meat platter served in the room after we had arrived late at night, was great food and beautifully presented.

We skipped the breakfast as did feel that was pretty expensive.. 28 euros each for coffee, juice and croissants.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for this lovely review! We are at your disposal anytime and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

My husband booked the Hotel Saint James as part of our honeymoon and it was great! It is part of the Relais & Chateaux group so we expected a certain level of service and they supassed themselves. Beautiful decor, attentive staff and great food. The cocktails are fantastic! It is around 10-15 min walk from Avenue des Champs-Élysées so fairly central. Lovely little gym, if you feel the need, and steam rooms in both ladies and gents changing facilities. I can highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure, long or short term stays.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for spending your honeymoon at our little château and for your kind recommendation. We hope to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Whilst we paid premium rates, everything about our stay was of a Premium standard. The location of the Saint James is complimented by a hotel and facilities that represent the best that is French, in terms of design, food, wine and hospitality.

We had a great room and the staff went out of their way to make our stay extremely enjoyable the food and service in the restaurant make you want to return to it again and again.

Paris is our favourite European City and the Saint James Paris is now our favourite and future spot to stay when we are in Paris.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieRobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesMonnin, General Manager at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to post this very kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed our very French little chateau and our entire team looks forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We arrived at the hotel at night, and the sight of the illuminated hotel and fountain took our breath away. It was so romantic! We were upgraded to a suite (thank you, thank you), which was an unexpected treat and very much appreciated. Lovely room, and the sound-proofing made it even more of a peaceful haven. The staff were extremely helpful.
The hotel's location was perfect--right around the corner from a metro station and in a quiet, beautiful part of Paris.
I can only hope we're able to return some day and enjoy this very special hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary1744360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesMonnin, General Manager at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your very kind review. Our entire team looks forward to welcoming you back to our romantic little chateau in Paris!
Sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay at your hotel. The facilities were magnificent, with all the unique and individual touches making all the difference. The room was so charming and elegant that it stands out against the typically generic and often dingy facilities/rooms.

Furthermore, the pleasure we received and the memories we retain were greatly enhanced by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. We need to extend particular gratitude to the concierge team who were invaluable as they listened well to exactly what we were seeking and then went above and beyond to ensure they came up with appropriate recommendations and then ensured we got into those venues.

Needless to say, we would enthusiastically stay with you on future visits to Paris.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesMonnin, General Manager at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

Thank you very much for this kind testimony. Our entire team looks forward to welcoming you back soon to our Parisian Relais & Châteaux property.

Sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Keppler
Hotel Keppler
#31 of 1,800 in Paris
1,079 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
#26 of 1,800 in Paris
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Six
Hotel Le Six
#21 of 1,800 in Paris
1,838 reviews
Le Marais
Le Pavillon de la Reine
Le Pavillon de la Reine
#35 of 1,800 in Paris
785 reviews
Le Bristol Paris
#5 of 1,800 in Paris
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Property: Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
Address: 43 Avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#9 Family Hotel in Paris
#13 Spa Hotel in Paris
#14 Business Hotel in Paris
#20 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the Champs-Elysées, the Saint James Paris is a 100-year old château surrounded by its own private garden, offering a unique experience of grandeur and intimacy, classicism and extravagance. Each of the 49 spacious suites and rooms exudes its own atmosphere. This eccentric family home also offers a mythical library-bar, a restaurant with one Michelin star - Chef Jean-Luc Rocha, a one-of-its-kind terrace in the garden, and a spa in partnership with Guerlain offering treatment rooms, steam-rooms and fitness. A member of Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James Paris Hotel Paris
Saint James Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing