We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Step Back in Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
Ranked #22 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Step Back in Time”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I booked my 50th birthday at the St. James. The ambiance at the St. James was beyond compare. It was both whimsical and elegant with a constant air of excellence. The staff was attentive to the most minute detail and always with a smile. I accidentally booked my stay for 1 instead of 3 and they immediately found me and my guests a suitable suite without any problem and made sure that we were comfortable at all times. The estate is stunning and makes you wish you lived in an earlier time. The only problem I encountered was that it was not very well known and the taxis had a hard time finding it. But I solved that problem with a business card from the hotel and then it was a simple. I recommend this spacious, beautiful property to anyone. Not for children though.

Room Tip: I stayed in a suite. It was HUGE with a HUGE bathroom and plenty of closet space. It was decorated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryJudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear MaryJudith,

Thank you so much for celebrating your birthday with us and for posting this extremely kind review ! It was our pleasure to welcome you and your guests to our Relais & Châteaux property and we are very happy that you felt comfortable throughout your stay.
After being run as a hotel for over 20 years, it is a bit discouraging to read that some taxi drivers still do not know us. An advice to guests in that case would be to refer to us as the Saint James’ Club that is still hosted at the property and to mention the 16th arrondissement.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to your preferred suite in a near future,

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    126
    32
    9
    4
See reviews for
169
669
35
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the St. James in Paris for 4 days in early August, in one of their boutique rooms. The property was excellent and I would highly recommend staying there. The only draw back is that is is a little bit outside of the center of the city. It took us about 30 minutes to get to the Louvre, Notre Dame, etc., but given the spectacular room, superb service and how nice the neighborhood was (it is a very nice residential neighborhood), we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Mr D.,

Thank you to you and your girlfriend for choosing to stay with us and for posting this very enthusiastic review on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to read that you would recommend staying at our Parisian home, hidden in its private garden.
There are different “centers” in Paris and each area has its own feel and attractions. We are barely at a 15 minutes walk from the Champs Elysées and Arc de Triomphe, and at walking distance from many museums, from the Museum of Modern Art to the Marmottan-Monet museum. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again; please make sure to ask our fantastic concierges Clefs d’Or for the best spots in the direct neighborhood!

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We spend only 2 days and nights in this magic place. I can highly recommend this palace.
The delightful experience starts from the beginning and his confirmed at each stage and contact you have with all and each person from the staff. Situated within walking distance from the important places and in a quiet area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlesBeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Mr Beard,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for this praising review that delighted our team. It was a pleasure for us to welcome you and we all look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully for a longer period.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My daughter and I recently had the unique pleasure of spending 5 days and nights at the Saint James Paris.

Our experience from beginning to end, was completely delightful! From the staff who greeting us warmly each day, those at the reception area, and the concierge - we simply could not have been happier.

I have worked hard in my profession and as a result have been fortunate to stay at many fine hotels in the world. The Hotel Saint James in Paris has now moved to the very top of the list! My list of positive adjectives has simply run out! This is a wonderfully unique hotel - inside and out - beautiful grounds - welcoming old world but updated interior design - immaculate landscape - and a staff that is simply superb.

Please accept our heart-felt gratitude for the opportunity to spend the week at your hotel. Although there are many other hotels to choose from in Paris, I will be returning next time with my wife who raved about the pictures we brought back from this incredibly unique property. We felt so much at home there. Treat yourself to this renovated palace and you will likely remember it for a lifetime.

Room Tip: I would recommend just about any room but the south side provides a wonderful view in this beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drgarybrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Dr Brown,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to express OUR gratitude to you and your daughter for choosing to stay with us for 5 nights, but also for taking the time to post this incredibly kind review. We are delighted that you felt at home in the decor of our unique Parisian hideaway and that you appreciated the caring and personalized service we do our best to provide, to the point of putting us on top of your preferred list of luxury properties!

We all look forward to welcoming Mrs Brown with you and your daughter when your travels bring you back to Paris.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I can highly recommend the St James Hotel Paris. I have now stayed at the hotel six times in twelve months. It is a small boutique hotel situated in a very quiet area off the Avenue Victor Hugo. It is within walking distance of the major attractions of Paris.
Superb staff run the hotel and are willing to help any traveller in any way possible. Parking is very good, on-site. The restaurant and bar are outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Mr W.,

I thank you very much for choosing the Saint James Paris as your Paris home and for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. It is of great value for us to receive the feedbacks from returning guests like you. Be sure it will be our pleasure to welcome you back often in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We had a wonderful 9 day stay here. The staff at the desk and concierges were very friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and clean. Easy access to the metro and a nice quiet neighborhood location make the St. James a real gem. Very interesting decor.

Room Tip: Choose a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Mr L.,

Thank you so much for choosing the Saint James Paris for this long stay! We are all happy to read that you enjoyed the size and décor of our rooms and the service of our teams. It will be our pleasure to welcoming you back, hopefully soon.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Our first experience of France spent in this hotel. Great convenient location, directly opposite the metro stop. Room size was very good and spacious considering the talk about rooms in France were very small and pokey. The wifi in room also very handy. Can not really fault the room really and was wonderful to have a window that opened out to take in the outside atmosphere.

The overall impression of the hotel was that it was very classy however, becoming quite tired. It seemed to be undergoing some sort of renovation but a lot of the common area such as walk ways and lift foyers were in complete and still operating as though it was normal business without explanation.

Downside was that we reported that our safe did not work at least 5 times. We were given advice how to fix it but it did not fix the issue. We constantly reinforced that we had tried this and they would send someone to fix it. After 4 nights it remained broken and continued to remain broken at time of check out.

Except for this service fault the stay was enjoyable. its location was brilliant for an evening stroll around the opening to the Louvre or to the river but please be warned that all of the restaurants in this area are very pricey for what you get. We found much better priced restaurants on the other side of the river or in Notre Dames neighbourhood.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Mr B.,

Thank you very much for choosing us for your first time in France! We are glad to read that you enjoyed the size of our rooms, which are especially large for Paris, and the warmth of our team. I would like to apologize for the unforeseeable maintenance works that needed to be done during your stay but am happy that they did not alter your global impression about our home. Regarding your safe, we are sorry for the trouble caused and we will inquire to see what happened exactly.
The 16th district is certainly one of the most exclusive in Paris so many restaurants are of high standards and priced accordingly, but there are also some very affordable options that our concierges are always happy to recommend.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a truly perfect stay in a spotless property.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Six
Hotel Le Six
#19 of 1,798 in Paris
1,760 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
#23 of 1,798 in Paris
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
La Maison Favart
La Maison Favart
#30 of 1,798 in Paris
1,378 reviews
Trocadero
Shangri-La Hotel Paris
Shangri-La Hotel Paris
#45 of 1,798 in Paris
1,143 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Property: Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
Address: 43 Avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#9 Family Hotel in Paris
#13 Spa Hotel in Paris
#14 Business Hotel in Paris
#18 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the Champs-Elysées, the Saint James Paris is a 100-year old château surrounded by its own private garden, offering a unique experience of grandeur and intimacy, classicism and extravagance. Each of the 49 spacious suites and rooms exudes its own atmosphere. This eccentric family home also offers a mythical library-bar, a restaurant with one Michelin star - Chef Jean-Luc Rocha, a one-of-its-kind terrace in the garden, and a spa in partnership with Guerlain offering treatment rooms, steam-rooms and fitness. A member of Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James Paris Hotel Paris
Saint James Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing