We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IMPOSSIBLE TO IMPROVE UPON”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
Ranked #24 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“IMPOSSIBLE TO IMPROVE UPON”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary. The hotel and its staff are all that one could hope or ask for, making what was intended to be a memorable few days unforgettable. It is not often one can say 'impossible to improve upon' but St. James is there. The staff are unfailingly helpful and attentive and thoroughly professional. They obviously take pride in the hotel and for very good reason. The hotel is exquisite and the location perfect being, in the chic 16eme, agreeably away from the main tourist hotels.

In a nutshell St James exceeds (high) expectations. Undoubtedly we'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Mr M.,

It is such a pleasure to read that we could participate in making your wedding anniversary unforgettable! Thank you very much for choosing us and for posting this extremely kind review that thrilled us all.
We all do our best to offer a personal experience to each of our guests and it will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back often in the future, with the hope you might consider us as your home when in Paris.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    992
    130
    33
    11
    4
See reviews for
172
707
38
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We've just come home from staying at this lovely lovely hotel. We booked it as a romantic spring break for two. The building itself is extremely beautiful - apparently the last chateau hotel still in Pairs. The interior is funky and glamorous, but retains a real sense of integrity to the past. We were upgraded to a junior suite, they apparently do try to upgrade where and if they can. It's the first hotel I've ever stayed in where they try to do so on a routine basis. What a wonderful policy - wish more hotels did so. The room we had chosen looked lovely on the internet, but wow, the room we were upgraded to was simply amazing. We could have lived in it. The staff at the hotel could not have been nicer or more helpful. We bought a piece of furniture from the Marche aux puces, and the concierge staff packed it so carefully & kindly for us to carry it home. They also gave us some wonderful recommendations for trips and restaurants. If you are looking for a beautiful hotel in Paris, go for this one....you will not regret.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Mrs F.,

Thank you very much for choosing us for your romantic spring-break and for taking the time to write such a praising review! I am very happy that you enjoyed the junior suite we upgraded you to. We try to please our guests with an unexpected upgrade whenever we can, but it is not always possible.
Should you consider moving in (!), this would also be an option : we do have live-in guests who choose us for the homey feeling we convey and for the kindness of our teams.
Alternatively, it will be a great pleasure to welcome you back for another short break, à deux or with friends!

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

What can I say about the Saint James? Fabulous hotel with an impeccable level of service. My wife and I stayed here last week for two nights as a special treat as it was our honeymoon. We were very impressed by the grand setting being apparently the only remaining chateau-hotel in the city. The hotel lies in the upmarket 17th arrondissemont and is only a short walk from the metro along Av. Bugeaud or Av. Victor Hugo.

The grounds and approach to the hotel are grand with an attractive archway and fountain. You really feel that you are about to enter something with a little extra. The doormen and reception staff were attentive, polite and helpful at all times. Our room was ready despite an early check in and after a courteous welcome, we were shown to our suite which we had been upgraded to. A complimentary bottle of good quality champagne awaited us to celebrate our marriage only two days earlier. A very nice touch.

We have stayed in impressive hotels before, but the interior decor of the Saint James really impressed us. Bambi Sloan has done an amazing job of restyling the hotel in a grand and traditional but very unique style. Our suite was easily the best room we have stayed in, particularly the level of detail, comfort and the conservatory style entrance. Sitting there sipping champagne with the light flooding in , surrounded by plants and comfortable faux antique furniture made it feel like our little Parisian sanctuary.

The room (508) was so comfortable with a king sized bed and extremely quiet. It felt like there was nobody in the other rooms, it was that quiet at night. Apparently the Dali Lama himself stayed in several rooms on the same floor. I'm sure the tranquility of the Saint James would have pleased his holiness too.

On our first night, we decided to enjoy the comfort of the hotel and dined in the restaurant. Although (reassuringly) expensive, the meal and wine were delicious and prepared to a very high standard. The service again was faultless and the chef was even presented to us for a brief conversation (translated) by the Maitre d'. Worth every cent and we would definitely recommend for a special treat.

The breakfast was included in our stay and we chose to eat in our room, such was the space and comfort. The coffee, eggs benedict and fresh bread were delicious. We could have stayed in the room for the whole two days (and several days more) if we hadn't one or two sights to see around Paris.

We felt very privileged to spend three days and two nights at the Saint James and why not? It was our honeymoon in Paris! We'd love to stay again. Perhaps one day for another special occasion?

Room Tip: If you can push the boat out, get a suite. Well worth it and extremely comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKsnowboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear guests,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to thank you for choosing us for this very special occasion and for taking the time to post such an extensive and praising review!
The Saint James Paris, in the upper part of the 16th district, indeed offers a very unique setting and atmosphere in Paris. Each of our rooms and suites is very quiet and peaceful, especially the ones on the top floor with their conservatories under the glass roof.
We are delighted to read that your choice proved right and that you enjoyed every aspect of your experience, including your dinner at our Michelin-starred restaurant with Chef Virginie Basselot.
It will be a real pleasure for us to welcome you back for the many anniversaries to come!

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

My partner took me here as a surprise for my birthday and I was blown away. The hotel is stunning from the frontage to the lobby to the room everything is beautiful. No complaints at all the room was quiet nothing wrong and champagne waiting! We didn't have the breakfast we just had a bread basket but this too was lovely.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emlondon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Emlondon_10,

Thank you for spending your birthday with us! It is a pleasure for us to read that you liked the dramatic yet warm décor of our little chateau and of its rooms & suites (each of them is different).
Next time, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you longer for you to discover our signature cocktails in the library-bar, the large buffet at breakfast, the gourmet cuisine of our chef, and treat yourself with the exclusive Guerlain treatments at the spa!

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Jamaica
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I stayed hear during French Open. Rooms were very spacious unlike most European Rooms. Service was excellent. Food at hotel was also very good. Also a very good place for families and Pet friendly. The bed was comfortable. Also was very close to the metro as well station to take you to Versaille was walking distance from hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Khiajosina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for posting this very kind review. We are all happy to read that you enjoyed our especially large rooms as well as the Michelin-starred cuisine of Virginie Basselot and the service of our teams. The Saint James Paris is altogether a romantic hideaway, an enchanted chateau for families and their furry friends, as well as a home for travelers on business trips.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in a near future.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luanda, Angola
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

For sure the best Hotel I have stay ever. To resume it was PERFECT. Everything was just amazing from the reception to the laundry service. I have no bad comments for this Hotel, every time I will fly to Paris, I will not think twice, and if they will be fully booked, I will not fly to Paris.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adilson N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Mr N.,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for posting this extremely kind review. We do our very best to accommodate each request and to offer a truly personalized experience to each of our guests in the unique setting of our little chateau.
It is a great pleasure for all of us to read that you have already chosen to make us your home when in Paris, and would like to ensure you that it is with equal pleasure that we will welcome you back for each of your hopefully numerous visits.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Had a great stay in Paris, partly thanks to Saint James. Fantastic hotel, we had a great room with really nice street views. Very comfortable beds and nice deco. Comparing to other hotels we stayed previously in Paris it is a gem. Great breakfast with a wide choice. Really recommend it,.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Mr B.,

Thank you for choosing us and for posting this very kind review! We are all happy that we could contribute to making your trip to Paris memorable and that the décor of your room and the choice at our breakfast buffet were to your liking.
We thank you very much for recommending us to fellow travelers and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
#28 of 1,801 in Paris
726 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Keppler
Hotel Keppler
#29 of 1,801 in Paris
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Six
Hotel Le Six
#20 of 1,801 in Paris
1,824 reviews
Le Marais
Le Pavillon de la Reine
Le Pavillon de la Reine
#39 of 1,801 in Paris
780 reviews
Opera / Bourse
La Maison Favart
La Maison Favart
#26 of 1,801 in Paris
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Property: Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
Address: 43 Avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#9 Family Hotel in Paris
#14 Business Hotel in Paris
#14 Spa Hotel in Paris
#22 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the Champs-Elysées, the Saint James Paris is a 100-year old château surrounded by its own private garden, offering a unique experience of grandeur and intimacy, classicism and extravagance. Each of the 49 spacious suites and rooms exudes its own atmosphere. This eccentric family home also offers a mythical library-bar, a restaurant with one Michelin star - Chef Jean-Luc Rocha, a one-of-its-kind terrace in the garden, and a spa in partnership with Guerlain offering treatment rooms, steam-rooms and fitness. A member of Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James Paris Hotel Paris
Saint James Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing