We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
Ranked #17 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

And to think that my husband had originally wanted to stay at the George V when we visited Paris, we are so glad that we changed our plans!

St James did not fail to meet our expectations, and in fact exceeded them when we were informed of our up-grade to a Junior Suite, what a delightful surprise.

The staff at St James were, without exception welcoming, helpful, quietly efficient and friendly - from reception to housekeeping and all in between!

Our room was incredibly peaceful, which to be honest we didnt expect in the middle of Paris. The bed and bedding were of a very high standard (pillows amazing), and the decor although sumptuous was calming and restful. I can honestly say that I havent had such a good nights sleep in an hotel.

We ate in the restaurant twice during our stay. Both times, the meal was amazing; food, wine, cocktails and service all excellent. A bit pricey, but overall worth it. Dont expect fast service, the whole point of this hotel is to relax and enjoy the atmosphere.

I had read another review on Trip Advisor that mentioned that the hotel was a bit far out from the centre of Paris, which is partly true. However, if you enjoy walking and the weather is good, then the centre is only a reasonable walk away, and if you dont fancy walking there are metro and RER stations only a couple of minutes up the road.

So, having tried very hard to think of any negative issues that we could report, well I really cant think of any. Suffice to say we didnt want to leave and cant wait to go back. St James isn't just our favourite hotel in Paris, but possibly Europe.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy_Dale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for changing your plans and for choosing to experience our small Relais & Châteaux property! It is a real pleasure for all of us to read that we managed to exceed your expectations. We want each of our guests to feel at home in our crazy-chic little chateau, so providing an efficient but friendly and personal service, and making sure our guests enjoy peaceful nights, are our priorities. I am happy that the awarded cuisine of Virginie Basselot and the selection of our sommelier Micaël Morais were to your liking!
During your next visit, please also try the exclusive Guerlain treatments of our spa. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon and will keep working to make sure there will never be any negative issue for you to report!

Yours sincerely,
Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

614 - 620 of 1,238 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

Amazing Hotel Location
Staff are a CREDIT to ST James They were So Very polite,Discreet, Respectful,Upmost attentiveness & friendliness
The Food the fusion of flavours & textures,Thank You for Upgrade

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Dawn68-11,

Thank you very much for choosing us and for posting this very kind and efficient review! It was a pleasure for us to welcome you, please visit again soon!

Yours sincerely,
Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed here for 5 days in april 2014. Overall I enjoyed the experience very much so. I only have a few complaints, that certainly are shadowed by the sheer beauty of this magnificent hotel. My first major complaint is the food at the restaurant. The last night My girlfriend and I decided to try this place out, the food was really not very good. I had to eat my main course alone, because the waiter didn't have enough confidence to bring out my girlfriends chicken, because it was overcooked he said. The wait was not worth it because her chicken was dry and very salty, as was my lamb. We paid the cheque and promptly went back to our room. Other then the food being legitimately awful on this particular night, the hotel was gorgeous, the staff relatively friendly and helpful, the spa was great, the food very expensive but worth it( the burger was delicious) I definitely recommend this place, and when I'm in Paris again I would stay here again I loved it.

Room Tip: buy water from a nearby store, the water was 9 euro's and a rip off
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leonard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Mr M.

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at our little chateau in Paris. I am happy to read that the décor of our house, the service of the teams and our spa in partnership with Guerlain were to your liking. I am truly sorry about your bad experience at the restaurant, and also genuinely surprised: the cuisine of our Chef Virginie Basselot is widely acclaimed and was awarded a Michelin star, so please be assured that there will be no further disappointment. Thankfully your other culinary experiences were satisfying.
We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back regularly in the future and to become your crazy-chic home in Paris.

Yours sincerely,
Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

What can I say - an exceptionally lovely property, tastefully elegant and chic. We were upgraded to a deluxe suite as well which sealed the deal, as it were. Breakfasts were lovely. Reception staff were welcoming and Pascal, the concierge was helpful and charming.

I would definitely stay at the St. James again and am eager to try other hotel members of the Relais et Chateaux portfolio.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoctorY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear DoctorY,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for posting this very kind review! We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Saint James Paris soon and are confident you will have a wonderful time experiencing Relais & Châteaux properties throughout the world.

Yours sincerely,
Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed here for a few nights on a mini honeymoon. got a lovely upgrade and champagne, breakfast in the room every morning, they even decorated the room with flower petals, not exactly my cup of tea, but the wife loved it. Concierge was very helpful, from tips for using the metro to booking at 2 very hard to book restaurants.
Decor was very parisian, red, black and leopard print in our room, not to my taste but nicely done.
The hotel is set in its own grounds and is very peaceful at night.
A very good hotel at a very reasonable price, we looked at the bristol and a few others first and were amazed at the quality from the saint james. thanks you very much.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Mr H.,

Thank you very much for choosing to spend your mini-honeymoon with us and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our property as well as the services of our Concierges Clefs d’Or. Each of our rooms and suites is different and I am sure we could have found one matching your personal taste better, please do not hesitate to ask next time you visit!

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back often to our little chateau in Paris.
Yours sincerely,
Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

What a surprise! An extraordinarily grand and elegant hotel slightly out of the way but well worth the detour. Striking decor throughout, delicious food and very attentive staff. What more could one want? We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luxuryloafers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Luxuryloafers,

Thank you very much for finding us! We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your experience at our little chateau, hidden in its gardens, minutes from the Trocadero, Victor Hugo avenue and Champs Elysées. As you kindly mentioned, we do our best to offer a truly caring and personalized service, and our Chef Virginie Basselot just received her first Michelin star.

We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!
Yours sincerely,
Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Bambi Sloan did a great job redecorating this charming hotel. Staff, especially at reception was very friendly and helpful. We have felt like home, especially with Pilou the black cat who gave the hotel its personal touch.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Uhuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Uhuj,

Thank you very much for your very kind review! It is a pleasure for all of us to read that you enjoyed the crazy-chic décor imagined by Bambi Sloan for our home, as well as our services. Pilou and our entire team look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
#24 of 1,804 in Paris
804 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Maison Souquet
Maison Souquet
#1 of 1,804 in Paris
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
La Clef Louvre
La Clef Louvre
#18 of 1,804 in Paris
665 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Le Narcisse Blanc Hotel & Spa
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#20 of 1,804 in Paris
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Address: 43 Avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#9 Family Hotel in Paris
#9 Spa Hotel in Paris
#14 Business Hotel in Paris
#14 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £302 - £690 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the Champs-Elysées, the Saint James Paris is a 100-year old château surrounded by its own private garden, offering a unique experience of grandeur and intimacy, classicism and extravagance. Each of the 49 spacious suites and rooms exudes its own atmosphere. This eccentric family home also offers a mythical library-bar, a restaurant with one Michelin star - Chef Jean-Luc Rocha, a one-of-its-kind terrace in the garden, and a spa in partnership with Guerlain offering treatment rooms, steam-rooms and fitness. A member of Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James Paris Hotel Paris
Saint James Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing