We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique and quiet option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
Ranked #25 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A unique and quiet option”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We decided to stay in this hotel in the 16th arr after reading the Tripadvisor reviews and asking friends. We really were torn between staying in the popular areas and this quiet district. No regrets at all after 5 days at St. James. The hotel facade is so pretty and the interiors are quite unique. We were placed in a long/somewhat narrow room, which was like a spacious suite, with lovely interiors once you got used to that turquoise shade of the curtains and some walls. (Not everyone is upgraded, after all!) We found out during our stay that the hotel is within walking distance (1.5 km?) to the Arc de Triomphe along Victor Hugo road with its posh boutiques, and within a 5-minute walk to two churches, several boulangeries (the one at the corner of the roundabout and Rue Boissiere is great), groceries, fruit stands, and Metro stops. We even found the bus that goes quickly to the Eiffel Tower and a stop of the RER C, which you take to get to Versailles. We felt like we were residents of this neighborhood. The best part about Saint James is that the concierge's desk is right at the entrance, so you can ask them anything and they are always available to help. We relied on the night concierge named Mr. Maxime Hardel for many inquiries, and the other concierge recommended our best dinner (of many excellent meals in Paris) at a nearby 1-Michelin star restaurant called Les Tablettes of Jean Louis Nomicos. There are a few issues that can still be improved in the bathroom, but not enough to diminish their rating.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MominTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for choosing us after trusting the advice of your friends and the reviews of TripAdvisor users. It is a great pleasure for all of us to read that you enjoyed your Saint James experience.
We aim at making each guest feel at home and I am happy that you felt like a resident of the very Parisian 16th arrondissement. Our concierges Clefs d’Or are very curious and knowledgeable, and always keen to recommend exceptional spots that are not touristy. Like in a home, each of our rooms and suites offers its own décor and we are always happy to show guests round when availability allows, in order to find the setting that suits them best.
The “turquoise” blue you refer to has been invented by decorator and art collector Madeleine Castaing, and the room you occupied is a tribute to her by Bambi Sloan.
We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in a near future, to try our Michelin-star restaurant with Chef Virginie Basselot as well as the spa with its exclusive Guerlain treatments.
We will make sure to find the perfect room for you!

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    992
    130
    33
    11
    4
See reviews for
172
707
38
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We were made to feel very welcome, and at home during our stay in Paris. The room service was fantastic, and as was the breakfast. We were given maps and help whenever needed. They accommodated our daughter, and even upgraded us to a suite, so we could have more room for her cot. Thank you for your hospitality. We will not hesitate to stay again on our next trip to France.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Mrs S.,

Thank you so much to you and your family for choosing us and for taking the time to post this praising review! We are all delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My favorite hotel in Paris - by a long way

Very quiet old chateau inside the peripherique (and quite close to the highway for easy access). When you walk through the front gate you feel as though you are home.

Some rooms are 2 stories and some 1. If you have a preference you should indicate that when you make the reservation. I prefer 300 and 400 series rooms facing the front.

Library Bar is my favorite anywhere - atmosphere is perfect for a drink before dinner, after dinner or - ideally - both.

Concierge service is also excellent - friendly and very knowledgeable.

Hotel staff are excellent - friendly for sure and always seem happy. That is rare in a hotel - but then the Saint James is more like a home than a hotel.

There is a meeting room for small business meetings. It is downstairs and very quiet.

About 5 minutes walk to Metro (Port Dauphine or Victor Hugo)

If you can live without hustle and hassle then Saint James is heaven.

Room Tip: 300 or 400 series rooms facing the front are my preference 2-story rooms are good for couples tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Argyle41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Argyle41,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this very kind review. It is a pleasure for all of us to read that you consider the Saint James Paris your home in the city, as this is precisely what we are aiming at. Thank you also on behalf of our teams for mentioning them, it is true that everyone does their best to offer a caring and personalized service in a friendly and peaceful atmosphere. Combined to the one-of-its-kind chateau setting we have the pleasure of working in, it is the promise of a unique experience for each of our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back regularly and will always serve you with the same attention.
Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The hotel Saint James is a luxury hotel in a nice small garden. It is comfortably located close to the RER station Avenue Foch and the metro station Porte Dauphine. I got an upgrade - junior suite which was spacious, nicely decorated and properly equipped - caffee maker, safe and other amenities which you would expect in a hotel of this class. The bed was very comfortable. Since the suite was under the roof, there were only roof windows. Therefore my room was a little dark. The hotel service was good, check in and check out were fast and efficient. The breakfast was included in my room price and it had a form of buffet where everyone was able to find something to be pleased. Of course, the relation between price and value is not very good but it is a usual situation in hotels in big European cities.

Room Tip: Roof junior suite is a good choice as it is comfortable and quiet if you do not mind that there is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Mr B.,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to post this kind review. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the services of our team as well as our facilities.
The Saint James Paris is the only chateau-hotel of the city, set in its private garden, and our rooms and suites are much larger than the Paris average (a Superior room is 375 square feet), making it a much better value than many other properties.
Each room is different and we will be pleased to assign you a room on another floor for your next visit, hopefully soon!

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We jut spent a few days at the Saint James. Wonderful service. The concierge was extremely helpful with everything. They kindly upgraded us and gifted a nice bottle of wine on our arrival as we were celebrating an anniversary. Room service was excellent.
Decor very eclectic. I felt a bit like Alice in Wonderland but that didn't detract from the stay at all.
It is a little off the beaten track but hotel organised taxis and there was a metro stop close by.
All in all a very good experience

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Mrs W.,

Thank you very much for choosing our crazy-chic little château for your birthday and for posting this kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us as well as the services of our teams. The upper part of the 16th district is one of the most exclusive areas of the city, and we are just off the boutiques and restaurants of Victor Hugo avenue, at a 10-minute walk from the Arc de Triomphe and 15-minute walk from the Trocadero.

We all hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in a near future!

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

And to think that my husband had originally wanted to stay at the George V when we visited Paris, we are so glad that we changed our plans!

St James did not fail to meet our expectations, and in fact exceeded them when we were informed of our up-grade to a Junior Suite, what a delightful surprise.

The staff at St James were, without exception welcoming, helpful, quietly efficient and friendly - from reception to housekeeping and all in between!

Our room was incredibly peaceful, which to be honest we didnt expect in the middle of Paris. The bed and bedding were of a very high standard (pillows amazing), and the decor although sumptuous was calming and restful. I can honestly say that I havent had such a good nights sleep in an hotel.

We ate in the restaurant twice during our stay. Both times, the meal was amazing; food, wine, cocktails and service all excellent. A bit pricey, but overall worth it. Dont expect fast service, the whole point of this hotel is to relax and enjoy the atmosphere.

I had read another review on Trip Advisor that mentioned that the hotel was a bit far out from the centre of Paris, which is partly true. However, if you enjoy walking and the weather is good, then the centre is only a reasonable walk away, and if you dont fancy walking there are metro and RER stations only a couple of minutes up the road.

So, having tried very hard to think of any negative issues that we could report, well I really cant think of any. Suffice to say we didnt want to leave and cant wait to go back. St James isn't just our favourite hotel in Paris, but possibly Europe.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy_Dale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for changing your plans and for choosing to experience our small Relais & Châteaux property! It is a real pleasure for all of us to read that we managed to exceed your expectations. We want each of our guests to feel at home in our crazy-chic little chateau, so providing an efficient but friendly and personal service, and making sure our guests enjoy peaceful nights, are our priorities. I am happy that the awarded cuisine of Virginie Basselot and the selection of our sommelier Micaël Morais were to your liking!
During your next visit, please also try the exclusive Guerlain treatments of our spa. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon and will keep working to make sure there will never be any negative issue for you to report!

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Amazing Hotel Location
Staff are a CREDIT to ST James They were So Very polite,Discreet, Respectful,Upmost attentiveness & friendliness
The Food the fusion of flavours & textures,Thank You for Upgrade

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Dawn68-11,

Thank you very much for choosing us and for posting this very kind and efficient review! It was a pleasure for us to welcome you, please visit again soon!

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
#28 of 1,801 in Paris
726 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Keppler
Hotel Keppler
#29 of 1,801 in Paris
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Six
Hotel Le Six
#20 of 1,801 in Paris
1,824 reviews
Le Marais
Le Pavillon de la Reine
Le Pavillon de la Reine
#35 of 1,801 in Paris
780 reviews
Opera / Bourse
La Maison Favart
La Maison Favart
#27 of 1,801 in Paris
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Property: Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
Address: 43 Avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#9 Family Hotel in Paris
#14 Business Hotel in Paris
#15 Spa Hotel in Paris
#23 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the Champs-Elysées, the Saint James Paris is a 100-year old château surrounded by its own private garden, offering a unique experience of grandeur and intimacy, classicism and extravagance. Each of the 49 spacious suites and rooms exudes its own atmosphere. This eccentric family home also offers a mythical library-bar, a restaurant with one Michelin star - Chef Jean-Luc Rocha, a one-of-its-kind terrace in the garden, and a spa in partnership with Guerlain offering treatment rooms, steam-rooms and fitness. A member of Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James Paris Hotel Paris
Saint James Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing