We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
Ranked #18 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

In our 1st visit to Paris, we stayed at Saint James. It may be one of the factors why we love Paris this much and really want to go back. It was a 3 day visit and Saint James was absolutely brillant. The building is amazing and the idea of staying at Chateau in the middle of the city is fantastic. Even the standard rooms are very big and service is perfect. The reception is very helfull. It is an astonishing experince. It is especially quite fit for anniversaries, special occusions where you want everything to be perfect!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pinar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Ms B.,

Thank you so much for choosing the city’s only chateau-hotel for your first time in the capital! We are all delighted that you enjoyed the very personal French experience we provide in the upscale 16th district and that you liked our rooms and the service of our teams.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to try the Michelin-starred cuisine of Chef Virginie Basselot and the exclusive treatments of our Guerlain spa!

Yours sincerely,
Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

576 - 582 of 1,207 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

The St. James-Paris is an exquisite treasure...unlike any 'hotel' - no matter how high end. This is a stand-alone property, a unique chateau on the western side of Paris, with spectacularly decorated individual rooms, beautiful grounds and fountain in the courtyard, and gorgeous decorating throughout. Each room has a personality, and despite the luxury of the overall Chateau, there is whimsy throughout as in the lights that are hot-air balloons, and the two black-and-white zebra heads above the fireplace. The staff is warm & welcoming, the ambiance is calm and peaceful. It is such a treat. Location is great for walking 6 blocks to the metro at Place Victor Hugo, 8 blocks to the Arc de Triomphe and Champs Elysees, even about 12 blocks to see the Eiffel Tower lit up at night. Lovely neighborhood full of small shops, cafes, patisseries for that morning café au lait and croissant. The St. James is a splurge and worth it for a few special nights in a magical city.

Room Tip: When you book, glance at the pictures of rooms that are in your category. Some are vivid colors of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SallyGreenwichCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for choosing us and for taking the time to post this amazing review! It is a real pleasure for all of us to read that you liked the atmosphere, décor and setting of our little chateau as well as the caring service of our teams.
Conveniently located close to major sites, restaurants and boutiques but hidden in its private garden, the Saint James Paris offers a peaceful environment with especially spacious rooms, each of them with its own décor. In summer, it is a one of its kind experience to unwind in the garden with the outdoor bar and Michelin-star cuisine of our chef, Virginie Basselot.
We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Yours sincerely,
Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

If you see the hotel, you can't believe that it is just 10 minutes walk from the champ élysées. It's the best hotel I ever stayed in Paris, very beautiful, clean and the rooms are soundproof. I was there with my mother and they helped her to walk, in the morning she went for a massage and she came back very happy for the good manners and professionalism of the staff. Room service excellent....Next visit in Paris for sure I go back in this hotel.

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank Francesco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Mr M.,

Thank you so much to you and your mother for choosing to stay with us and for posting this extremely kind review. It is a real pleasure for all of us to read that your best Parisian experience was at the Saint James Paris!
We all look forward to serving you again with the same dedication, with the hope to become your home when in Paris.

Yours sincerely,
Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Our stay at the Saint James was the last 2 nights of our 6 week trip from Paris to Spain and Portugal and back to Paris. The Saint James was an excellent place to unwind and prepare for the long voyage back to the U.S. The Hotel is located in a quiet section of Paris, but only a 20 minute walk to the Eiffel Tower and the river. Our last night was also my birthday and the staff went out of their way to wish me well. The General Manager Yves Monnin was very professional and accommodating when he addressed an minor issue of concern to us. Many hotels promise you a memorable stay, but the Saint James fully delivered on that promise. Well worth a visit if only for a few days. Thanks Saint James.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sharon-Stephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you so much for choosing our little chateau for the last nights of this long journey through Europe and for your extremely kind words. We aim at making each of our guests feel at home in this unique property I have the pleasure to run, so receiving such raving reviews is the best incentive for each member of our team.
We all look forward to serving you again soon!

Yours sincerely,
Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I stayed in a suite for our 10th wedding anniversary. We were looking for something special and were not disappointed. We were welcomed with a bottle of champagne in our room which was a lovely introduction.

The hotel itself is magnificent, from the reception to the room interiors. Staff were attentive and helpful without being overly formal, it has a lovely relaxed feel. Sleep quality was impeccable, a deliciously comfortable bed and almost completely soundproof, we slept till 10am for the first time in years! Noon checkout was a real selling point.

We enjoying the chef’s tasting menu and wine pairings, served al fresco in the delightful garden. The 16th and surrounding area was also great to explore, lots of boutiques and trad architecture. We lunched a traditional bistro nearby called Stella which was recommended by the hotel and did not disappoint.

All in a brilliant weekend, we can’t wait to return!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Madam,
It is a great pleasure to read your kind message.
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that you have appreciated all the little details that are so important to us.
We do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards,
Yves Monnin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Our three night stay in the beautiful chateau hotel in the 16th arrondissement made for a particularly memorable experience. We had wanted to stay at a special place and the Saint James Paris lived up to our expectations. The service was impeccable and the accommodations spacious. The fine decor with a bit of whimsy created a setting that was both elegant and interesting. The large and impressive bar was particularly memorable as it was filled with old books to the high ceiling. For a lovely retreat in Paris, the Saint James provided the perfect and quiet retreat after spending full days visiting museums, sites, and enjoying wonderful culinary experiences.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Madam,
Thank you so much for your kind message, that all the team will appreciate.
I am very happy that you enjoyed our special place and I do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you you back.
Best regards,
Yves Monnin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here in mid-May as part of a six-night Paris vacation to celebrate his birthday. After reading many rave reviews online, we had high expectations and were not disappointed: we were upgraded to a beautiful junior suite; enjoyed the quiet charm and lovely hotel gardens and club (a pleasure to return to after full days of sightseeing); and were impressed by the helpful and attentive service (great job from the concierge staff).

This a a unique property, decorated with whimsy and class. It is a bit further out than many hotels (located in the upscale 16th arrondisement), but metro stops are just one block (Port Dauphine) and two blocks (Victor Hugo) away, and there are cafes, patisseries, bistros and restaurants within easy walking distance. If you value beauty, excellent service and amenities, and appreciate being slightly removed from the tourist centers of Saint Germain, the Marais, or the Champs Elysees, the Saint James provides a terrific experience. I think they should be rated five stars, instead of four.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MadameX2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear MadameX,

I would like to thank you and your husband for trusting TripAdvisor users when choosing your hotel in Paris. The Saint James Paris is the only chateau-hotel of the capital and in spite of its grandeur et elegant extravaganza, it feels like a home. Our entire team aims at offering a genuine service to each of our guests, so reading your praises is a real incentive for each of us.
We all hope to have the pleasure of serving you and your husband again in a near future.

Yours sincerely,
Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
#25 of 1,804 in Paris
778 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Keppler
Hotel Keppler
#46 of 1,804 in Paris
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#21 of 1,804 in Paris
401 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Four Seasons Hotel George V Paris
Le Bristol Paris
#7 of 1,804 in Paris
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Address: 43 Avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#9 Family Hotel in Paris
#10 Spa Hotel in Paris
#14 Business Hotel in Paris
#16 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £303 - £707 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the Champs-Elysées, the Saint James Paris is a 100-year old château surrounded by its own private garden, offering a unique experience of grandeur and intimacy, classicism and extravagance. Each of the 49 spacious suites and rooms exudes its own atmosphere. This eccentric family home also offers a mythical library-bar, a restaurant with one Michelin star - Chef Jean-Luc Rocha, a one-of-its-kind terrace in the garden, and a spa in partnership with Guerlain offering treatment rooms, steam-rooms and fitness. A member of Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James Paris Hotel Paris
Saint James Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing