We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St. James as base for Paris vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
Ranked #25 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Houston TX
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“St. James as base for Paris vacation”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The St. James is a beautiful hotel with warm and friendly service. They graciously upgraded my room to a junior suite when I arrived. Although I was concerned about the location of the hotel compared to most of the places I wanted to visit, it turned out to be perfect. It is only a few blocks to both the RER (high speed subway) and the regular metro stop, so very quick and easy to take the subway directly to the most visited areas. It was also a pleasant walk to the Trocadero and several casual bistros. I would definitely return to the St. James should I return to Paris.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hedwig0550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Rudd,

Thank you very much for choosing our little chateau for your stay in Paris and for posting this extremely kind review. It is a pleasure for all of us to read that you liked the especially caring service we provide as well as the junior suite we upgraded you to. Upgrades are not always possible, but we do our best!
The location of the Saint James Paris offers a safe and refined setting within the center of Paris and at walking distance to major sights, museums and boutiques.
I hope that you will come back to the French capital one day and stay with us again, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back!

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    992
    130
    33
    11
    4
See reviews for
172
707
38
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The Saint James Paris is an especially beautiful chateau hotel in a quiet upscale residential area. We had the all inclusive package with dinner. Our room was quite nice and the decor very whimsical. We especially loved dinner in the charming garden outside and everything was delicious. The the two singers, who entertained us during dinner, was a nice touch. There are pros and cons to the location, being away from the hustle and bustle of Paris. But there is easy access with the very efficient and easy-to-use Metro system. The staff of the hotel made our stay a great experience. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Saint James.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Ms S.,

Thank you very much for booking our offer with dinner and for posting this great review! I am very happy that you enjoyed the Michelin-starred cuisine of our Chef Virginie Basselot on the evening of La Fête de la Musique, for which we always invite artists.
The northern part of the 16th arrondissement is indeed extremely convenient in terms of transportation and is at walking distance from many shops, restaurants and museums, the Champs Elysées, the Congress center and the Trocadero. But more importantly, it is probably the only part of the city where one can enjoy a truly upscale Parisian experience without any tourist buses in sight.
I thank you very much for recommending us and sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in a near future.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chappaqua, New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My wife and I checked in this morning and to say that we were "awe struck" by this R&C property is quite an understatement.

Our Saint James experience began several weeks ago when we contacted the Hotel's concierge inquiring about airport transportation, museum guides, dinner reservations, spa reservations and a river cruise. Email responses were virtually immediate. The information we received from the staff was accurate and to the point. Reservation were confirmed and their performance flawless.

Several days ago, we were contacted by the Hotel requesting our arrival information. It was suggested that we have someone "meet and greet us" at our arrival at CDG and walk us through the entry process into France. We opted for this service and were met AT THE DOOR of the plane by a young gentleman who took our bags, guided us through immigration and baggage and delivered us to our driver for transportation to the Saint James. Flawless.

We arrived at the Hotel around 10:30 am (Paris traffic appears to be worse than NYC's) and fully expected to walk the city until our room was available later in the afternoon. Not only was our room immediately available, but we were upgraded to a suite -- skylit sitting area, living room with a piano (chopsticks anyone?) and a magnificent bedroom with shower tub, twin sinks and a separate glass enclosed twin head shower. The room decor was trendy, artfully appointed and in our opinion, award winning. This is not an upscale W or Ritz Carlton; the Saint James can very easily become your home away from home.

Check in was speedy and efficient. We quickly ended up in the garden enjoying our first breakfast in Paris. The service was like everything else at the Saint James, perfect.

If you're trying to see Paris and recreate a Sex in the City moment, do it at the Saint James. Yes, it's pricey, but you know that already. But from our day one experience, our stay at the Saint James will be priceless.

Lee David Auerbach

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Auerbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Mr Auerbach,

Thank you very much for choosing us and for posting a review on TripAdvisor so quickly on the first day of your stay. It is truly a pleasure for us to read that your Meet & Greet service was up to your expectations and that you got access to the Piano Suite right away!
We have only 48 rooms and suites in total and are often fully booked, so it is not always possible for us to upgrade our guests or to ensure early check-in, but our teams do their very best to have rooms ready as soon as possible.
Our garden is indeed a big asset, private and quiet but in the heart of Paris. I am sorry you then had to endure a really rainy week-end but I hope that you are still feeling at home at the Saint James Paris!
We are all at your disposal, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here during our first visit to Paris. We went for the Romantic Break offer and got upgraded to a jnr suite, which was really, really nice.

The hotel has an amazing entrance, going through the small arched entrance and immediately you see the fountain with the hotel behind it. It's one of the best hotels that we've stayed in. It had real character, history and a certain feel to it.

Staying here really added to our 2 night stay in Paris, and if we return we will seriously think about staying here again. It's not cheap, but this is Paris and this is also a top end hotel. Why not spend some of your hard earned cash and treat yourself - you will have stayed in a hotel that has had many celebrities including Sophia Loren - now that's chic.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkBarefoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Mr Barefoot,

Thank you so much for choosing us for your first visit to our capital-city.
We are truly happy to read that you enjoyed your 2-night experience in our crazy-chic little chateau.... where we celebrate each of our guests equally!

It would be our pleasure to serve you again, hopefully in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is an old club that hired a designer to pump up the volume decor-wise. I assume the intent was to eliminate any hint of clubby stodginess. They have succeeded. Its location is excellent in a private oasis like setting, complete with grounds and a fountain. The staff was exceptionally eager to please and went out of their way to make sure we were happy. You have to be pretty sophisticated to appreciate the quirkiness of their rooms. The first room ( a junior suite) they showed us was on the top floor with tiny port hole like windows in the bedroom and a skylight in the sitting room that still did not let in enough light to read a book, yet beautifully decorated in delicate grays. The second one they showed us,( which we ended up staying in) was in the basement under the bar, decorated with chintz, vermillion sheer drapes, multicolored stripes, hot-yellow brocade and ivy wall paper in the entry. It was wonderful and terrible at the same time. Restful to the eye it is not. But if you want to experience Parisian style and insouciance in your room and also have an elegant place to eat and unwind in the beautiful salons and dining areas, this is for you.

Room Tip: Avoid the basement rooms-the windows are tall and let in good light but it is very noisy from moving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Ms M.,

Thank you very much for choosing the Saint James Paris and for taking the time to post this kind review. While historically hosting the Saint James Club of Paris, our little chateau is also run as a hotel since 1991.
It was fully redone by designer Bambi Sloan in a Napoleon III style in order to offer our guests the atmosphere of a wealthy French home from the late 19th century, the period during which the house was built.
Each of our spacious rooms and suites has its own story and own décor, some very colorful and some with very light fabrics. I am sorry you experienced some noise in your suite on the garden floor, be sure we will pay extra attention to this point.
It is a pleasure for us to read that you liked the atmosphere of our crazy-chic little chateau, its location as well as the dedicated service of our teams.
It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back and I am confident we will find the perfect suite for you.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingstone, Zambia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

I was so fortunate to be able to stay at the Saint James again while visiting Paris and if I was blown away by the experience before, words cannot describe how sensational brilliant it was again this time! I did not think it could ever have been better the first time I visited two years ago but it has exceeded that experience this time.

The positioning of the hotel in the most beautiful garden is simply the most unusual setting for Paris and it is like a refuge from the busyness of the streets as you walk/drive through the gates: circular driveway, gorgeous splashing fountain and a view of the hotel that takes your breath away each and every time, day and night.

The service was simply fantastic with every person that we met during our stay. I was visiting with my Mum and on our first night we decided to eat at the restaurant. I had eaten at the restaurant on my last stay but it was winter so within the formal dining room. During this stay, the chef, Virginie, has now received her first Michelin star (very well-deserved) and our dining experience was out of this world. Firstly, the restaurant moves out to the garden during the summer and secondly, the food was sublime! Dining on the most fabulous food in a private and exclusive Parisian garden has to be one of the top things to do in Paris in the summer! Absolutely outstanding!

I cannot thank everyone enough but suffice to say that Yves, the GM, runs the most magnificent establishment and the only place I would ever stay when in Paris. I am back in November and I cannot wait!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaAponte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Mrs Aponte,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to thank you for choosing our little chateau as your home when in Paris and for taking the time to post such a praising review. Your kind words are the best reward for the commitment of our staff in each service.
Be sure that we will keep working on a daily basis to offer the best quality and the most caring service.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to our Relais & Châteaux property next November.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We recently spent 4 days at the Saint James Paris – and can’t say enough wonderful things about it! After 10 days touring Slovenia and Croatia, we decided to end our European travels with a special treat. And special it was!! Situated on a private, tree-lined piece of property - it felt more like an incredible home than a hotel. And it has the most comfortable beds on the planet.

The jaw-dropping décor is elegant yet whimsical. The staff is excellent, friendly and well-trained. The food? Fabulous and Michelin rated. Near both Metro and RER stations in a quiet, upscale neighborhood. We hated to leave -- but will definitely stay again whenever we return to Paris.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear DM,

Thank you very much for choosing our “crazy-chic” little chateau to end your trip through Europe and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor in such an enthusiastic way!
I am very happy to read that you liked our setting and décor as well as the cuisine of Chef Virginie Basselot and the very personal service of our teams.
We all look forward to welcoming you back in a near future, with the hope to become your home when in Paris.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
#28 of 1,801 in Paris
726 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Keppler
Hotel Keppler
#29 of 1,801 in Paris
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Six
Hotel Le Six
#20 of 1,801 in Paris
1,824 reviews
Le Marais
Le Pavillon de la Reine
Le Pavillon de la Reine
#35 of 1,801 in Paris
780 reviews
Opera / Bourse
La Maison Favart
La Maison Favart
#27 of 1,801 in Paris
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Property: Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
Address: 43 Avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#9 Family Hotel in Paris
#14 Business Hotel in Paris
#15 Spa Hotel in Paris
#23 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the Champs-Elysées, the Saint James Paris is a 100-year old château surrounded by its own private garden, offering a unique experience of grandeur and intimacy, classicism and extravagance. Each of the 49 spacious suites and rooms exudes its own atmosphere. This eccentric family home also offers a mythical library-bar, a restaurant with one Michelin star - Chef Jean-Luc Rocha, a one-of-its-kind terrace in the garden, and a spa in partnership with Guerlain offering treatment rooms, steam-rooms and fitness. A member of Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James Paris Hotel Paris
Saint James Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing