We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
Ranked #22 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Carnegie
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Honeymoon ”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We came to Paris for our honeymoon and chose this hotel for our first stop. What a great choice! From the authentic French decor to the great service it was an absolute pleasure to be staying here. I advised the hotel of our honeymoon prior and the room was waiting for us with rose petals and champagne. We dined at the restaurant which was great and had drinks in the library bar which was fantastic. The room was quiet and hotel within easy reach of the Eiffel Tower and metro. Overall I cannot speak highly enough of Saint James and would not hesitate to stay there again on our next visit to the wonderful city of Paris.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you so much for choosing us as a hideaway in the French capital for your honeymoon and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are very happy that we could help create memories during this very special time and that you liked each aspect of your stay.
We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in a near future.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    961
    128
    32
    10
    4
See reviews for
171
681
37
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel is pure magic! From the time you walk through its gates one is transported to another time and place. Far from being fusty, this excellent property boasts a wonderfully diverse clientele, delightfully appointed rooms, and service that is anticipatory in addition to being authentic. Be sure to check out the library bar at night for cocktails and the incredible spa on the lower level.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Champy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Champy12,

Thank you so much for choosing us and for taking the time to post this raving review. Perfection is our goal!
It is a real pleasure for us to read that you felt the very special atmosphere of our little chateau, in the center of Paris yet exceptionally peaceful and homey.
In addition to your experiences in the Guerlain spa and in the library-bar, please plan to try the aerial Michelin-starred cuisine of our Chef Virginie Basselot when you visit us next!
We all look forward to serving you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and had an amazing time. We were able to park our car right outside reception at no extra charge. The room we stayed in (511) was a junior suite offering a small lounge, lobby, bedroom with bath, walk in wardrobe and a large washroom and shower. My only slight niggle was the lack of a decent sized window and poor view. We relied on the AC to keep the air fresh and unstuffy. All the staff were wonderful and happy to help with our requests.
The location is great for walking to the Eiffel Tower and Arc de Triomphe.
The bar is also a delight, and offers a nice quiet place to unwind after a day of sightseeing.
Booked through Mr and Mrs Smith - and were welcomed with 2 complimentary cocktails upon arrival. The hotel is within easy reach of the Metro line No. 2 ( Porte Dauphine). The hotel also has a few bycycles to borrow.
If the budget allows, I would not hesitate to stay here again and for longer!

Room Tip: 511 is nice, but lacks large windows and nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave_from_the_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Dave,

Thank you very much for choosing us and for booking through Mr & Mrs Smith! It is a pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your stay in our little chateau, in the centre of Paris but very quiet and romantic.... and we are indeed among the only Paris hotels to offer a free parking to our guests. Some of our top floor Junior Suites have skylight and smaller windows, and while many of our guests enjoy their peacefulness and very specific flair, some prefer to stay on other floors with larger windows.
We will be pleased to assign you a room on a different floor for your next visit, hopefully soon.
Looking forward to welcoming you back,

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston TX
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The St. James is a beautiful hotel with warm and friendly service. They graciously upgraded my room to a junior suite when I arrived. Although I was concerned about the location of the hotel compared to most of the places I wanted to visit, it turned out to be perfect. It is only a few blocks to both the RER (high speed subway) and the regular metro stop, so very quick and easy to take the subway directly to the most visited areas. It was also a pleasant walk to the Trocadero and several casual bistros. I would definitely return to the St. James should I return to Paris.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hedwig0550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Rudd,

Thank you very much for choosing our little chateau for your stay in Paris and for posting this extremely kind review. It is a pleasure for all of us to read that you liked the especially caring service we provide as well as the junior suite we upgraded you to. Upgrades are not always possible, but we do our best!
The location of the Saint James Paris offers a safe and refined setting within the center of Paris and at walking distance to major sights, museums and boutiques.
I hope that you will come back to the French capital one day and stay with us again, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back!

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The Saint James Paris is an especially beautiful chateau hotel in a quiet upscale residential area. We had the all inclusive package with dinner. Our room was quite nice and the decor very whimsical. We especially loved dinner in the charming garden outside and everything was delicious. The the two singers, who entertained us during dinner, was a nice touch. There are pros and cons to the location, being away from the hustle and bustle of Paris. But there is easy access with the very efficient and easy-to-use Metro system. The staff of the hotel made our stay a great experience. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Saint James.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Ms S.,

Thank you very much for booking our offer with dinner and for posting this great review! I am very happy that you enjoyed the Michelin-starred cuisine of our Chef Virginie Basselot on the evening of La Fête de la Musique, for which we always invite artists.
The northern part of the 16th arrondissement is indeed extremely convenient in terms of transportation and is at walking distance from many shops, restaurants and museums, the Champs Elysées, the Congress center and the Trocadero. But more importantly, it is probably the only part of the city where one can enjoy a truly upscale Parisian experience without any tourist buses in sight.
I thank you very much for recommending us and sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in a near future.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chappaqua, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My wife and I checked in this morning and to say that we were "awe struck" by this R&C property is quite an understatement.

Our Saint James experience began several weeks ago when we contacted the Hotel's concierge inquiring about airport transportation, museum guides, dinner reservations, spa reservations and a river cruise. Email responses were virtually immediate. The information we received from the staff was accurate and to the point. Reservation were confirmed and their performance flawless.

Several days ago, we were contacted by the Hotel requesting our arrival information. It was suggested that we have someone "meet and greet us" at our arrival at CDG and walk us through the entry process into France. We opted for this service and were met AT THE DOOR of the plane by a young gentleman who took our bags, guided us through immigration and baggage and delivered us to our driver for transportation to the Saint James. Flawless.

We arrived at the Hotel around 10:30 am (Paris traffic appears to be worse than NYC's) and fully expected to walk the city until our room was available later in the afternoon. Not only was our room immediately available, but we were upgraded to a suite -- skylit sitting area, living room with a piano (chopsticks anyone?) and a magnificent bedroom with shower tub, twin sinks and a separate glass enclosed twin head shower. The room decor was trendy, artfully appointed and in our opinion, award winning. This is not an upscale W or Ritz Carlton; the Saint James can very easily become your home away from home.

Check in was speedy and efficient. We quickly ended up in the garden enjoying our first breakfast in Paris. The service was like everything else at the Saint James, perfect.

If you're trying to see Paris and recreate a Sex in the City moment, do it at the Saint James. Yes, it's pricey, but you know that already. But from our day one experience, our stay at the Saint James will be priceless.

Lee David Auerbach

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Auerbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Mr Auerbach,

Thank you very much for choosing us and for posting a review on TripAdvisor so quickly on the first day of your stay. It is truly a pleasure for us to read that your Meet & Greet service was up to your expectations and that you got access to the Piano Suite right away!
We have only 48 rooms and suites in total and are often fully booked, so it is not always possible for us to upgrade our guests or to ensure early check-in, but our teams do their very best to have rooms ready as soon as possible.
Our garden is indeed a big asset, private and quiet but in the heart of Paris. I am sorry you then had to endure a really rainy week-end but I hope that you are still feeling at home at the Saint James Paris!
We are all at your disposal, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here during our first visit to Paris. We went for the Romantic Break offer and got upgraded to a jnr suite, which was really, really nice.

The hotel has an amazing entrance, going through the small arched entrance and immediately you see the fountain with the hotel behind it. It's one of the best hotels that we've stayed in. It had real character, history and a certain feel to it.

Staying here really added to our 2 night stay in Paris, and if we return we will seriously think about staying here again. It's not cheap, but this is Paris and this is also a top end hotel. Why not spend some of your hard earned cash and treat yourself - you will have stayed in a hotel that has had many celebrities including Sophia Loren - now that's chic.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkBarefoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Mr Barefoot,

Thank you so much for choosing us for your first visit to our capital-city.
We are truly happy to read that you enjoyed your 2-night experience in our crazy-chic little chateau.... where we celebrate each of our guests equally!

It would be our pleasure to serve you again, hopefully in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
#24 of 1,797 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Six
Hotel Le Six
#20 of 1,797 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
La Maison Favart
La Maison Favart
#29 of 1,797 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
#10 of 1,797 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
Trocadero
Shangri-La Hotel Paris
Shangri-La Hotel Paris
#45 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Property: Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
Address: 43 Avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#9 Family Hotel in Paris
#14 Business Hotel in Paris
#14 Spa Hotel in Paris
#20 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the Champs-Elysées, the Saint James Paris is a 100-year old château surrounded by its own private garden, offering a unique experience of grandeur and intimacy, classicism and extravagance. Each of the 49 spacious suites and rooms exudes its own atmosphere. This eccentric family home also offers a mythical library-bar, a restaurant with one Michelin star - Chef Jean-Luc Rocha, a one-of-its-kind terrace in the garden, and a spa in partnership with Guerlain offering treatment rooms, steam-rooms and fitness. A member of Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James Paris Hotel Paris
Saint James Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing