We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La vie de chateau at the center of Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
Ranked #25 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“La vie de chateau at the center of Paris”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

A magic place that lives and breathes the Relais Chateaux principles and you very quickly feel "home"(well, wish it were home !!) or rather in a peace heaven at the center of Paris. Stayed there for a difficult business trip and i believe that the service and attention i received have contributed to making it a sucess. Close the Porte Dauphine Metro line 2 and a stone throw away from everything that has to be seen. Want to mention room service I used every night which is very good, simple and healthy and served very very fast. I loved having a Nespresso machine in my room with free capsules (i hate having things at my disposal in a room but where you get charged everytime you use them). Last the little garden at the back gives you the opportunity to have a drink outside under a big airballoon. Merci Saint-James and staff !

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Ms G.,

It is a great pleasure for each of us to read that your felt the magic and homey atmosphere we aim at offering each guest with a caring and personalized service, and on behalf of our entire team, I thank you very much for including us in the success of your business trip. I am glad you got a moment to unwind under the air balloons in the garden.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon, to try the Michelin-starred cuisine of our Chef Virginie Basselot as well as the Guerlain treatments of our spa.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    987
    130
    33
    11
    4
See reviews for
172
703
38
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Islamorada, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This lovely boutique hotel aims to please. From the moment we entered through the gates of this stately home we felt transformed to another time of refinement and old world charm.
The staff have extended themselves to assure our stay is comfortable and memorable.
The rooms are well appointed and the decor is charming. Much bigger than what you get in Paris at more-pricey hotels and the location is within walking distance to the Arc and Champs de élysées. There is a really nice onsite bar and restaurant offering both French and American favorites but the piece d'resistance is the on site spa treatments - simply awesome.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Ms N.,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are very happy that the location and crazy-chic décor of our Paris home were to your liking, as well as our especially large rooms and the menus of our Michelin-starred restaurant and library-bar.
Our confidential spa is one of the only few worldwide to offer Guerlain treatments, provided by Pauline and her team.

Be sure it would be our pleasure to serving you again, with the hope you would consider the Saint James Paris your home away from home.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

It was my wife's birthday and we picked Paris to celebrate. The stay at St James was amazing and the neighborhood is great. What a great choice! From the authentic French design to the great service it was an absolute pleasure to be staying here. WE can't wait to come back for her next birthday.
Thanks so much St. James!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you so much for choosing us to celebrate the birthday of Mrs S. We are all delighted to read that you enjoyed our Relais & Châteaux property, located in the very chic 16th arrondissement. We all look forward to serving you again next year, and hopefully often in the future!

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

A spectacular hotel! Beautiful! The moment you enter the property it is an escape from the hustle of the city. Enchanting spaces from the garden to the library bar. Each room has its own distinct character. The service was above and beyond!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LNJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear LNJoy,

Thank you so much for choosing us and for posting this very enthusiastic review! I am glad you enjoyed the location, décor and unique feel of our little chateau as well as the caring and authentic service of our teams. Please visit again soon!

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnegie
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We came to Paris for our honeymoon and chose this hotel for our first stop. What a great choice! From the authentic French decor to the great service it was an absolute pleasure to be staying here. I advised the hotel of our honeymoon prior and the room was waiting for us with rose petals and champagne. We dined at the restaurant which was great and had drinks in the library bar which was fantastic. The room was quiet and hotel within easy reach of the Eiffel Tower and metro. Overall I cannot speak highly enough of Saint James and would not hesitate to stay there again on our next visit to the wonderful city of Paris.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you so much for choosing us as a hideaway in the French capital for your honeymoon and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are very happy that we could help create memories during this very special time and that you liked each aspect of your stay.
We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in a near future.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel is pure magic! From the time you walk through its gates one is transported to another time and place. Far from being fusty, this excellent property boasts a wonderfully diverse clientele, delightfully appointed rooms, and service that is anticipatory in addition to being authentic. Be sure to check out the library bar at night for cocktails and the incredible spa on the lower level.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Champy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Champy12,

Thank you so much for choosing us and for taking the time to post this raving review. Perfection is our goal!
It is a real pleasure for us to read that you felt the very special atmosphere of our little chateau, in the center of Paris yet exceptionally peaceful and homey.
In addition to your experiences in the Guerlain spa and in the library-bar, please plan to try the aerial Michelin-starred cuisine of our Chef Virginie Basselot when you visit us next!
We all look forward to serving you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and had an amazing time. We were able to park our car right outside reception at no extra charge. The room we stayed in (511) was a junior suite offering a small lounge, lobby, bedroom with bath, walk in wardrobe and a large washroom and shower. My only slight niggle was the lack of a decent sized window and poor view. We relied on the AC to keep the air fresh and unstuffy. All the staff were wonderful and happy to help with our requests.
The location is great for walking to the Eiffel Tower and Arc de Triomphe.
The bar is also a delight, and offers a nice quiet place to unwind after a day of sightseeing.
Booked through Mr and Mrs Smith - and were welcomed with 2 complimentary cocktails upon arrival. The hotel is within easy reach of the Metro line No. 2 ( Porte Dauphine). The hotel also has a few bycycles to borrow.
If the budget allows, I would not hesitate to stay here again and for longer!

Room Tip: 511 is nice, but lacks large windows and nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave_from_the_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Dave,

Thank you very much for choosing us and for booking through Mr & Mrs Smith! It is a pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your stay in our little chateau, in the centre of Paris but very quiet and romantic.... and we are indeed among the only Paris hotels to offer a free parking to our guests. Some of our top floor Junior Suites have skylight and smaller windows, and while many of our guests enjoy their peacefulness and very specific flair, some prefer to stay on other floors with larger windows.
We will be pleased to assign you a room on a different floor for your next visit, hopefully soon.
Looking forward to welcoming you back,

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
#23 of 1,801 in Paris
721 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Keppler
Hotel Keppler
#29 of 1,801 in Paris
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Six
Hotel Le Six
#20 of 1,801 in Paris
1,821 reviews
Le Marais
Le Pavillon de la Reine
Le Pavillon de la Reine
#36 of 1,801 in Paris
778 reviews
Opera / Bourse
La Maison Favart
La Maison Favart
#26 of 1,801 in Paris
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Property: Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
Address: 43 Avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#9 Family Hotel in Paris
#14 Business Hotel in Paris
#15 Spa Hotel in Paris
#23 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the Champs-Elysées, the Saint James Paris is a 100-year old château surrounded by its own private garden, offering a unique experience of grandeur and intimacy, classicism and extravagance. Each of the 49 spacious suites and rooms exudes its own atmosphere. This eccentric family home also offers a mythical library-bar, a restaurant with one Michelin star - Chef Jean-Luc Rocha, a one-of-its-kind terrace in the garden, and a spa in partnership with Guerlain offering treatment rooms, steam-rooms and fitness. A member of Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James Paris Hotel Paris
Saint James Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing