We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treasure of a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
Ranked #21 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A treasure of a hotel”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The Saint James - Paris is a high end hotel worth every euro it costs. From the phenomenal food to the superb rooms, it is simply unparalleled. The concierge is so good that I would trust him with my life. The rest of the staff are equally astonishing in their kindness and devotion to duty. This is unbelievable old-word service at its best, a hotel that has avoided the silly trappings of trendiness. Yes, it is expensive -- but you end up getting much more than you paid for. Despite all this, the Saint James somehow manages to avoid being stuffy. Proper, yes, but stuffy never. It is simply the best hotel I have ever had the good fortune to experience. Will I go back? I can't wait for the opportunity.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Regan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Ms K.,

Thank you so much for choosing us and for taking the time to post this wonderful review! Such comments are the best reward for our teams who do their best to offer a friendly, knowledgeable and personal service in this fairy-tale little chateau we are lucky enough to call our workplace.

We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon and to become your home in Paris.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    960
    128
    32
    9
    4
See reviews for
171
680
37
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The stay at the St.James Paris was outstanding! We were presently surprised to see a beautiful chateau in the middle of a garden atmosphere. We arrived early in the morning and were concerned about the length of time we would have to wait for our room. We were pleased when Mary Ann from the front desk found us in the hotel restaurant before noon and informed us that our room was ready. That are many other examples of the staff being very courteous and helpful during our stay. We found the front desk, lounge, restaurant and all of the rest of the staff to be very friendly, providing excellent service and remembering our names. If you need the services of a concierge, Christian and his staff were excellent.

The room was beautiful and as large as most oversized rooms in the US and there were double sinks in our bathroom which is rare in many hotels in large cities. We had a view of the fountain and the entrance to the grounds which was like looking at a park. The hotel is a short taxi ride to the Eiffel Tower and des Champs Elysees. Some guests have indicated they walked to the Arc de Triomphe but a taxi ride was a better choice for us.

We had breakfast and lunch in the hotel and the food was excellent. We already had dinner plans at other locations so we did not have dinner at the hotel but have read that the dinner is also excellent. There are several good restaurant along Avenue Victor Hugo included Stella which was convenient to the shopping along the Avenue. If needed, there are a grocery store and pharmacy with 2-3 blocks of the hotel.

We plan to stay at the St. James the next time we return to Paris.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to post this very extensive review. Your feedback leads me to think that we succeeded in making you feel at home in our “crazy-chic” little chateau. I thank you for mentioning the size of our rooms, which are indeed much larger than usual in each category, and the quality of breakfast and lunch prepared by our Michelin-starred chef Virginie Basselot.

We all look forward to serving you again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Spent two nights in the Saint James, which is a terrific green and spacious oasis in a quiet, but well-located, part of Paris. My room was tastefully decorated, the facilities were very beatiful and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I had only heard about the place through my affiliation with Harvard but will from now on make this my preferred home in Paris for future visits.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teamras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Teamras,

Thank you very much for choosing us and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor! We all aim at offering a truly personal and caring service to match the fantastic setting we are lucky to call our workplace, so it is a pleasure when guests plan to make the Saint James Paris their home in the city right after their first visit.

Be sure we will keep serving you with the same attention!
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon,

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had an unforgettable stay at the Saint James Paris on our last night of our European honeymoon.
At first sight of the Saint James we were in awe of the Chateaux style building and surrounds, a pleasant oasis within the heart of Paris. Inside was just as jaw dropping with an amazing grand staircase and beautiful lobby and restaurant.
Upon check-in we were upgraded to a suite which had a huge living room, separate bedroom and an amazing bathroom.
The hotel has an amazing library style bar which feels like a step back in time, a great place to relax and enjoy the grand old era of Paris.
The location is in a very trendy but quiet area of Paris but still close enough to walk to some main attractions.
I would recommend the hotel to anyone wanting to celebrate a special occasion in a Grand-Chateaux style hotel while still close to the beating heart of Paris.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhettro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for choosing us as the conclusion of your honeymoon trip and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor!
It is a real pleasure for us to read that you liked the setting, architecture and décor of our little chateau, a haven of peace in the French capital.
We all look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

There are many elements that make you fall in love while you are in Paris... The city itself is probably number one, then of course the Art of Living "a La Francaise", the food, the people, and not to forget the shopping! But if you really want to take your Parisian experience to the next level and say you had lived the Pennicle of French living start booking your next stay at The Saint James Paris. This is a place where you will be treated like the Queen, or king and Queen (where applies) of the Castle. Every single person that works in this property go out of their way to treat you like a royal and as if you are the only person living in the Castle.
The General Manager M. Yves Monnin Is the host of the most, always ready to greet you and to ensure your experinece in flawless and he is always available. The Guerlain Spa is certainly a must!
Every time I shared with my Parisian friends I was staying at The Saint James they will want to come and spend time at the Bar Library or the gorgeous garden!
As a single woman never felt so protected and cared for.
When a Parisian business man wants to close a deal, they bring their clients to The Saint James, this is how special this place is.
Is situated in the 16th District, also known as the "Elite District" which makes it intimate, sophisticated, fun yet close to the heart of Paris.
The rooms are set like the perfect Pied-a-terre with unique a chic decor perfect to host a friend for an Apero!
This place is also ideal for Honey mooners, couples, families or single fabulous women!

Room Tip: The rooms on the third floor are quiet and intimate, and also spacecious. the rooms on the ground le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BZarate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Ms Zarate,

Thank you so much for choosing us and for being our Queen during your stay! Set in its own walled garden in the heart of the exclusive 16th district, the Saint James Paris has been imagined as an elegant Napoleon III home, to which Bambi Sloan brought her touch of humor and extravaganza.
My team and I do our very best to offer each of our guests a truly personal experience and our best reward is having the pleasure of reading reviews like yours!
There are many ways to enjoy our Relais & Châteaux property: meeting with friends or colleagues in the library-bar, tasting the Michelin-starred cuisine of Chef Virginie Basselot, sipping on a cocktail in the summer bar of the garden relaxing at the Guerlain spa, or simply resting in the unique décor of your suite.

We all sincerely hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is the second time that i have stayed at the St James and it is by far the most amazing hotel i have ever stayed at.
The staff are very friendly and alway say hello as you pass.
We are a family of 5 adults and got up graded to suites. At the time this was very exciting, being on the top floor of an old building does have a down side. It was very warm inside the hallway and rooms. We weren't too bothered with this, being Australian we are good at dealing with heat. Plus Europe is known for its lack of aircon. But the idea is not to stay cooped up in your room. It was a great time of year to out in the fabulous gardens. Its like something out of Alice in Wonderland. The decor is just beautiful, you could stare in amazement all day.
You you can splurge on one hotel, make this it!!
Its a few blocks away from the Eiffel Tower, a block away from Port Dauphin Metro stop.
We ate most nights at the Library bar, more reconisalbe food and cheaper than the restaurant. Really nice spaghetti and cheeseburgers!!
The restaurant is very fancy, fancy food and i wouldn't recommend it if you have small children.
The new spa is something to check out. My brothers said their massages were great.
Make sure if you a using taxi's to take a piece of note paper with you as most drivers had no idea what we were talking about.
I love this hotel, it was so sad to leave

Room Tip: higher floors (5th floor) is no air-conditioning in the hallway, lacks in the rooms too. 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmzie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Emmzie25,

Thank you so much for making us your home in Paris! It was a pleasure for us to welcome you back and I am truly happy that you like the décor of our little chateau and friendliness of our teams!
We are a very family-friendly property and even in the dining-room, our Michelin-starred chef offers gourmet options for kids. That being said, it is true that the unique atmosphere of the library-bar is also appealing!
I am sorry you felt it was too hot on the top floor. All rooms are air-conditioned but during the heat-wave last month, the trop-floor rooms took a bit longer to cool due to their glass roof. Each room of the Saint James Paris unveils it’s own story and there are many more for you to discover, so we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back often!

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at this beautiful hotel for our honeymoon. We were surprised at and deeply pleased with a hertfelt welcome service and the beautiful flower decoration! During our stay, the front desk staff and concerige were all kind and freindly. Moreover, the restaurant of this chateau quite awesome.
If you choose this beautiful chateau, you will definitely enjoy a romantic and memorable stay in Paris!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Masaki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Mr K.,

We thank you and Mrs K. very much for choosing to spend your honeymoon with us! It is a real pleasure for us that you felt the dedication and friendliness of our teams during your stay: we work daily to offer a personalized and caring service to each guest.
Thank you also for mentioning your appreciation for the Michelin-starred cuisine of our chef, be sure Virginie and her team will surprise you each time you dine with us!

We all hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in a near future.
Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
#24 of 1,797 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Six
Hotel Le Six
#20 of 1,797 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
La Maison Favart
La Maison Favart
#31 of 1,797 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
#11 of 1,797 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
Trocadero
Shangri-La Hotel Paris
Shangri-La Hotel Paris
#45 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Property: Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
Address: 43 Avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#9 Family Hotel in Paris
#12 Spa Hotel in Paris
#14 Business Hotel in Paris
#19 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the Champs-Elysées, the Saint James Paris is a 100-year old château surrounded by its own private garden, offering a unique experience of grandeur and intimacy, classicism and extravagance. Each of the 49 spacious suites and rooms exudes its own atmosphere. This eccentric family home also offers a mythical library-bar, a restaurant with one Michelin star - Chef Jean-Luc Rocha, a one-of-its-kind terrace in the garden, and a spa in partnership with Guerlain offering treatment rooms, steam-rooms and fitness. A member of Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James Paris Hotel Paris
Saint James Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing