We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine but not very helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Relais du Louvre
Ranked #54 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2011

The hotel was nice and clean, a bit small but not terrible. What I found most frustrating was the staff who were not very helpful at all. If you stay at this hotel do your own trip research and don't expect them to be of much use in that department

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NYCgirl1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hirgorom, Directeur général at Le Relais du Louvre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

I am so sorry to read that nobody here helped you. In fact the most important reason to me to do this job is the pleasure I feel in helping our guests, sending them in places they would not necessary discover on their own, test restaurants before I recommand them, indicate a bus line even before you ask for it because I know you may go without asking and that would be a pity! We all know very well the surroundings of the hotel and Paris in generally because we want our guests to use their time for interesting things not for looking for hours into guide books for information we can give in a minute. We even sell now tickets for the Louvre so that our guests don't need to stay on line for hours to get in. I would love to know who you met at the Relais du Louvre and when you have stayed with us because this should NEVER happen! There should not be any good or bad days for our guests, each day should bring the same quality and help and this is why it is extremely important to me to know who has welcome you and whe you stayed with us. In any case, I shall apologize and I can only hope that you will do me the favour of coming again and I tell you: you will enjoy and never forget the time spent here. Warmest regards. Sophie Aulnette, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (693)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 421 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights in November. The location in the city was perfect. The room was tiny, especially the shower, but clean and comfortable...as a matter of fact, that may have been the most comfortable bed I've had in Europe! I must warn folks that this hotel is NOT for night owls. I got back to my room around 3am on the first night and didn't fall asleep until 0430 or so...by 8am, the hotel business was in full swing. Nothing overly obnoxious, but it is such a small hotel, normal activities generate noise...too much for me to sleep through. So I just made sure I was in bed at a decent hour the next ngiht!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaedwa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We stayed at Le Relais du Louvre with our extended family and having two connecting rooms was a big bonus. This little hotel is lovely with beautifully french style decorated rooms. The rooms are small indeed, especially the small double ones (its bathrooms are ridiculously tiny). The hotel doesn't have a breakfast room. Having breakfast in a room is an option, but not the most relaxing one taking into account rooms sizes. The staff is friendly and helpful. Hotel's location is its best feature: within walking distance to many major attractions (Siene cruises are 2 minutes away) and opposite to Louvre. My mom had an anniversary during our stay, but the hotel did not go any extra mile to mark it, which I find unfortunate. In general, we liked the hotel and felt very comfortable, but I find it quite overpriced.

Room Tip: Inner court rooms do not have a nice view but are very quiet. Small double room has a very small be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tuchka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

A charming little hotel in an excellent location – next to the Louvre in a quiet side road.

We were staying in Paris to catch up with my brother and his wife and this hotel provided a great base. Yes, our room (15) was on the small size, but what hotel rooms of this style in Paris are not?. The wardrobe provided enough room for all our ‘stuff’, there was a small desk and couple of chairs and room to move around. The shower over the bath was perfect for our use.

The proprietor and all staff were very pleasant and friendly and the room service breakfast, although a little expensive at 13 euros each, was a good start to the day with its selection of croissants, breads, jams, yoghurt, orange juice and tea. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the_stoddarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

This was our second stay at the Relais du Louvre, and our last one. We love the location of this hotel, on a side street just next to the Louvre. On a previous stay, we had found the room small and quirky, as befits a renovated old building turned hotel, but overall charming. This time, the room we were given, 11, was so painfully small, even by European standards, that we could not open our suitcase, or maneuver around the bed to get dressed. The bathroom was equally small, with a shower so tiny you could barely raise one arm to soap and shampoo. We could not figure out how to work the AC / heat system (which was either not functioning, or this could be our own ignorance), and we were uncomfortable all night. This is really too bad, as we wanted to continue liking this hotel, but even for a "modest" 200 Euros by Paris standards, we had higher expectations for a room to stay in.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jhugon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We stayed 6 nights in Suite 51 with our 11 and 9 year old children. The room was a good size with a study area and large bathroom. It was beautifully decorated, clean and quiet. The staff were lovely and a great help in suggesting great restaurants, activities and looking up transport and strike information when required. The location of this hotel is in the heart of Paris, next to the Louvre and a block and a half from Pont Neuf. We walked to this river after dinner a few nights for a view to the Eiffel tower and then around Notre Dame. We did not have breakfast in the hotel, instead found a great bakery about a block and a half along Rue de Rivoli toward the Louvre on the side street which ends in a T intersection. (There is also a small supermarket along this street on the right.)
We ate at Angelina's (fantastic morning tea with hot chocolate or a parisian breakfast.) We ate dinner at Au Chien Qui Fume on two evenings- lovely dinner, friendly staff and Divine desserts. The paintings in this restaurant really set the scene.
The Paris museum pass was great and let us skip lines at the galleries. Musee De l'Orangerie was very special and go early when the waterlily rooms will be less busy. The gallery under these rooms has a lovely collection, whilst not large, with Renior, Picasso and Monet as well as other artists.
Thankyou to Angelique and Sophie and the other staff for our lovely stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ML501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Sophie was the most pleasant host on our rather short stay. The room was clean and beautifully decorated. Love the elevator! Although right behind the Louvre, and therefore convenient to the important highlights of Paris, we walked all the way from the Bateaux Mouches (Pont d'Alma) one evening - quite a trek. Would recommend to anyone wanting to see the sights of Paris - whatever bank they choose.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guhor1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France
Les Halles
Hotel de la Place du Louvre - Esprit de France
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel La Tamise - Esprit de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Le Relais des Halles
Le Relais des Halles
#15 of 1,805 in Paris
574 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Britannique
Hotel Britannique
#164 of 1,805 in Paris
1,586 reviews
Quartier Latin
Le Lapin Blanc
Le Lapin Blanc
#39 of 1,805 in Paris
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relais du Louvre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais du Louvre

Address: 19 rue des Pretres St G L Auxerrois, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#51 Family Hotel in Paris
#132 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#467 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £123 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Relais du Louvre 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming non-smoking hotel offers 21 fully renovated rooms right in front of the Louvre Museum (10 rooms have a view on the Louvre Museum)/6 floors with lift. The street is very quiet and located right in the middle of the city. Most monuments such as Notre-Dame, the Louvre Museum, the Opera House, the Champs Elysées, the Pompidou Centre, the Sainte-Chapelle and the Conciergerie but also the Seine river with the Ile de la Cité and Ile Saint-Louis are walking distance. SERVICES: parking, breakfast served from 7 AM until 12 even during the week, room service for diner from 6PM until 3AM, free tea and Nespresso coffee break every day from 2PM until 8PM in the lobby, skip the line Louvre entrance tickets, laundry TECHNOLOGY: free WIFI in the entire hotel, free computer with printer in the lobby, tablet computer and printer at disposal, Bose Bluetooth speakers, smart TV with USB connexion and VOD, 62 TV programs and 12 radios AMENITIES: minibars, safe, real hair dryer, bath products ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Relais du Louvre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Du Louvre Hotel Paris
Le Relais Du Louvre Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing