We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The location is great! (errr, that's the end of the good news.)”
Review of Le Cafe du Musee

Le Cafe du Musee
Ranked #13,604 of 17,161 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
Neighbourhood: Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The location is great! (errr, that's the end of the good news.)”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The food was adequate but the service was surly, disinterested and at times, just plain rude. In other countries you hear about such experiences in France, but fortunately this was the only place in two weeks where we experienced less than great service. Everybody else was charming and attentive. NOT so at Le Cafe du Musee. To be clear, this is the place on the corner, not in the Musee Rodin. I should also point out that the obnoxious service was not limited to one person. All three service staff we had contact with gave us the distinct impression that they wished all the patrons would just go away. In the middle of the afternoon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neville J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    12
    19
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good quiche, Sancerre, and people watching”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is an easy lunch spot after the Rodin museum or Les Invalides. Typical French bistro fare and service, but a nice corner of Paris for seeing people come and go. Not worth a special trip, but certainly a nice respite from the hustle and bustle of seeing Paris.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great lunch - affordable stop!”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stopped for lunch while at the museum and were so glad we did. A light lunch of soup legumes and a salad was perfect. The croissants were light and fresh. This is a buffet style and it was fast and easy to make a choice with every dish laid out for viewing behind the glass.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie0791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great lunch after the Rodin Museum”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

The crowd at lunchtime meant we had to squeeze in, but it was worth it. The daily special dish of Lapin ( rabbit breast) was one of the best dishes I had in the 2 weeks we spent in Paris. The waiter was helpful and the local diners friendly. We would certainly go back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DianeBrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

This museum is located caddy-corner to Musee Rodin, called "du musee," and its' menu is listed in several languages. All of this would lead you to believe that the patrons would, if not be overjoyed about tourists, at least be cordial, as this cafe's namesake indicates its' understanding that it is adjacent to a tourist destination. You would be incorrect. The waiter we had was brisque and dour, even when addressed exclusively in French, rushed us to order, and then WALKED AWAY when my companion hesitated for a few seconds (seriously, about 10 seconds) when selecting her order. We got up and walked out. Don't place your cafe next to museum, and name your resto after it, if you dont want museum visitors coming to your cafe!

Helpful?
1 Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed Le Cafe du Musee also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Cafe du Musee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing