We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deliciously surprising urban indian cuisine set in French brasserie decor”
Review of Marcel

Marcel
Ranked #2,552 of 17,315 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Canal Saint-Martin
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Deliciously surprising urban indian cuisine set in French brasserie decor”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Along the beautiful setting of Canal Saint Martin, here is a surprising restaurant set in French decor but serving a delicious mix of urban indian cuisine. The Lamb Bryiani is not to be missed - exquisitely tasty for a reasonable price. The place can get busy on weekends but service is generally good the 3 or 4 times I've been there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    166
    66
    44
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I was invited with friends to this trendy restaurant facing Le canal, and, though I've never heard of them before, I was really disappointed. I'm a big fan of Indian food, and the chicken masala I ordered was really tasteless compared to numerous Indian restaurant elsewhere. The room itself is surprising for an Indian restaurant, and it seems that owners bet everything on it. Service was long and we were asked to move very quickly after the last spoon...Dishes were also overpriced compared to simpler but better competitors.
And this place is really, really too much noisy, I could't hear my friends unless they screamed sometimes!
No, I won't come back again, I really prefer Indian run restaurants in the Indian neighborhood.

Helpful?
2 Thank Sebastien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park CA
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Along the Canal, great lunch”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Very surprised by the quality of the meal here. Had two fixed price lunches, which we thought were well priced. Indian influenced cuisine. Possibly our best meal so far in out three day stay in Paris. Nice setting. Great decor.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gcruik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“delicious!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I love this restaurant! its decorated very nicely and situated right on the canal. The only problem is that its a little bit expensive for what it is.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lsbro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great location, food and drinks, a bit pricey for budget travellers”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

great indian food that will make you full for hours. nice cocktail selection and great location on the canal are also worth a mention. a bit pricey though for budget travelers. i recommend butter chicken and bollywood boulevard cocktail.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitrowizaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marcel also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Marcel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing