We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value in an expensive city”
Review of Hotel Le Littre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Le Littre
Ranked #191 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good Value in an expensive city”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Loved this hotel because of location. It is individually owned . Rooms are of good size.
They are in the process of doing final decorating. Ask for a newly refurbished room.
The front desk staff was very helpful and no request was to small.
Breakfast was good and we enjoyed the bar. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkobsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectionCommerciale, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Littre, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dearest Linworldtraveler,

Greetings from the magical City of Lights!

I just shared your wonderful comments with our team and we all would like to thank you for your lovely review!
We are delighted to see that we met your expectations - finding a good hotel in a very expensive city :-) - and that you will definitely come back to visit us !!

Please feel free to stay connected with us on your favorite social network: @Le_Littre on Twitter, Hotel Littre Paris on Facebook and +HôtelLeLittréParis on Google+.
We also enjoy sharing our monthly selection of exhibitions, visits and shows taking place in Paris on our blog La Plume du Littré.

Needless to say, we remain at your entire disposal shall you have any question for us!

With our very best regards,

France & Cristèle, your devoted guest relation team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    430
    82
    15
    14
See reviews for
314
510
32
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were very disappointed when we checked into Hotel Le Littre hotel. We had reserved a superior double room on the 7th floor, with a view of the Eiffel Tower. It was more like a standard room in size, and the decor was dreary! The hotel itself seemed very tired. We were happy to have the view of the Eiffel tower, and a patio to sit on, however the rest was not to our liking.
We asked the hotel Manager if we could move to another room. He showed us a well decorated
room on the 6th floor. They could not move us until the next day because the room hadn't been cleaned. It was very nice but we were already unhappy about the look and feel of the hotel itself.
The bed was a VERY comfortable foam bed. The staff was very nice and the manager was kind enough to let us cancel our reservation.
It is very close to a very busy area of Monparnasse, but that area is not my cup of tea.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Archidogmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectionCommerciale, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Littre, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Zoe,

Greetings from the Hotel Le Littré!

We firstly wanted to thank you for taking the time to share your recent, but disappointing experience at Le Littré!

Further to your review, please allow me to give some more details: the room with Eiffel Tower that you had has indeed a Standard room size (approximately 20 sqm), but it is classified in the Superior category because of the breathtaking view that one has from the private terrace.
(The Standard rooms at the hotel does not have a private balcony nor a view).

Also, the rooms you saw were both already renovated; it does not have a "dreary" but classical style, and we usually do not receive negative feedback regarding the Superior rooms with private terrace and view.

As you saw, our team did her best to find an alternate option for you to be satisfied; unfortunately, none of our Deluxe or Suite room on the top floor of the hotel were available on your dates of stay to offer you a larger room as during this period, the hotel was fully booked.

Please accept our sincere apologies for not having been able to meet your expectations.
I guess the area and the hotel were not the place and type of experience you were actually looking for, but we thank you for trying :-)

We wish you a great day and remain at your entire disposal for any question you may have Zoe!

With our very best regards,

Cristèle & France, your devoted guest relation team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I gave my Paris concierge service four requirements: I wanted to stay in one of Paris's better boutique luxury hotels; I wanted to be near Luxembourg Gardens; I wanted a magnificant view of the Eiffel Tower from my room; and I didn't want to spend a fortune. My concierge service earned their fee by recommending this hotel.

The Hotel Le Littre is close enough to walk to many of the must-see sights in the City of Lights, yet far enough away from the tourist and traffic din that encompasses the city centre. Tucked discreetly away on a small side street in the Montparnasse area of Paris (sixth arrondisement), you wouldn't even know there was a hotel on the street if not for a small awning over the front steps. You were living among Parisians, not tourists, which is exactly what I wanted to do.

The hotel itself had a certain air about it of understated elegance. Nothing flashy or garish like the big tourist hotels, but rather a feeling of comfort and sophistication that would appeal to the most discerning of guests. We reserved a large penthouse room with a huge balcony and a spectacular view of the Eiffel Tower. It was not inexpensive, but if you can afford to splurge, you won't regret it.

The hotel's staff was friendly and cordial and most spoke English well enough. As an example of the hotel's excellent service, one Sunday morning I walked to a nearby farmer's market and bought a few freshly made organic muffins. I asked the clerk at the front desk if the kitchen could heat up my muffins. She took them from me and in less than 10 minutes, the restaurant manager brought the muffins to my room along with a complimentary carafe of hot coffee for us to enjoy on our balcony... with the hotel's compliments!

It seemed like everything we needed was just around the corner... Bakery, Post Office, Banks, Grocery, Restaurants and Cafe's galore, and a hair salon where my wife had her hair done.

If you enjoy staying around the noise, tourist trade, and traffic of the Champs-Élysées, this hotel is not for you, but if you want a quiet, well-located, luxury hotel, where you'll live among the Parisians in sophisticated elegance, don't hesitate to make reservations at Hotel Le Littre!

Room Tip: Get a penthouse room with a view of the Eiffel Tower if you can afford to splurge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SheldonHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectionCommerciale, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Littre, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear SheldonHW,

Greetings from a beautiful sunny day in Paris!

If we could rank our guests' reviews on TripAdvisor (why not? let us dream about it and reverse the initial concept :-)), you will definitely get the highest score !!

The only thing we can actually say is a huge THANK YOU for your amazing support and so lovely review, as well as for the splendid pictures you shared with the TripAdvisor community !!

Please also thank your personal Concierge for us for recommending our property to you; we feel so proud that we actually met the four requirements you mentionned to your Concierge :-)

Also, allow us to congratulate you for this beautiful comment that is so well written :-) It is a real pleasure to read you SheldonHW!

Needless to say, all our team is expecting you to come back whenever you can for your future stays in Paris !

Please keep in mind that you can also stay connected to us via Twitter@Le_Littre, Hotel Littre Paris on Facebook and +HôtelLeLittréParis on Google+. We also enjoy sharing Paris and hotel destinations on our blog "La Plume du Littré"!

With our warmest regards,

France & Cristèle, your devoted guest relation team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Let me start by saying the breakfast is amazing, Hotel itself is very nice and staff excellent.
Couldnt ask for much more from a city hotel. Really nice hotel bar on site and the beds are very comfy..

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J3dyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectionCommerciale, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Littre, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Sir,

Many thanks for your wonderful review!

We would love to get comments like this every day :-) Thank you for choosing our property for your stay in Paris and for taking the time to express your pleasant opinion about it!

Please feel free to contact us for any question you may have, we are at your disposal!
You can also contact us through Twitter @Le_Littre, book via Facebook Hotel Littre Paris and follow Paris news on Google+HôtelLeLittréParis.

We wish you a great weekend!

Warm regards,

France & Cristèle, your devoted guest relation team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The Staff at the hotel is absolutely Amazing and the location is prime for you to walk all over Paris, and I truly mean everywhere. The only complaint that we had was that during the time that we were there renovations were being done in the room next to us, and they started hammering at 700 am which was horrible for people traveling and on vacation. There were a few guys that work there that speak very good english and they were very helpful. We will definitely stay here again for the staff and the location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDJLDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectionCommerciale, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Littre, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Greetings from Paris!

We gladly acknowledge receipt of your lovely review and we would like to thank you for taking the time to write it and for recommending our property!
We are honored to have been chosen for your romantic stay in Paris, celebrating such a special anniversary!!

Please accept our deepest apologies for the inconvenience caused by the works that took place in the room next to yours; we are quite surprised as the workers are supposed to start later than this in order not to bother our guests who want to enjoy a restful night :-)

We definitely look forward to welcoming you again at Le Littré and we invite you to stay connected to us via Twitter @Le_Littre, on Facebook at Hotel Littre Paris and on Google+HôtelLeLittréParis.

With our very best regards,

Cristèle & France, your devoted guest relation team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We spent a week at this hotel and enjoyed it. The hotel staff was superb, extremely polite and provided us outstanding service. Our room was quiet and clean. We were very happy with our travel agents suggestion and I never would have found this hotel from the internet. The Hotel is located on a side street off the main street. The location was excellent and close to a wide variety of restaurants and the metro. Our last night we had drinks in the lounge and the server was very nice and polite. We walked to the Eiffel Tower from the hotel - a long walk but charming. I felt very safe at this hotel and would suggest the Hotel Le Littre to our friends visitng Paris.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank weblakefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dirco, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Littre, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

Just like the previous comment: we LOVE your review title :-)
We like to be considered as a "little gem": we are indeed located in a wonderful area with everything at hand, in a one-way street that makes it very quiet and enables our guests to rest peacefully after a long day walking around the City of Lights!!

Thank you for choosing our property for your week stay in Paris, as well as for recommending our property to your friends and family; we would be delighted to welcome them at Le Littré and we hope they will be as pleased as you were :-)

Our team and I thank you again and remain at your disposal for any further information you may need,

Warmest regards,

Cristèle & France, your devoted guest relation team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

The rooms are clean, the staff was very nice and greeted you every time they see you walk in to the lobby . The location was close to several metro stations that get you to all major tourist sites. Lots of cafes and brasseries close by as well as shops. The rooms are small to American standards but your not in Paris to coupe yourself up in the room anyway,if that's what you want to do you may as well stay home.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lei V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dirco, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Littre, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Lei V,

What a great review title!!!

Your comment is just perfect and we definitely look forward to welcoming you once more for your next stay in Paris to get more pleasant comments like yours :-)

You are right when saying that "the rooms are small to American standards": in Paris, most of the hotel rooms in the first category have an approximate size of 13 sqm, sometimes even less... we are quite lucky here at Le Littré as our smallest room is already 20 sqm!! Enough space for two adults and a comfortable bathroom to relax in after a tough day walking around our beautiful City of Lights!
Monuments and museums, cafes and brasseries, shops... this is the ideal schedule when visiting Paris, and this is exactly where you will find everything starting from Montparnasse area!

Please feel free to contact us for any question you may have !

With our warmest regards,

France & Cristèle, your devoted guest relation team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Legend Hotel by Elegancia
Legend Hotel by Elegancia
#109 of 1,802 in Paris
1,094 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Louison Hotel
Louison Hotel
#198 of 1,802 in Paris
1,103 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Sainte Beuve
Hotel Sainte Beuve
#33 of 1,802 in Paris
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel & Spa La Belle Juliette
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#172 of 1,802 in Paris
688 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Academies et des Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Littre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Littre

Property: Hotel Le Littre
Address: 9 Rue Littre, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#133 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#201 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#227 Family Hotel in Paris
#514 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Littre 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Littre offers you a warm welcome at the heart of Paris. From the moment you set foot in the hotel, the concierge and the rest of our team will give you a personal welcome, and you will always be greeted by a friendly face during your stay. We take pride in offering a genuine welcome. Hotel Littre has been in the same family for three generations and is still going strong. This place has real character Hotel Littre has a unique feel to it which radiates peace and tranquility to all its guests. Classic elegance perfectly complements the warm atmosphere. Whether in the cosy bar, the new winter garden or in your room, you will feel at ease. Luxury at Hotel Littre is expressed through timeless refinement reflected in the surroundings, furnishings and gestures. "Art de vivre" the French way… It occupies an ideal Paris location between Montparnasse & Saint Germain des Pres The rue Littre is one of those Paris streets which you may stumble across by chance; a quiet street cached between bustling shopping streets. Discreet and elegant Away from the city hustle and bustle but still close to Paris life, tucked away in the street of the same name. Daytime pleasures near the Hotel Littre include Montparnasse and Saint-Germain-des-Pres, a quick trip to the Bon Marche department store, or the Jardin du Luxembourg, Hotel des Invalides and the Eiffel Tower. When night falls, you have Paris theatres nearby and the popular Left Bank brasseries. There is nothing better than exploring the treasures of the French capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Littre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Littre Hotel Paris
Hotel Littre Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing