We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in the middle of Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Sydney Opera
Ranked #113 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good hotel in the middle of Paris”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel is a nice, not-so-expensive option to stay in the business area of Paris.

It's very well-located with lots of restaurants, cafes, big department stores within walking distance.

The room was quiet, and rather large (it had a small "living room" and a separate bedroom). The bathroom was a bit small, but with enough space to put your stuff.

A few things could use some renovation (like the bathroom door knob that was loose), but overall the room was in very good conditions, and very clean as well.

The breakfast was included in my rate, and it was simple, but good enough. I'm not sure it's worth it to pay for it though.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flavouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGerbault, Directeur général at Best Western Plus Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Google Translation
Madame, Monsieur, nous sommmes ravis que notre localisation vous ai plus.
Il est vrai qu'il est agréable d'être situé proche des grands magasins et dans le même temps à courte distance des différentes attractions Parisiennes. Nous ne comprenons pas bien votre remarque sur le petit dejeuner, que souhaiteriez vous trouver au petit déjeuner qui mériterait d'être "payé"?
Nous proposons de nombreux produits et nous n'avons plus de place pour en proposer de supplémentaire, en revanche, estimer que tous ces produits ne méritent pas d'être réglé, je vous trouve trés sévère, n'hésitez pas à revenir vers nous pour nous faire part de ce qui vous a manqué lors de votre petit déjeuner !
Nous espèrons avoir la chance de vous accueillir une nouvelle fois à Paris,
bien cordialement
Anne-Marie Gerbault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    227
    34
    10
    3
See reviews for
97
324
42
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
City of Greater Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Our stay exceeded our expectations from the moment we arrived. The room was very well appointed, clean and quiet. The breakfast was well appointed with a wide range of fresh and enjoyable choices. The location is central to all sites, transport and shopping centres.
The overriding factor was the staff who were friendly and welcoming from the outset. They ensured that all needs and requests were addressed promptly and professionally- including organising the return of a camera which followed us through Europe and ultimately was sent by this hotel back to Australia!

Room Tip: We had a room that looked over the central light well rather than the street. The lack of view was m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregTrichelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGerbault, Directeur général at Best Western Plus Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Good Morning Australia, here is Sydney Opéra !!!
We are so lucky your camera arrived safe...
Thank you so much for your kind comment, see you agin in Paris,
Sincerely,
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Rooms were small, but comfortable. Excellent location, just a short walk from Roissy bus stop for airport trip, and also la Fayette galleries and hop on hop off bus. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included in room rate and was a good quality and choice

Room Tip: We had a room on the street, but very little noise when door closed. Shower over bath, and bath very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loretta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGerbault, Directeur général at Best Western Plus Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Good Afternoon Melbourne, Hello from Sydney !!!
Thank you to taking time to wrote a comment, we hope to have the chance to welcome you again in Paris, may be in an other season..,
All the best,
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I booked our night at the Hotel Sydney Opera after reading other reviews on trip advisor. I used to work in hospitality and so I know first hand, how quickly a hotel can turn around under good or bad management! I was impressed that the GM of this hotel responded to trip advisor comments and I was pleased by the recent reviews.

About our stay: We booked just a few days ahead of time through the hotel website, we got a great rate and breakfast included. On check-in the attendant was both efficient and friendly. Our room was in perfect shape, small, but we got a GREAT RATE and a perfectly clean, perfectly maintained, stylish room, in a great Paris neighborhood. I was not sure what to expect for breakfast, but was pleased to find a variety of health options (granola, hard boiled eggs, yogurts), as well as sweet breads, deli meats and cheeses, juice, coffee and tea. We dined about 30 minutes before they closed and everything was still fresh.

Check-out was smooth, our room was quite and we slept great!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waterreflecting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGerbault, Directeur général at Best Western Plus Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Good Morning from Paris,
Your feedback is very important to us and we value it. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future, you encourage us ! Thank you so much !
Best regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Very comfortable and clean, good beds, charming decor, rooms a bit small and helpful staff with prompt directions how to get to them and to nearby restaurants, shops etc. Breakfast was adequate for a 3 star hotel, front lobby with comfortable chairs and tables with newspapers in French and English and magazines.

Room Tip: Our room on the 3rd floor was facing the street and noisy if window ajar to let in some air at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avelana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGerbault, Directeur général at Best Western Plus Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Good Morning from Sydney...!!! We hope you had a nice trip back home to Australia.
Thank you to taking the time to wrote a comment concerning your stay with us ; we are so glad you enjoyed your time in Paris ! We hope to see you again in France in an other season may be ;
Have a nice winter..!!!
Regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great boutique-style hotel located in a convenient central location in Paris. Staff were welcoming and helped us answer any queries we had. Our room was on the ground floor and faced an internal courtyard as opposed to the street. Decent sized room and pleasantly surprised to find that we had private access to a lovely little courtyard which had a small table and two chairs. Peaceful at night, we slept well. Breakfast is served until 11am which is good but depending at what time you arrive, you may need to wait for your table to prepared as there seems to be only one member of staff overseeing the breakfast area. Drinks from the bar were very affordable. In summary, a great little find and very good value. I am sure we will be returning again soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bouzigues09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGerbault, Directeur général at Best Western Plus Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Hello from Paris !
We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us ; we try to improve breakfast on weekend because of tourist customers came down at the time in breakfast room ; we think to served again breakfast in room…If you had a good idea, let us know please, your feed back is very important for us to improve our services.
UK is not far from Sydney opéra, we hope to welcome you again in Paris, may be in an other season !
Best regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel de Seze
Hotel de Seze
#121 of 1,800 in Paris
338 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Maison Athenee
Maison Athenee
#122 of 1,800 in Paris
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Augustin - Astotel
#51 of 1,800 in Paris
745 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Caumartin Opera - Astotel
Champs-Elysees
Hotel La Sanguine
Hotel La Sanguine
#80 of 1,800 in Paris
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Sydney Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Sydney Opera

Property: Best Western Plus Hotel Sydney Opera
Address: 50, Rue Des Mathurins | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France (Formerly Best Western Hotel Sydney Opera)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#164 Family Hotel in Paris
#172 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Sydney Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Sydney Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sydney Opera
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing