We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in Paris only a walk to Printemps and metro.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Sydney Opera
Ranked #132 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Morgantown, WV
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A gem in Paris only a walk to Printemps and metro.”
Reviewed 18 June 2009

This charming hotel is on a street of shops and restaurants. It has a tiny elevator and stairs to floors of rooms. The second floor has only stairs but easily ascended with luggage. The first floor consists of a cozy lobby, bar and a breakfast room with a glass ceiling. From my bedroom I could see down into the breakfast room. Our room had a living room area and a separate area for the bed, night stands and a small chair. Windows provided cross breezes. The bath had a great tub as I love a bath. Not too many of those in hotels in Europe. For breakfast we had eggs, croissants, Danishes, breads, ham, turkey, cheeses, Nutella, jams, a variety of fresh and dried fruits, coffee, tea and juices. A plentiful fare that is included in the price of the hotel room. The staff is very helpful and friendly, always willing to answer questions and offer assistance in any way needed. I really enjoyed our stay here as I felt very much at home. I would stay here again. It is only a short walk to the metro and easy assess to restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelpartner89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    228
    34
    10
    3
See reviews for
95
318
42
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2009

This was our first first to Paris. We found location to be excellent, easy walk to Place la Concorde, Musee de Louvre, major shopping departments, Garnier Opera, nice little bar across the road for a drink and lots of great eateries close by. The staff were excellent, very friendly spoke good english (Maryanne was truly helpful and made our first visit to Paris easier with her suggestions & assistance). Breakfast was plentiful, and very nice. The room was not huge by Australian standards but was good and bathroom size (for european standards was good)
We are planning to return to Paris and will stay here. We are 50 y/o Aussies

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

We bought a package which included Hotel Sydney Opera and several tours. After three weeks travelling through France staying in an odd assortment of hotels this one was a very pleasant surprise. The room, while of course not large (this is Paris after all!) was quite OK and the bathroom was clean and bigger than many we'd seen. You have to pay 50 euros deposit for the key to the safe, but it's refundable so that's OK. The staff were terrific, very helpful, spoke good English, always friendly. The continental breakfast was quite good, again compared with others we'd been offered. And you could have hot tea, which is a big plus in Europe, it's usually served lukewarm. There's only one small elevator in our section but it wasn't a problem, it's a small hotel and we never had to wait for it.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ziggysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, WV
Level Contributor
168 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

Spent four nights at the Sydney Opera and would recommend it for anyone wanting a small property with great service. The desk staff were great in answering my often strange questions. One afternoon a member of the staff actually walked me up a block or more to show me a restaurant I seemed unable to find on my own ( two locations with the same street number, go figure it,s Paris!) Hotel is a short walk from the nearby RER station. Also located near several Metro lines depending on which direction you headed. If shopping is your desire both Printemps and Galeries Lafayette are also near. Walk to the Place De La Concorde and pass La Madeleine on the way if you like to walk (we do).
Rooms can be a bit small (we had a sitting room included by some dumb luck) but they are clean and quite comfortable. Our bothroom was not large but we had no problems with facilities and it was always clean. Take care to get an upper floor/or inside room as an Aussie bar across the street can be a noise problem later at night.
The breakfast room was not real large but we never had a problem with seating. Great selection of food including a strange system of cooking your own soft/hard boiled eggs, which does seem to work satisfactorily. Great ham along with different cheese. Rolls, chocolate croissants, croissants and tea cakes to fill the bread board. Good fresh orange juice to start the day.
A good family location.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripplanner-89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Semaphore, SOUTH AUSTRALIA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2009

As you don't get much for your money as far as Paris hotels go, or is that just me (Australian dollars after all!!!!) this hotel was perfect. Great location at an affordable price.
The staff greeted you at alltimes of the day and arranged anything you needed and promptly too. Close to the department stores. We took the Roissy bus from CDG as I had read in many reviews. It cost about 35 euros for three people and dropped you off a couple of blocks away. The hotel arranged the yellow airport shuttle company for our return to CDG and at 51 euros for door to door it was worth the extra. My suggestion would be to email the hotel and have them arrange this for your arrival too. The Roissy bus was packed to over capacity in my opinion and luggage racks were piled high and it was dangerous! Not to mention there was standing room only therefore I didn't think worth the money. I would definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2009

Stayed here for four night in April 2009 with my wife, brother and parents during a 17 day European family vacation. The location is perfect, with just a few minutes walk to several metro stations and train station. It is tucked away on a quiet street, close to PrinTemps department store and several great restaurants - Chez Papa. The rooms were comfortable, very clean and spacious compared to other European accommodations I have experienced. The breakfast was wonderful with meats, cheeses, breads yogurt and Parisian coffee. The staff was extremely helpful and provided fantastic dinner recommendations each night. Additionally, the staff mailed me my drivers license, after leaving it behind in the room, and it actually beat me home. Thank you to the staff! I would recommend this location to any traveler and would further recommended the duck dinner at Chez Papa, which is about two minutes away.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Global-Trekker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2009

It was the perfect Hotel for us, easy access to the rail stations, walk to the up market shopping, Paul's one block for the best pasteries, eating cafes, safe area for us at night, grandaughter 16th Birthday, and she loved all of Paris, The Siene River Cruise, the train to Versailles, The skegways, (a must do), Disneyland, Momartra, Giverny Monet's garden, Mont St Michel,of course the Eiffel Tower (twice) day and night, plus all the other things todo. We stayed for 14 days, Staff helped with bookings of return flights the night before.The room was big enought for both of us, Twin beds, and the Bathroom was great with its own floor to ceiling window, which opened to let the breeze in at night.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MardiRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel de Seze
Hotel de Seze
#135 of 1,802 in Paris
319 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Maison Athenee
Maison Athenee
#128 of 1,802 in Paris
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Augustin - Astotel
#60 of 1,802 in Paris
667 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel La Sanguine
Hotel La Sanguine
#66 of 1,802 in Paris
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Sydney Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Sydney Opera

Property: Best Western Plus Hotel Sydney Opera
Address: 50, Rue Des Mathurins | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France (Formerly Best Western Hotel Sydney Opera)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#164 Family Hotel in Paris
#172 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Sydney Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Best Western FR, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Sydney Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sydney Opera
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing