We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Madison Hotel by MH
Ranked #160 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
“Perfect choice”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

An amazing hotel in an excellent location, with great rooms, very friendly and helpful staff (especially Mr. Lassad)... We really enjoyed our stay at the Madison Hotel and look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tay63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Madison Hotel by MH, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Tay63,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for posting this very kind review. It was our pleasure to welcome you and we are very happy to read that we managed to reach your expectations in terms of location and personalized service !

We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Yours sincerely,
Caroline Demon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    187
    36
    16
    5
See reviews for
143
351
40
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Madison. The interior décor is very tasteful and modern, yet the exterior of the building has retained its traditional Parisian charm. We stayed on the 7th floor, overlooking the Boulevard and whilst we could hear some road noise, it was very quiet, particularly at night. The Hotel is charming and we found the service to be excellent. One small thing - I would expect the tea and coffee to be replaced each day as a matter of course in a 4 star hotel, as opposed to on request.
However, the best thing about the Madison is the location; there are hundreds of bars, cafes and restaurants to suit every taste right on your doorstep, from some very fine restaurants to a street vendor across the Boulevard selling the most delicious crepes.
I would highly recommend the Madison.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel overlooks a busy boulevard, but on the 7th floor, road noise is not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AB999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Madison Hotel by MH, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your thoughtful review. We are so pleased to hear you felt the warmth of our property during your recent trip.

Your kind words and feedback will be shared with the entire staff.

Our best wishes and look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Caroline Demon and Madison Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Our experience with the Madison Hotel started 4-5 days before we arrived when we emailed the concierge to ask for his advice on restaurants and for him to make some reservations. We got no reply. We emailed again with no response. We called, he wasn't in. We called again the day before we got there and he finally picked up. To his credit, although his tone of voice made it sound like he was taking time out of his busy day to do us a favor, he did get us a few reservations.

The hotel itself is very nice, the rooms are clean and quiet and the location is PERFECT. Our only gripe was that the shower could be finnicky, but there are two to choose from so it was not a problem. The hotel is located in the perfect spot if you plan on seeing the sights as it is close enough to everything that a taxi is rarely needed. We walked everywhere and explored the Parisian streets on our way to the various museums (I'd recommend the Orsay and the Orangerie). The hotel is also surrounded by great restaurants. We ate our first meal in Paris at the bistro around the corner, the Bistro Henri (ask the concierge, its small -- less than ten tables, and is the prototypical French bistro, nothing spectacular but amazing). Also in the neighborhood are two excellent restaurants, Semilla and Fish la Boissonnerie. Both are exquisite, not overly expensive (around 50 Euros a person) and offer excellent food. They are not as fancy as Joel Robuchon but, for what they offer, are just as good. If you are able to get in and the budget allows a meal at l'Atelier Joel Robuchon, it is worth every penny. Amazing food and presentation and you get to watch the chefs cook while you eat.

Back to the hotel, the stay was great up until the end when things began to come apart Throughout the stay we asked for water in the room, every time we prefaced our request by confirming that water was, in fact, included with the room. Every time the answer was yes. Lo and behold, upon checkout we were charged SEVEN EUROS a bottle. When we explained to the woman behind the desk what happened, she said she was unable to do anything because her manager was not present. For what a room here costs, that is unacceptable made worse by her then proceeding to prove truly incompetent screwing up the checkout twice and demonstrating an inability to do basic math.
I do not understand why we were repeatedly told that water was included when it wasn't (a first considering every other hotel in this price range includes it) and then when confronted with the bill she wasn't able to do anything. As we are leaving early in the morning we will have to wait until we get back home to know if the charges were dropped. In the future, hotel management may want to allow their employees to change certain small charges or allow their employees to call them if there is a problem... Needless to say this is unacceptable and really left a bad taste in our mouths.

Overall I think I would recommend the hotel to a friend as the rooms were fine and the location is great, but expect a unresponsive concierge and for what amounts to a bank robbery if you drink a bottle of water!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bms12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Madison Hotel by MH, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit and observations on your stay. Your feedback is invaluable to us. Obviously, we did not meet your expectations in a few different areas I will certainly follow up in the required departments to correct any and all shortfalls.

However concerning water consumption rates are clearly stick up into the room.

I hope you will give us another chance to return to the madison Hotel in the near future.

With kind regards.
Caroline Demon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponta Grossa, PR
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I choose the hotel for its location first: in the pleasant Saint Germain des Prés neighborhood, right across the church with the same name. The hotel itself is a small, familiar mood place. Very beautiful and well decorated. The superior room facing the street is very good, with bathroom, tub, very good shower and appliances. The breakfast is also very good. Plus, the staff is very welcoming and caring. Wonderful staying is what I can say.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeis0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Madison Hotel by MH, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Bonjour de Saint Germain des Prés,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments !

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were overall satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us.

The entire team is looking forward to welcome you back soon to Paris,

Yours sincerely,
Caroline Demon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC,NY
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I always enjoy staying on the left bank of Paris and decided to try the Madison Hotel after passing
it the last time I was in Paris. I couldn't have been happier with my choice. The service was
outstanding and the rooms were nice and clean. The location is perfect, with a metro stop
1/2 block away with shopping and restaurants all around the hotel.
I will definitely stay at this hotel on my next trip to Paris.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ny-likestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Madison Hotel by MH, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Madison Hotel.

How wonderful that the hotel and the service were up to your expectations.

We truly hope to see you back soon.

Caroline Demon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The hotel was lovely. Ideally located on rue Saint Germaine. You get to all the main sites within 20 mins whether by metro or walking. Calling the room a courtyard view was somewhat artistic license as all there was was wall and a dirty roof but as we weren't in Paris for the hotel it was fine. However it was well worth it for location

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bambetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Madison Hotel by MH, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Bambetta,

Thanks you for your remarks. We will not deny that some of our rooms are bit small, and unfortunately, it is a real issue for hotels in this district of Paris. But as we used to say "Small is beautiful" :)

That's why we ask our guest to contact us directly to book a stay - to select the room that suits the best !

I will be pleased to welcome you back in a much larger room (with a view over Saint Germain des Prés) and meet you at this occasion.

Sincerely,
Caroline Demon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotherham
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

A half term break to show our granddaughter the sights of Paris for the first time was certainly enhanced with our stay at this lovely hotel. Very well appointed rooms with everything you need including good views of the boulevard and old church. The superior rooms (we had 74 & 75) were a little small, but that seems consistent with Paris when reading reviews of other hotels, and being located on the seventh floor were so quiet we overslept on our first morning!
Extremely well located and within easy striking distance of all the main tourist sites, with the Metro stations adjacent, and a huge choice of restaurants in the immediate vicinity, which is very useful as breakfast was an additional charge which for four of us would have been an unnecessary expense, as any visit to Paris can be a serious shock to the wallet!
Lovely friendly helpful staff, and like other guests, who's previous good reviews helped us to make this informed choice via Trip Advisor we are more than happy to add our recommendations. The main accolade being from our granddaughter who can't wait to return to both Paris and the Madison Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ralphwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Madison Hotel by MH, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Ralphwalker,

We thank you very much for your warm comment ! It was a real pleasure to welcome you with all your family and to help you during your stay.

Our priority is to make you feel like Home !

Do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit with your grand-mother !

We hope to welcome you all again very soon.

Kind regards
Caroline Demon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Artus Hotel by MH
Artus Hotel by MH
#82 of 1,800 in Paris
930 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel De Buci by MH
Hotel De Buci by MH
#72 of 1,800 in Paris
751 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#69 of 1,800 in Paris
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
#26 of 1,800 in Paris
738 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
#109 of 1,800 in Paris
1,082 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Pas de Calais
Hotel Pas de Calais
#87 of 1,800 in Paris
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Hotel by MH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Hotel by MH

Property: Madison Hotel by MH
Address: 143 Boulevard St Germain, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Family Hotel in Paris
#118 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#127 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#218 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Madison Hotel by MH 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Madison Hotel, in the Latin Quarter of Saint Germain-des-Prés, is a boutique hotel in a chic, contemporary style.This delightful hotel with its 50 rooms and suites is located on the Left Bank opposite the church of Saint-Germain-des-Prés and a mere stone's throw from the Seine, the Louvre and the Musée d’Orsay, and the Cathedral of Notre Dame de Paris.The hotel rubs shoulders on the Boulevard Saint Germain with the Café de Flore and the Café de 2 Magots, at the heart of a quarter famed for its cafés, art galleries, museums, antique dealers and designer fashion boutiques. The Madison Hotel is also firmly at the heart of literary Paris... Albert Camus spent some time at the hotel in the spring of 1940, and it was here that he completed his existentialist novel "L'Etranger" (The Outsider). Perhaps his spirit still hovers somewhere... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Madison Hotel by MH reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Madison Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing