We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madison Hotel by MH

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Madison Hotel by MH
Ranked #145 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Awesome location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We liked this hotel quite a bit, however, feel like it could be a superior hotel with some changes. Things we LOVED: location - super close to the metro, situated across the street from a lovely church, we had a larger room and it was definitely large enough, we had an interior door which kept the hotel noise down to nonexistent, we had huge gorgeous windows overlooking the Ste Germaine church with double windows to keep noise out, great towels, loved the body lotion, fantastic AC, helpful front desk staff, comfy bedding. Things we didn't care for: the shower was AWFUL - 2-3 inches of water pooled in the bottom of the tub every time we took a shower thus leaving us not feeling fully clean, the breakfast waiter was rude and surly (the female servers were terrific), our room could've been cleaner - stains on the carpet and the bathroom had a few hairs (cleanliness is my no 1 hot spot).

Net net: this could be an over the top hotel as it's very tastefully appointed and all the above mentioned. I really think that if they pay attention to the details this will be a top hotel. We would definitely stay here again and feel that the price is worth every penny.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ksr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Madison Hotel by MH, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear KSR 2013,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor regarding your recent experience with us.

I would like to assure you that we constantly strive to achieve only the highest level of quality and service . I truly regret that we fell short on our goals. We will make sure to share your comments with our team to understand what happened as this is not the feedback we receive.
We sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back at the Madison Hotel.

Best Regards,
Caroline Demon – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    173
    27
    15
    4
See reviews for
120
300
38
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Deptford, NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Excellent location in the St Germain area. Friendly & helpful staff with good recommendations. We were 2 adults and our 11 year old daughter; we had a small suite on the 6th floor, stayed for six nights. Then we picked up our rental car closeby, Sixt rental, and off to see more of France. Hopefully we can return here in a few years.

Room Tip: We had a rear facing room and it keep out any street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingFamily54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Madison Hotel by MH, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear TravelingFamily,

I can’t tell you how happy it makes me feel to know that you and your family had such a great time with us.

We all can’t wait for you to come back !

My best regards,
Caroline Demon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellaire, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Madison Hotel earlier this month. The hotel was clean and modern and our room was very spacious. The location was great around so many cafes and restaurants--perfect for a relaxing stay in this beautiful city. The concierge staff was very helpful in arranging reservations and tours. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Madison Hotel by MH, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Cindy A,

We are very happy you and your husband were satisfied with your stay at the Madison Hotel and we thank you for choosing it. We hope you were able to relax as much as possible and at the same time enjoy Paris’ attractions and restaurants!
We are glad the room pleased you, and that you found it very spacious! We thank you as well for the nice feedback about our concierge staff!!
We would love to have you back at the Madison Hotel, or in one of our other hotels (we own 5 hotels in Paris). Please contact us for any further reservation!!!
We are looking forward to hearing from you soon!

Sincerely,
Caroline Demon – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was a great start to our European holiday.

We'd booked a deluxe room and it was perfect. It was a good size room, bright and cheerful, with clever wardrobe space and a fridge and a Nespresso machine behind the two large floor to ceiling mirrors that slide across to reveal the space. This is the first time I've stayed in a hotel which had more hangers that I could use. The bathroom was large, especially for Paris standard. It had two sinks. The shower was in the tub and there was a design floor - the floor gets wet when you shower.

It had a view of the oldest church in Paris, St. Germaine church. The outside of the church looked like any other church, but the inside is absolutely beautiful. Much of the colours have faded over the years, I can only imagine its splendour in days past. There is some refurbishment work going on now and should be completed by late this year or next year.

As many reviewers had said, the location of the hotel is perfect. It is near two subway stations, and near all the restaurants and sites. The Notre Dame, The Lourve and River Seine were so close by. It was smack right between Laduree and Pierre Hermes, both of which we visited. My husband and I are runners. We woke up early in the morning before the city woke up, and went for a run along the River Seine, to the Lourve and all the way to the Eiffel Tower. It is a spectacular way to see the city.

The breakfast was not large but every single item that was served was done perfectly. There were cold meats, a variety of cheeses, hard boiled eggs, sausages, bacon, an assortment of pastries and danishes, cereals, tiny French desserts including macarons. Absolutely divine.


There were two things that could have improved the experience:

1. Our flight arrived early in the morning and not the hotel's fault of course, the room wasn't ready. We were unceremoniously told that our room would not be ready until 3pm which is not unfair of course. After all, that was the check-in time. However, after a 13-hour journey, what would have really helped was if they'd offered us a cup of coffee or a drink while we freshened up and deposited our luggage before we headed out.

2. The bed arrangement is two single beds pushed together with two single duvets. When we finally got to the room at 3pm, we saw this arrangement and my husband asked the reception for a change to a king size bed. He was informed that the housekeeping people had left and that the night service people would see to that but we were to use the room in the meantime. So we were under the impression that we would have to move rooms. Therefore, we just used the shower but did not unpack. In the evening, when we asked about the change, the night receptionist informed us that we were not changing room and that the night service people would just rearrange the bedding. By that, they meant that they'd change the sheets to a king size sheet and provide us with one king size duvet instead of two single bed duvets. The mattresses are still two single ones. I accept that this is the best arrangement under the circumstances but would have appreciated it if they'd communicated this to us clearly in the beginning.

For these two reasons, the hotel gets 4 and not 5 stars.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Madison Hotel by MH, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Mymoo,

Thank you for your recent visit on your stay. We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your feedback is invaluable to us. We are also very happy you enjoyed your stay, and that you could benefit from its location. We apologize for the arrangements. I will certainly follow up to seek improvements.
I hope you will give us another chance to return to the Madison Hotel in the near future.

With kind regards,
Caroline Demon – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I've just returned with my 20 year old niece from Hotel Madison on what must have been one of the hottest weekends.

Arriving mid afternoon I was pleased to see that the hotel looked fresh and modern. We were allocted a twin room on the first floor. Lovely room but unfortunately overlooking walls and grills.
I asked to change room and the receptionist couldn't have been more helpful. After a very short time he checked us in to room 25 on the second floor and asked if we would pay a small supplement for the upgrade

This room was delightful, wonderfully cool and delightfully decorated. Loads of hanging space with two wardrobes, huge mirror, also a chaise longue, desk and two comfortable chairs. It overlooked the boulevard with two lots of French doors opening on to a small balcony with a lovely and typically Parisienne view . The balcony was surrounded by trailing geraniums and greenery. We were even serenaded by typical French music which wafted up to the room from the street below. This is the stuff that French dreams are made of . . .

The bathroom was large and beautifully tiled with two unusual basins, a good shower and high quality toileteries and towels

Breakfast was nice, with good quality food served buffet style in a small yet stylish breakfast area although I would say try one of the cafes nearby. The surrounding area included amongst others, high end clothing shops and restuarants including Les Deux Magots and Cafe de Flore all within yards

I feel I must make a special mention of the two hotel staff on duty on our arrival who really couldn't have been more helpful and pleasant. The jewel in the crown however is Nicholas, the night manager who made our stay out of the ordinary. He was so helpful to us and everyone he met and just a joy.

Not a cheap hotel but not extortionate. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone who likes a boutique style hotel with good quality rooms, pleasant staff in an ideal location

Room Tip: Choose a room on the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kat29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Madison Hotel by MH, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Kat,

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We are also pleased and touched by your very nice comment about your stay at the Madison Hotel. We are glad we were able to make your stay pleasant and that you could enjoy Paris. Besides, we appreciate your positive feedback about the quality of the service very much. Our teams will be happy to hear such positive comments. We will be sure to share your kind feedback with the team. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you again at the Madison Hotel!

Best Regards,
Caroline Demon – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ada, Ohio
Level Contributor
114 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

It is always a pleasure to check in at the Madison after a trans-Atlantic flight. I had first picked the hotel for its location but I return to it as much for the warmth and professionalism of the staff as for its convenience. The rooms are lovely and the deluxe rooms are surprisingly roomy for Paris. I recommend room 35 which has a nice view out on the Blvd. St. Germain and is spacious. The hotel is convenient to two Metro lines and is just a short walk to fine restaurants. The walk from the Madison to the Seine is one of my favorite Paris strolls.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kdh1716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Madison Hotel by MH, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear kdh1716,

And it is always a pleasure to have you with us, at the Madison Hotel! We thank you so much for the very nice comments you wrote about our hotel! We are very happy you like our rooms (especially room n°35!) and we are extremely pleased to know how much you value our teams!! It is really nice to hear such comments! We are also glad to know you enjoy the area, the nice strolls along the Seine River and some fine restaurants near to the Madison Hotel!
We look forward to your next visit!!!

Best regards,
Caroline Demon – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed in the St Germain area from a recommendation from a friend who lived in Paris for several years. Great location and a great area to walk to many places. This small boutique hotel was just perfect for myself and 18 year old granddaughter. The service was wonderful and very helpful in every way. We could even walk to the Lourve from our hotel. It was a long walk but I'm 65 and did fine walking. All the streets are very flat so it's easy walking. I would stay here again. The buffet breakfast was pricy but we did eat there once and it was great with many choices of food. The stuff was superb!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Madison Hotel by MH, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear 22575,

We are so happy you and your granddaughter liked the Madison Hotel! We are really pleased to know you found the service wonderful and helpful! We make service a higher priority! We are also glad to read you enjoyed the hotel’s location, very convenient, so that you could go for walks! (Even to the Louvre when it was so hot in Paris, congratulations!). We are happy the many choices of the breakfast pleased you!
We would be very happy to have you back with us very soon! Please contact us for any further reservation!

Sincerely,
Caroline Demon – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Artus Hotel by MH
Artus Hotel by MH
#101 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel De Buci by MH
Hotel De Buci by MH
#74 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#67 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Pont Royal
Hotel Pont Royal
#140 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel La Perle
Hotel La Perle
#135 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Hotel by MH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Hotel by MH

Property: Madison Hotel by MH
Address: 143 Boulevard St Germain, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Family Hotel in Paris
#102 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#127 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#218 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Madison Hotel by MH 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Madison Hotel, in the Latin Quarter of Saint Germain-des-Prés, is a boutique hotel in a chic, contemporary style.This delightful hotel with its 50 rooms and suites is located on the Left Bank opposite the church of Saint-Germain-des-Prés and a mere stone's throw from the Seine, the Louvre and the Musée d’Orsay, and the Cathedral of Notre Dame de Paris.The hotel rubs shoulders on the Boulevard Saint Germain with the Café de Flore and the Café de 2 Magots, at the heart of a quarter famed for its cafés, art galleries, museums, antique dealers and designer fashion boutiques. The Madison Hotel is also firmly at the heart of literary Paris... Albert Camus spent some time at the hotel in the spring of 1940, and it was here that he completed his existentialist novel "L'Etranger" (The Outsider). Perhaps his spirit still hovers somewhere... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Madison Hotel by MH reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Madison Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing