We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“recommend it”
Review of Plaza Opera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plaza Opera Hotel
Ranked #746 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Serres, Greece
1 review
“recommend it”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

very good location, only 5 min walk to metro. helpfull staff. breakfast was o.k (should taste the delicious croissants!!) there is little space to move outside the elevator and the elevator olso is small but that is because it is an old building.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimitra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    154
    69
    20
    31
See reviews for
77
134
19
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Fantastic location 15 min walk to Opera and 15min walk to Sacrecure. It also has 3 tubes in very close proximity. We were away for a girlie weekend and had a triple room, great room, 3 single beds, 2 floor to ceiling windows in the room and brand new bathroom.

Hotel were also very good as we originally booked for October, but due to illness in the group had to rearrange, and hey honoured our per-paid booking.

Would recommend this hotel, for basic, great location and value hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directriceplazaopera, Manager at Plaza Opera Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Thank you very much for your commentary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

Hotel is in dire need of face lift. Room was very old and dirty. The floor was wet from the moisture on the window in room and left for the day had a extremely strong smell when reentering the room. Minibar didn't work so we put all our drinks on the balcony. Staff didn't replace basics like soap, toilet paper without being asked. The lift is an experience in its self wouldnt recommended having large luggage. Only ate breakfast once after which we didnt bother. Very poor selection of anything. Overall very poor hotel experience.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jess F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We booked this hotel via our agent, and due to an event in Paris on those days, we ended up to go to this hotel. Before I arrived I check the reviews in Trip Advisor, and I did not have a big expectation. I arrived to the hotel after 10 o clock. The room was much much smaller than in the pictures. It was so small that 2 people could hardly stand and walk at the same time.
I went downstairs and explained to the staff that it was impossible to sleep there. The guy was nice, and he sent us to another room, which was perhaps 1m2 bigger than the first one.
The second day in the morning, we discussed again with the people at the reception and they upgraded the room. This new room was OK, but still the hotel leaves a lot to deserve on respect of cleanses. The hotel was stinking the hole day, from the food cooked in the kitchen... We had booked a room with breakfast, but we did not even go to see how the breakfast was.
I have staid several times in Paris in 3 star and 4 star hotels, but this one, definitely is not a 3 star hotel. I doubt I would come back to this place.

Room Tip: try to book the rooms in the corner - room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directriceplazaopera, Manager at Plaza Opera Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
We are sorry you didn't like our standard room neither our superior room. We did try to give you satisfaction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

My hubby and I spent 3 nights here to celebrate my 50th birthday. Good location just a few minutes from Cadet metro station. Lots of shops and restaurants/bars in surrounding area.
Warm welcome from reception staff. Tiny lift up to our first floor room which was located at the end of a narrow corridor. Room fairly small with a double bed (comfy) and ensuite bathroom. Basic but acceptable for the price paid. No drawers though which was odd. Our room was at the front of the building which faced onto a busy road....it was noisy at night but we closed the window, effectively shutting out most of the noise and put on the fan a it was a warm room.
The breakfast room was down at basement level and was small for the number of rooms. However there was an excellent choice of food, from fruit, cereals, boiled eggs, toast etc. We were also delighted to be given a basket of fresh french bread, croissants, pain au chocolat etc to share each morning..yum!
We would stay here again and would recommend it. The only disappointment for us was the terrible shuttle service which we booked thru the hotel to get back to the airport costing 18 euros each(paid to the hotel). We'd booked a pick up at 3, the manager chased them up at 3.15 and we were collected at 3.20. After the driver had dropped his wife and child off in the centre of Paris (!) and collected 3 other passengers, we eventually left the city after sitting in the vehicle for 1.5 hours. We had to be at the airport for 4pm for a 6pm flight and were getting very anxious and irate. Then...the vehicle ran out of diesel so the driver went to a petrol station only to find there was no diesel. After being harangued by his passengers he rang for another vehicle to pick us up. After a further 20 min wait this arrived and all passengers and baggage were transferred. At last we set off at speed onto the Peripherique where four lanes merge instanly into one resulting in paint being scraped off said vehicle. When we finally arrived at the airport the driver demanded payment!!! We told him in no uncertain terms to take the matter up with the hotel. We had to run through the airport and had five minutes to spare before boarding closed.....I have never enjoyed a glass of red wine on the flight so much!

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

This hotel is a bit old looking when you first walk in but what it lacks in modernity it makes up for in location. The lift is tiny, one person with bags is about all you'll fit in there, so it's a trek up the stairs to the 5th floor and rooms 53 and 54. 53 is tiny. The huge bed takes up most of the room and makes it difficult to walk around the room. The bed was very comfortable though. But the bathroom is really lovely and seems quite new. As well as that you have a balcony with a view over the Parisien rooftops. However, it's all about room 54. Relatively huge when compared to 53 and with the classic view of the Eiffel Tower peeping over the roof tops. The bathroom here is also quite new and you can have a bath looking at the tower if you like. This room also has a balcony with a small table and two chairs. Really lovely room and well worth the hike up the stairs. Room 53 was quite warm, even in October but it wasn't unbearable.

The rooms have free wifi.

Breakfast was fairly mediocre but there are plenty of cafes around about.

It's about 15-20mins walk from Gare Du Nord, likewise to Gallerie Lafayette but it is well serviced by buses, taxis and the metro. Mont Martre is just up the hill as well.

Biggest problem I had with it was that the left luggage area was really just a spot in the foyer behind some chairs. Not locked up and not really supervised. All of my stuff was fine, but still I was worried.

Room Tip: Ask for room 54! That's the one with the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LotusFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Close to Gare du Nord station and Cadet tube station.
Breakfast is ordinary.
Very very small lift. Even three persons can't stand. One can't carry two luggages at a time in the lift.
Toilet was very good and spacious.
Hotel staffs are very nice and helpful.
Room was non A/C and was very hot. Not good in Summer

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debasis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
New Hotel Lafayette
New Hotel Lafayette
#1,052 of 1,802 in Paris
316 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Pax Opera
Hotel Pax Opera
#368 of 1,802 in Paris
852 reviews
Opera / Bourse
The Lodge du Centre Hotel
The Lodge du Centre Hotel
#420 of 1,802 in Paris
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Brittany Hotel
Brittany Hotel
#850 of 1,802 in Paris
424 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Best Western Premier Opera Faubourg
Opera / Bourse
Golden Hotel Paris
Golden Hotel Paris
#790 of 1,802 in Paris
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Opera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Opera Hotel

Property: Plaza Opera Hotel
Address: 12 rue de Maubeuge, 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #746 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Opera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel situated in the heart of the city near Opera, art galleries, fine restaurants, museums, Gare du Nord & Gare de l'Est. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Plaza Opera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Opera
Plaza Opera Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing