We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Parisian hotel, but has it faults”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Vendome - Paris
Ranked #352 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Parisian hotel, but has it faults”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed at the Melia Place Vendom for six nights.
Hotel's location is definitely AAA – It's two minutes from Place Vendom, Place Concord, Tuileries gardens and the Louvre. On the front tend one of Paris's most tours street – Rivoli, and on the back, one of Paris's most Chic and luxurious streets – St. Honore.
The facility has a beautifully designed lobby and lounge room and receptionists were quite helpful and pleasant.
Also, the room we had was surprisingly large, as well as quite designed, especially if you consider other Parisian institutes, and the value for the sum we paid.

On the other hand, we experienced some annoying down faults involved with the facility, as well as service. To name some: When we walked into the room, I was amazed to find (used?) toilet paper inside the toilet seat! Also, there was a nerve-wracking sound coming from the bathroom, every two seconds, which sounded like drops. When we called maintenance, they couldn't locate the source, so they had to move us to another room. This new room was also beautiful, but was right next to the elevator, which meant, that each time you were in the bathroom, and the elevator was used – you could hear the floor number announced – quite annoying for those of you that want relaxing baths… Alsom the bathroom door would not completely close, so we had to put something under it from inside so it wouldn't open.

There were at least five more issues, including a cattle we requested in the room to boil water for our baby, and even though triple confirmed, was nowhere to be found, until they came up with one on day two, housekeeping that left dirty glasses in the room, and did not bring new ones, a EU28 breakfast that could defiantly use some additions – vegetables to name one, etc'…

Overall I would gladly recommend this hotel, but on the same time would strongly recommend to the management to put some thought into dramatically improving the quality of maintenance in the facility, as well as making sure all of the staff are well trained as far as expected levels of service go.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvivLeshem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHIFRANCE, Guest Experience MHI France at Melia Vendome - Paris, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear AvivLeshem,

Thank you for choosing the Meliá Vendôme Boutique Hotel and for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor.

We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please rest assured that your comments have been already shared with the team and we will do our utmost to ensure that our service and approach is consistently professional, friendly and oriented to our guests' needs.

Once again thank you for your choice and your review and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Priscilla Pascal
Guest Experience
Meliá Hotels International France
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    349
    120
    29
    23
See reviews for
174
379
39
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I had booked this hotel based on a few factors, only to be disappointed. I expected better and It is very expensive for what you get.

The best thing going for the hotel us the location, It is perfect in many ways and easy to quickly get to most of the parts of Paris you want to get to.

Howeverm the rooms of the hotel are lacking. The first one I was given was a strange L shaped room on the 5th floor. Very awkward feeling and just not pleasant. The room also was extremely hot with no a/c in the room. I called down to the reception to switch, they said no as they were completely sold out. That was not the case, as I was offered to pay for an upgrade. I told them they need to find another room and they called back with the upgrade. While it was bigger and a bit nicer, still just ok. The downside with all rooms you have to have the windows open, and the noise was very loud of the taxis, scooters etc going by. I felt like I couldn't win. The carpeting was a bit on the shabby side.

The bathroom was dated and there was no light over the shower , so all felt very dim in the bathroom. It had an old tub with marks on the bottom. Again, expected better and by no means would I have been happy , had I paid.

My suggestion is to shop around. The location is fab and can't be beat. However, just does not meet expectations. I will not return

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UKD97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHIFRANCE, Guest Experience Meliá Hotels International France at Melia Vendome - Paris, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear UKD03,

Firstly, I want to thank you for choosing us and taking the time to write a review about our hotel. You opinion is very important for us. Your comments will be used to improve our services and make sure that all of our customers have the most pleasant stay at Meliá Vendôme Boutique Hotel.

I am sorry to see that your experience with us was not to your entire satisfaction. Allow me to suggest you our superior room type categories for your future stays (i.e.Junior Suite or Suite) that offer more spacious accommodation and a wide range of additional benefits, as I feel that these would better suit your requirements.

Please let me know when you will be next in Paris this would give me the opportunity to personally take care of your stay.

Best regards,

Priscilla Pascal
Guest Experience Meliá Hotels International France
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

The hotel is in a great location. The reception is small but well presented and the receptionist was very polite. Stayed in a standard room for one night. The room is very small, which is normal for Paris. If staying here for more than one night I would go for a bigger room. The bathroom is a good size. The power from the shower is very good and the water hot - but it does need an upgrade as it is a bit dated and limescale evident. I don't think that the rooms are as nice as the Melia in Spain. The room I had was very quiet, the bed comfortable and the best thing is that you can open the windows in the bedroom. The breakfast was lovely and a very good choice - fruit, rolls, eggs, pastries, fresh fruit juice and some hot buffet choices.

We had dinner in a bistro restaurant round the corner from the hotel. There are many of these near the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raven108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestexperienceparis, Guest Experience Meliá Hotels International France at Melia Vendome - Paris, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Raven108,

We are extremely happy to see that your experience was a positive one and we would like to thank you for sharing your kind comments with others travellers via Trip advisor.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Priscilla Pascal
Guest Experience Meliá Hotels International France
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

The hotel is a bit pricey compared to what you can get elsewhere around Europe. However, that's just representative of the cost of staying in Paris. The room we got was very small (again, Paris for you) and had a view out onto a wall/the other half of the building. It was, however, clean and the bathroom was very nice with a large bath tub for relaxing after a day around the city. The hotel stored our bags on the last day as our flight did not depart until the evening which was much appreciated.

The location of the hotel is ideal. You're within walking distance of the Louvre, Champs-Élysées and can hop on the metro from Concorde to get anywhere you don't feel like walking. The hotel staff are fairly knowledgable about the city and will be able to highlight on a map which metro stop you should disembark to get where.

We were disappointed to be told the breakfast was a €28 per person supplement - adding to the image of the hotel as being overpriced. We had several good meals in Paris which were less so were not willing to pay so much for what looked like a fairly minimal breakfast selection.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHIFRANCE, GUEST EXPERIENCE FRANCE at Melia Vendome - Paris, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Joe R,

Thank you so much for your kind comments with regards to our Meliá Vendôme Boutique Hôtel and the staff. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your experience in our hotel. Concerning the price of the breakfast, i would like to inform you that our prices are according to our competitors in Paris.

Once again thank you for choosing the Melia Vendôme Boutique Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best regards,

Priscilla Pascal
Guest Experience
Meliá Hotels International France
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Clean and comfortable. Well presented, but probably priced a little higher than comporable hotels.
A colleague and I were checking in.
Recptionist to Colleague 1:
Would you like to upgrade from a Standard to Premium room for an extra €40?
Colleague 1:
No thanks.
Receptionist:
Ok, well since it's your first time here we can upgrade you free of charge.
Recptionist to Colleague 2:
Would you like to upgrade from a Standard to Premium room?
Colleague 2:
C'est gratuit?
Receptionist:
No. Your colleague got the last free upgrade, but we can give you one for €40.
Colleague 2:
No thanks.

Room Tip: turn down paying for the room upgrade. there's a 50% chance you will get one for free anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bluenoser794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHIFRANCE, Guest Experience France at Melia Vendome - Paris, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Bluenoser794,

Thank you for your kind comments with regards to the cleanliness and comfort of the hotel. I am sorry to know that your experience was not as expected concerning your arrival.

In fact, that day we had only one superior room available. Only few times and when the hotel have the disponibility, we offer a free up-grade to our guests in order to give them the possibility to appreciate our superior rooms with a complimentary high-speed Internet and luxury amenities offered.

Kindly let us know when you will be staying at the Meliá Vendôme Boutique hotel and we will do our best to ensure that your experience will be a wonderful one.

Best regards,

Priscilla Pascal
Guest Experience
Meliá Hotels International France
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verneuil Sur Seine, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Very nice location for this hotel close to Vendome Place, Concorde, Opéra .Close to metro stations (Concorde, OPera). The room and bathroom are especially spacious and noiselessly.
The breakfast is quite expensive but the price in on line with its quality.
I really regret that the reception is not pleasant and even at 23H00, you have to wait for 10 minutes before someone welcomes you; Moreover issues are not taken into account very quickly. For these 2 reasons I am not sure that I will have a new stay in this hotel; The service is not on line with the price.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeroD1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solmelia2010, Guest Experience Meliá Hotels International France at Melia Vendome - Paris, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Google Translation
Chère Madame,

Nous remercions vos commentaires concernant la situation de l’hôtel, le confort de nos chambres et la qualité de notre petit déjeuner. Nous sommes par ailleurs profondément désolés que votre expérience concernant le service de nuit n’ait pas été à la hauteur de vos espérances et nous vous remercions de nous en avoir fait part, nous permettant ainsi d’identifier vos remarques qui nécessitent toute notre attention.

Nous espérons que vous nous donnerez l’opportunité lors d’un prochain séjour de vous prouver la qualité de notre service. Dans l’attente d’avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau au Meliá Vendôme Boutique Hotel, je vous prie d’agréer, chère Madame, l’expression de nos sentiments les meilleures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Excellent location for seeing the sights, right next to Concorde metro station, easy access to Chatelet from there. Buy your ticket before getting the train to/from airport (CDG), it's £9.25, the fine for buying a ticket on the train is £25.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank koala_panda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Mayfair Paris
Hotel Mayfair Paris
#448 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel du Continent
Hotel du Continent
#79 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Duminy Vendome
Duminy Vendome
#373 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
#181 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Emeraude Louvre Montana Hotel
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Opera Richepanse
Hotel Opera Richepanse
#139 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Vendome - Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Vendome - Paris

Property: Melia Vendome - Paris
Address: 8 rue Cambon, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#220 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#440 Business Hotel in Paris
#469 Family Hotel in Paris
#477 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Vendome - Paris 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Melia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Vendome - Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Paris
Paris Sol Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing