We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price”
Review of Villa Eugenie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Eugenie
Ranked #1,116 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We booked our room through an Early Bird deal at getaroom.com - and for that price, we couldn't complain. The room itself was certainly tiny but equipped with a reasonable sized bathroom, both fairly clean (yes, it had old wallpaper and furniture and the beadspread & curtains could use a thorough cleaning but they weren't extremely dirty). Towels and sheets were changed every day and we didn't notice anyone looking through our belongings or anything of that sort. Staff were pleasant and friendly, we could check in a few hours earlier than the official check-in time. We had a room overlooking the street (and not the railway) on the 6th floor and the soundproofing seemed fine. The airconditioning/heating though was quite noisy, otherwise it did its job, the room was always warm. The wifi worked only on the ground floor, at the lobby/breakfast area.
All in all, we recommend Villa Eugenie to anyone who's on a budget and can find a great deal like we could, who is not a hygiene-freak and who doesn't expect a 5-star hotel for this price. This small hotel is a very friendly and cozy place, with all the necessities for a tired tourist: a comfy bed and a clean shower.
If you are staying at this hotel, don't miss out on the nearby Rue Levis, which is a quintessential French market street with local people and a great atmosphere. We enjoyed a lovely dinner there at Bistrot d'I-D and had a look at all the nice little patisseries, cheese shops, butcher shops and florists.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a splendid view but no wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annaboldizsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2013

Overpriced, dirty, unsafe!

Outside, the hotel looks dirty, to match the street. Neglected. Upon entering the hotel you are greeted by a employee whom clearly does not want to be there. The place smells of mould, dust and just dirty. Rooms are teeny to say the least and we had stains of all types and sizes on our bed.

Left the room for 1,5hrs to get a bit to eat to return to our belogings rummaged through and our Macbook, 2 cameras, Nintendo DS and various headphones and chargers missing. The hotel staff did nothing to help or compensate. They didn't offer refund on the room upon leaving early due to the incident... All they said was "That's strange, sorry?"

I wouldn't reccommend ever staying here, EVER! The area is horrible, the hotel is horrible.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank NILLASAWRUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We found this hotel on Agoda and for around 50 euros per night we certainly weren't expecting something luxurious, (and were a bit sceptical!)

However, we were greeted by friendly reception staff who gave us the key to our room even though we had arrived at 10am, well before the check in time of 2pm. Although the decor is dated it has a certain charm and the room was clean and tidy. We were also impressed with the bathroom which was a decent size and well-lit.

In terms of location the hotel is right near the gare Saint Lazare and you just take the SNCF train one stop to access the metro.

When we came back today the cleaners had been and everything was replaced and tidied.

Excellent value for money and would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: No noise heard either from the street or other visitors. We were on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Small but lovely french style rooms. Some bath rooms extremely small, and not too clean. Old, shaby bed linen. Hetaing by aircon. Friendly reception staff. Breakfast for 15 € not recommendable, better go to a cafe or Salon de The in the area around the hotel. Not really located well for visits to he city, 8' - 10' walk to the next metro and ca. 20' ride to the major sights in the center. TV was not working and was not repaired for three days. However missing remote control was replaced in half a day. Would I come again: no, because it is too far from the city and not really part of a Parisien neighborhood. I have not seen anyone eating at the extremely overpriced restaurant. To order a drink is a major excercise for the guy at the reception desk. Overall: acceptable if you get a good rate, but do not expect a four star place. Then it is just okay.

Room Tip: Room 304 is bigger but on the main street. Room 303 is very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

I was a bit concerned after reading these reviews but I must say our room was so lovely. Room 105. So quiet and I slept so well- I am a light sleeper. Mattress comfy and room was clean and individual. We didn't eat in the hotel- why would you when in Paris, it is a known fact that it is more expensive to do so! Great water pressure in shower.
Location is fine. 10 mins from Rome metro and opposite an rer station. Would def consider staying here again as excellent value. We booked through Expedia.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sazrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Stayed for 2 nights... intended to stay for 4, but I was very disapointed by the hotel.
Very tired.. it needs a update!!
The breakfast was very ordinary. The breakfast room was freezing cold.. Perhaps the heating had been cut off??

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank arabella318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

My wife and I spent a night recently in this tired establishment. It is located on a busy intersection and at least 20 minutes from the nearest Metro with views over the neighbouring railway line. Double check the location before booking!
While providing adequate front desk help and information, the delivery was barely friendly.
My wife and I were the only people at breakfast and 'interrupted' the two staff who were obviously having their own noisy conversation and were not in the least bit interested in clearing our table or offering any customer service ! A good clean,some paint and maintenance and a lot of staff training /re-hiring could see this hotel comfortably fit the budget traveller niche and not where management perceives it at present.

Room Tip: Double glazing helps to make even corner - 'Intersection' rooms relatively quiet with the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 631FleurieuFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Batignolles-Monceau
Villa Alessandra
Villa Alessandra
#1,044 of 1,802 in Paris
487 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Best Western Opera Batignolles
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Pavillon Louvre Rivoli
Pavillon Louvre Rivoli
#1,272 of 1,802 in Paris
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Villa Luxembourg
Villa Luxembourg
#956 of 1,802 in Paris
586 reviews
Gobelins
Villa Lutece Port Royal
Villa Lutece Port Royal
#852 of 1,802 in Paris
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Eugenie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Eugenie

Address: 167 rue de Rome | 17th Arr., 75017 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Batignolles-Monceau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#469 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £66 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Eugenie 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Eugenie is a charming hotel that pays tribute to the period marked by Napoleon III, situated in the 17th arrondissement next to the picturesque Butte Montmarte and Sacré Coeur. This elegant property features stylishly decorated and fitted rooms that provide you with a relaxing space for the duration of your visit to Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Splitty, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Villa Eugenie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Eugenie Hotel Paris
De Paris Hotel Eugenie
De Hotel Paris
Villa Eugenie Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing