We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not too bad - had a good stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Timhotel Nation

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Timhotel Nation
Ranked #1,198 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not too bad - had a good stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel is definitely in more of what I would call a "suburb" of Paris. It's mostly locals out here with a few hotels in the mix. A lot of the restaurants around will be filled with Persians and not tourists. At times you feel like a bit of an outsider here (maybe this is just France in general). It could have been cleaner and the staff (not all of them) could have been a little friendlier. Info book said they had a laundry service. Went down to ask the front desk and he just said "No", I said that the info book said that you guys did offer that and he just said "No" again. He said there was a place close by but did not offer any details.The bed was comfy and clean and I definitely didn't feel weird about sleeping or relaxing in the room.Walls could have used a scrub, bathroom door coating was chipping off on the door, shower didn't drain very well, large visible pipes in the bathrooms, etc. Just kind of felt sort of basic, unfinished, or in need of an update. No AC (which I know can be common in Europe) and the room got a bit hot. They do give you a fan and the window does open. It is on a busy street that is quite loud though. I'm not a light sleeper so it was fine. The room was small but not terribly so (Amsterdam room was smaller but nicer). It's a 5 minute walk to the Nation Metro station (multiple lines) and a 1 minute walk to the Avron metro station (line 2) which will take you towards Nation or the opposite way up North to montmartre. All this being said - it's a good value for Paris. Anything closer to the city is going to cost a lot.

Room Tip: Street side is loud. Make sure you're OK with riding the metro to Paris center daily. Warm in s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nablashar, Directeur général at Timhotel Nation, responded to this review, 8 October 2014
Google Translation
Chèr Client,

Nous vous remercions d'avoir pris le temps de laisser un commentaire .
Vos remarques trés détaillées nous aideront à progresser et seront aussi utiles aux internautes .
Bien cordialement,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    178
    156
    64
    36
See reviews for
53
207
46
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights in mid June this summer. From reading the reviews I was a bit hesitant of what to expect. I have to say feel the low scoring reviews seem rather unjust to me. We were on a budget, as you all may know, Paris accommodation is extremely expensive. We booked in advance and paid £205 for a double room across 3 nights, a very reasonable price.

The hotel is pretty basic, but rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable and staff were polite.

The hotel the most majestic of areas in Paris, but what can you expect for the price? We found the best metro station was that of Nation, whilst not being that close to the main attractions we were only ever 30 minutes away from all the main main sights you'd want to visit.

One down side I would say was the breakfast, if I remember rightly it was about 12 euro a day per person, which I felt was quite expensive considering what was on offer. However next door there was patisserie with your usual French pastry on offer for a very reasonable price, we would just got here and got breakfast for both of us for under 7 euros a day. Not to mention there is a nice cafe on the corner which was also very reasonable.

if you're visiting Paris on a budget and looking for a fairly central location with a no frills hotel, this is definitely for you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jake R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nablashar, Directeur général at Timhotel Nation, responded to this review, 8 October 2014
Google Translation
Chèr Client,
Nous vous remercions d'avoir pris le temps de laisser un commentaire et nous nous excusos aussi pour cette réponse tardive .
Nous espèrons que vos remarques seront trés utiles aux internautes puisque celles ci font apparaitre que nous sommes un hôtel avec un prix fort raisonnable pour Paris et que nous sommes trés bien situés
Merci pour votre compréhension et de l'avoir patargée
Au plaisir de vous accueillir de nouveau au Timhotel Nation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algarve, Portugal
Level Contributor
448 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Hotels in Paris are definitely expensive!!!! We chose this hotel to try to get a hotel not too overpriced and with a minimum of reasonable revues. The hotel cost 355 euros 4 nights with breakfast, but is basic. The people are friendly, but the hotel is all small and not pretty - reception, bedroom, bathroom. The bathroom doesn’t has a single shelf to put anything and the shower is very small. If you have more than 1.8 mt risks not fit. But it is clean. Has 2 metro stations near by and one reaches the center of Paris in 15mn. Breakfast as cereal, bread and croissants and then cheese, butter, jams, all packed. Milk, coffee, yogurt and orange juice. I do not expect to come back, but as we could not get anything better for this price I do not know ......

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MEAFaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

1. mediocre location.
In terms of the Tim Hotel's distance to metro station, it is ok - just five to ten minutes by walk which depends on which line you are to take.
However, in terms of price (I pay some 130 euro/night for a double bedroom), I don't think it is the best deal because a few hotels at the similar price are right located in prettier central area.

2. disappointing room facilities.
Face basin, toilet and shower all have some problem with their water supplying which were rather annoying.
The room is dim and smells a bit stubborn.

3. Simple breakfast.
If you expect some proper French breakfast such as lovely croissants and fresh coffee, you may feel very offended.

4. Worst service from staff.
The two ladies at the reception are always showing a typical air attendant's smile with no willingness to be truly friendly not alone helpful.
When I sought some advice regarding online ticket / discount ticket for Museum Louvre, the lady even did not allow me to finish the question, simply saying "the computer is over there- you'd better check it on their website" with a standard smile.

When we checked out after four nights' stay, nightmare happened.
Due to miscommunication between Tim Hotel's staff Ms Blanka and Ms Sharmin, I was stopped when catching up my train for some surcharge issue. Due to the discussion about this, I missed my train to The Netherlands, which is very inconvenient and very annoying because I had to pay extra for another international train.
The staff refused to call her colleague for a quicker clarification, on the basis that "I can't call my colleague during the break" while insisting me to contact my colleague who assisted with my booking.
Then why should my colleague be disturbed on the Sunny morning?

In summary, I would suggest to avoid staying with Tim Hotel Nation if you expect a comfortable, well-priced and pleasant stay in Paris.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank C Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nablashar, Directeur général at Timhotel Nation, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
We are extremely sorry to know that your stay was shattered by unhappy misunderstandings.
You didn't let your name but i suppose i found who are you...
All the problem began because we didn't kow you were 2 instead of one and all the staff did their job by asking you an extra charge for the second person and the receptionist you have seen 10 minutes during the check out was coming back at his shift after 10 days OFF and she followed the instructions on your voucher : it means 1 person
We apologize for your disappointment learning that our hotel did know about the changement of the conditions of your booking.
We would like to underline the fact,however,that all booking modifications have to be sent by written confirmation and the necessary changes made on the agency website.
We suppose that if we have received written modification we would not have asked for the extra payment.
Concerning the train you would have missed it anyway because you left the room very late at 10 A.m before the discussion started for a train reserved at 10.20 A.m at Gare du Nord .Normaly our client needs 35 minutes to get to the station without being in a hurry and 10 minutes more to chek in
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burscough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a three star hotel. The rooms are tiny even by Parisienne standards. The bathroom plumbing had been refurbished with excellent new shower and plumbing, but the budget must have run out because it desperately need repainting. There is only French TV channels but there is free wi fi.
the reception staff are very friendly and helpful and the breakfasts are good though they do not vary at all day to day. There are no other meals on offer, but plenty of eating opportunities nearby. The room we had suffered from street noise and pipe expansion noises as the heating was running throughout the night . The beds were comfortable but it was hot and there was no air conditioning in our room. A better option would have been to opt for a room away from the street frontage. As far as restaurants are concerned make sure you consult trip advisor as quality is infinitely variable and some add on 10% tax for food and also 20% for wine
Overall good value for money

Room Tip: Away from the street frontage there should be less street noise. If you want a hair drier you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dem0Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Great budget hotel, if you want to be economical but yet still in the city. Very short walk from metro stop Avron, which is only 1 stop away from RER line A (Nation). (Or it's a nice walk to Nation if you want to skip the metro). Great fruit/vegetable shop across the street, boulangerie next door, several good restaurants very near. Didn't try their breakfast. Bed was comfortable. Room small but adequate. WIFI free and worked in the room. Very quiet, even though our room was on the street side. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

First off, this isn't a flash hotel but it is really good value and totally accessible for all of Paris via the Metro. It is barely a minute's walk from Avron Metro - which is on the '2' line (another Metro station is about two minutes walk in the opposite direction. We chose the room only option (breakfast is available for €13.50) and the room was clean and perfectly acceptable. The reception staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful and the rooms were cleaned to a good standard daily, with fresh towels if you required them. The area around the hotel is quieter than central Paris but there are plenty of places to eat and people watch and a plethora of supermarkets and bakeries so no difficulty catering for yourself. If you want somewhere basic but friendly and well served by the Metro system, you could do a lot worse than here. We would definitely stay again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Median Paris Congres
#1,162 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Hotel de L'Union
#673 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Timhotel Paris XVII Bd Berthier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Pavillon Nation
Pavillon Nation
#852 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel Des Vosges
Hotel Des Vosges
#1,251 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timhotel Nation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timhotel Nation

Property: Timhotel Nation
Address: 5-7 rue d'Avron, 75020 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#147 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Timhotel Nation 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a stone's throw away from Place de la Nation and few minutes from Gare de Lyon, this 50 rooms hotel with patio, will welcome guests on business as well as those on holidays. The hotel combines comfort and an ideal location for your travels around the city center. Surrounded by shopping streets the quarter is among one of the most eclectic districts of Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotel.de so you can book your Timhotel Nation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timhotel Nation Paris
Timhotel Nation Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing