We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard to pick fault” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Berne Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Berne Opera
Ranked #395 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hard to pick fault”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

For the price this was fantastic value. The location is central and convenient, the rooms are tastefully decorated and perfectly clean. Good shower, tea, coffee, kettle, etc. Good sized room. We found it perfectly quiet (and we were overlooking the street area). Lastly, we found the hotel had a lovely atmosphere; the staff were without exception efficient, warm and helpful. (And English-speaking!) Would visit again in a heart-beat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    236
    67
    13
    19
See reviews for
154
140
33
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Great hotel and even better location. The Berne Opera is hidden on a side street just down from the M2 Rome stop and close to Europe and one other stop. We did a 5 day metro pass so the location was great to be able to see anything in the city. The room was small (by US standards) but clean and comfortable with a nice Shower and full Bathroom. Very clean. There was a hair dryer in the room and an Ironing board and iron upon request. Breakfast was expensive, like all parisian hotels, but there was a fridge in the room so we went to the grocery store that was next door and got yogurt and juices and there are several pastry stores just down the road. Walking distance to Moulin Rouge and MonteMarte. The room was quite when the windows were closed and it had AC even though we did not use it due to the temperature being comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

It was clean, comfortable, staff very helpful especially when our French is basic. The breakfast was OK and adequate - it is what it is and to be expected.

A good average hotel but needs to do something about the sound proofing of the plumbing as we didn't sleep well on our last night (someone was up at 5:30 am).

We felt the hotel was good value for money. The decor especially in the public areas is lovely.

The size of the room was fine (we were actually expecting it to be smaller and was kept spotlessly clean everyday, it was just let down by the view. This disappointed as we were on our special anniversary. I kept forgetting to ask for an extra pillow as there was only 2 on the bed and 1 spare. 4 Pillows for a double bed is standard to us. It was good that there was a bath with shower but needed to be careful as I felt the bath was a bit slippy. I didn't use the toiletries provided but this was a lovely touch. Room was warm and it was easy to adjust the heating.

Some leaflets etc regarding getting to and from the sights, train and metro would be good.

The lift is small and there are some stairs to the breakfast room.

As this was our first time in Paris we felt it daunting getting around and as Paris is such a large city we took taxis a few times and although the train and metro were nearby we did a lot of walking finally finding things easier as the days went by. (We went to the metro one day but the staff member there was not very helpful.)

A good idea is to take a one or two day pass on the hop on hop off tour bus at the beginning of your trip as (this will help get your bearings). Get on and off at the scheduled stops spending time at each of the sights.

Try and get a good map before you go highlighting your hotel and routes to sights.

If you pre-booking any tours etc before you go make sure it includes pick up from your hotel and return back to it.

We would go back as there is so much to see and do and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Street View
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DianeA596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent for city break, clean friendly and helpful service. Breakfast good value and convenient. Found two excellent local Bistro's. Walk to department stores takes about 20 mins. Location excellent also walked to Sacre Coeur and Montmartre. Rome metro station at top of road. Would use this hotel again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pink_Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Rooms in Paris always tend to be small by USA standards and also they tend to be expensive also by USA standards, that being said this Hotel is good value.
We did pay a extra 15E a night for a larger room with a balcony, I wonder if it was worth it as i did not see the standard rooms but it worked for us.
The staff were excellent with the exception of the Night Auditor who was hopeless and incompetent. We needed to check out at 4,30am and I tried to checkout the afternoon before, sorry unable to do that the software will not allow that. We both work at a resort and it is possible we know, but sadly they would not allow it. it took 20minutes for the Night Auditor to process our departure, he was not at the desk I needed to go hunting for him, outside smoking.
Good luck I did allow time for this kind of nonsense.
The rooms are very clean and when we brought to the staffs attention that the glass door was hanging off they quickly fixed it, also when we ran out of Toilet Paper they quickly brought more, these sort of things happen even in 5star hotels.
The room was not noisy but what was noisy was other guests slamming doors and running up and down the passageway so the rooms are not soundproof inside, we did not hear any traffic noise.
The closest Metro is the Rome stop only 2 minutes walk to the Hotel.
We both felt that the Hotel charged way too much for the Breakfast so we eat out for less and higher quantity of food.
Yes we would return as the poor parts were minor as far as we were concerned over the better parts. Reception staff excellent with great knowledge.
Oh if you need a shuttle to the Airport don't use the one suggested and booked by the staff, he arrived on time but with no gasoline and he needed to search for one on route, scary, he really was empty I looked at the pump guage.

Room Tip: Get a room high up and pay for a large room and balcony. Avoid a early morning departure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We picked the berne opera hotel after reading reviews on trip advisor, and what a find the hotel is , a modern boutique hotel with very friendly and helpful Reception staff as my map came out every morning with a new adventure the best route and advice was given with ease, the breakfast caters for all tastes european and english all served in an amazing stone basement . The berne opera is ideally postioned for exploring the best Paris has to offer , great restaurants near by , supermarkets and an amazing bread and pastry shop. All attractions can be reached easily by Metro with Rome Metro litterally 1 minute walk from hotel, making all of Paris very accessable from Sacre Couer to the Eiffle tower . A great stay in Paris was had by all in the family topped off with an amazing day Disneyland with fantastic weather , Big Thanks for an amazing stay we will be back again.

Room Tip: we had two rooms , room 24 overlooked the front of the hotel onto Rue Du Berne great room and very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

The hotel is at proximity of the metro and therefore is very practical. There are also many amenities surrounding the hotel, i.e. supermarkets, bakeries, pharmacies,...
Although the rooms are quite small, it didn't really bother us as we didn't spend much time in the room. The lift is small but I think you could easily fit 3-4 people in it.
The staff are very friendly and made us feel very welcome, especially Nicholas and Karima. They gave us advice on where to go and what to do, which was nice of them.
We had a lovely time and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nilou_Holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel du Printemps
Hotel du Printemps
#230 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#100 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Astoria - Astotel
#128 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Libertel Montmartre Opera
Libertel Montmartre Opera
#375 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Hotel Gaston
#258 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berne Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berne Opera

Property: Hotel Berne Opera
Address: 37 rue de Berne, 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#135 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#247 Family Hotel in Paris
#259 Business Hotel in Paris
#487 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Berne Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centraly located hotel, near Opera and departement store. All rooms have been completely renovated in 2011. Nice english and spanish speaking staff.All rooms have minibar, safe, Wifi, room service, hairdrier.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Berne Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berne Opera Hotel Paris
Regetel Berne Opera Paris
Regetel Berne Opera Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing