We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay....wouldn't stay here again.”
Review of Hotel Marena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Marena
Ranked #1,687 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Hermosa Beach, CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Okay....wouldn't stay here again.”
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Clean, simple, but beds were very hard and uncomfortable. The television and power outlets did not work. Breakfast was satisfactory, in a bright and clean room. Neighborhood was fair. Only a 15 minute walk to Sacre Coeur and 5 minute walk to metro station (Anvers stop).

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with functional power outlets and t.v.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    19
    48
    30
    51
See reviews for
24
50
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

As many have stated in earlier reviews, the receptionist/owner is not a people-person, he's very rude, and you feel like you're bothering him with your presence. He's always in the phone, and just throws the key to you without looking at you, hoping you will not disturbe him further.

We had booked 2 double-rooms, one of them were not cleaned out when we got it, we had to complain two times, and had to take photo's as "prove" and show to the receptionis before anything happened. No excuses were offered.

Very small rooms, no air-condition, a disadvantage in Paris in July!

Location is OK, about 5-10 minutes walk to Cadet Metro and Gare de Nord(train)

This hotel does not deserve 3 stars.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Annalanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

The hotel was perfect for me and my boyfriend. The room was small, but clean. Beds were nice and the bathroom had a bathtub which was lovely after a long day of walking around Paris. Staff was friendly. Location was absolutly perfect! We almost had the Sacre Coeur in our backyard, figuratifly speaking. Metrostations nearby, so within 10 minutes we were in the hart of Paris... I don't understand all the negative responses about this hotel. It's no Hilton, but you don't need a Hilton when you're in Paris, because you're gonna be out and about in the fantastic streets of Paris anyway... I think this is a perfect hotel for that!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cityhopper83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2011

The hotel owner is super nice guy. He knew what was happened to me that he helps me to stay at this hotel. Looked at the preview before, its pretty horrible that the staffs just get into the room without notice at 1am or the breakfast held in dark and awful basement! THAT'S NOT TRUE!!!!! Very bright and clean room! Breakfast is just too simple but held in 2nd floor! Especially High speed wifi gave me a great hand! I think the price is alright, not cheap to be honest.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitlai84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

I stayed in Hotel Marena with my 12 year-old daughter and my husband and we had a nice stay in Paris. Overall in our opnion it is a very good hotel. The staff were very welcoming on our arrival and were continuously friendly throughout our stay.

The rooms were Okay, but they were defenitly stylish. The bathroom was cleaned and well designed.

Breakfast was continental, but we weren't very fussy for the price we paid for.

For us the best part of the hotel was that in was located in the centre so it was very easy to acces the highstreet. Near the area of the hotel were many resturantes and bars where we would go and have a stroll every evening.

Bottom line i can't complain with what we were provided with and for the price we paid for it was very reasonable. We hope the information helped. Have a nice stay in Paris !

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cityowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

I stayed here on my 2nd trip to Paris.
Great location – near Opera – but the most horrible rooms.
Bathroom’s door – broken; shower - dirty or look like it; the smallest TV ever; very old sheets…
It is just to old and totally unacceptable.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FfNunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2010

Dear travelers,
I decided to join my friends going to Paris, so I made a reservation in hotel Marena on 22. January through the hotel's internet homepage http://www.hotelmarena.com/. The stay was planned for 4 days. As usually required - I submitted my credit card details to pay for the stay. Due to changes in travel plans some weeks before the trip I had to cancel the reservation, which turned out to be impossible, and even more impossible to get the money returned (they collected the amount of 284 Eur for the whole stay on 26.January, although the reservation policy says:Payment is due upon departure!!!).
The hotel did not answer any of 6 e-mails, where I asked to cancel the reservation. I contacted them through all e-mail addresses provided in hotels contact details an on the reservation confirmation. Although I received automatic responses that e-mail has been received, and although they did answer my questions before cancellation.
Three and a half months have passed since the Marena illegally "borrowed" money from me and still has not returned it! Moreover - they ignore requests from credit card company and Consumer Protection Center. I don't know what a short-term business practice they apply, but as this was my first trip to France - I feel very dissapointed...
I will never deal with this hotel again. However, if You decide to do so, don't make reservations through their home page, and be careful with credit cards.
Good luck!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boriic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel de Paris Maubeuge
Hotel de Paris Maubeuge
#1,507 of 1,801 in Paris
108 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Amiot Hotel
Amiot Hotel
#1,598 of 1,801 in Paris
590 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Abrial Hotel
Abrial Hotel
#1,163 of 1,801 in Paris
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Royal Fromentin
Hotel Royal Fromentin
#990 of 1,801 in Paris
420 reviews
Opera / Bourse
le Havane
le Havane
#1,260 of 1,801 in Paris
111 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Corona Rodier
Hotel Corona Rodier
#1,347 of 1,801 in Paris
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marena

Property: Hotel Marena
Address: 27 rue de la Tour D Auvergne, 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,687 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marena 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Paris, near the Opera district and the Montmartre village, the Hotel Marena is ideal for business traveler or holiday-maker. The famous Parisian department stores are a short walk way. Free Wifi and HDTV wide screen in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marena Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing