We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Marena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Marena
Ranked #1,682 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Robina, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good location but...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

we booked another hotel ( not far from this dirty hotel) but when there we were forced to move here because the other had a problem. the receptionist was unpolite and grumpy. the breakfast was horrendus and when we asked for ham and cheese she asked extra money. the elevator is a little box aged 1960 dirty and smelly. the room was tiny and smelly. the bathroom... no comment ( an open sewerege)! Never again here in our life.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mariodambrosio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    18
    47
    29
    49
See reviews for
23
48
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

We went travelling in january 2010 and stayed a few nights in Paris. The room was two single beds, bathroom and berakfast. For teh price it was great, all we needed was a clean bed for teh night and a good feed in teh morning. Plenty of restaurants and cafes around teh hotel, bus into paris right outside the door and the metro stop in short walking distance. overall quite enjoyable, not the ritz but for what we wanted it was perfect. Would recommend to any traveller on a budget as it has the basics.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

The worst hotel in my life! Two persons of our group were forced to move to another hotel for the 2nd night which located too far. No complaint, no compensation at all.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank D_Chernykh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hermosa Beach, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

Clean, simple, but beds were very hard and uncomfortable. The television and power outlets did not work. Breakfast was satisfactory, in a bright and clean room. Neighborhood was fair. Only a 15 minute walk to Sacre Coeur and 5 minute walk to metro station (Anvers stop).

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with functional power outlets and t.v.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

As many have stated in earlier reviews, the receptionist/owner is not a people-person, he's very rude, and you feel like you're bothering him with your presence. He's always in the phone, and just throws the key to you without looking at you, hoping you will not disturbe him further.

We had booked 2 double-rooms, one of them were not cleaned out when we got it, we had to complain two times, and had to take photo's as "prove" and show to the receptionis before anything happened. No excuses were offered.

Very small rooms, no air-condition, a disadvantage in Paris in July!

Location is OK, about 5-10 minutes walk to Cadet Metro and Gare de Nord(train)

This hotel does not deserve 3 stars.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Annalanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

The hotel was perfect for me and my boyfriend. The room was small, but clean. Beds were nice and the bathroom had a bathtub which was lovely after a long day of walking around Paris. Staff was friendly. Location was absolutly perfect! We almost had the Sacre Coeur in our backyard, figuratifly speaking. Metrostations nearby, so within 10 minutes we were in the hart of Paris... I don't understand all the negative responses about this hotel. It's no Hilton, but you don't need a Hilton when you're in Paris, because you're gonna be out and about in the fantastic streets of Paris anyway... I think this is a perfect hotel for that!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cityhopper83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

The hotel owner is super nice guy. He knew what was happened to me that he helps me to stay at this hotel. Looked at the preview before, its pretty horrible that the staffs just get into the room without notice at 1am or the breakfast held in dark and awful basement! THAT'S NOT TRUE!!!!! Very bright and clean room! Breakfast is just too simple but held in 2nd floor! Especially High speed wifi gave me a great hand! I think the price is alright, not cheap to be honest.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitlai84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel de Paris Maubeuge
Hotel de Paris Maubeuge
#1,360 of 1,794 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Royal Fromentin
Hotel Royal Fromentin
#1,006 of 1,794 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
#912 of 1,794 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Corona Rodier
Hotel Corona Rodier
#1,483 of 1,794 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Hotel de Dieppe
#1,595 of 1,794 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Amiot Hotel
Amiot Hotel
#1,603 of 1,794 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marena

Property: Hotel Marena
Address: 27 rue de la Tour D Auvergne, 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,682 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marena 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Paris, near the Opera district and the Montmartre village, the Hotel Marena is ideal for business traveler or holiday-maker. The famous Parisian department stores are a short walk way. Free Wifi and HDTV wide screen in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Marena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marena Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing