We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey for tiny room, but lovely owner”
Review of Hotel Marena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Marena
Ranked #1,687 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pricey for tiny room, but lovely owner”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed in the hotel with a friend for the first time. The hotel is pricey (maybe the hotel agents charged more than what's supposed to) for the size of the room. But as expected of European hotels in general - small rooms. Some of the lights were not working, but we did not trouble having them replaced, as we were only staying overnight. Toiletries were not available too (had to ask)

The owner, however, was very nice and friendly. He gave us advise and tips on how to get around. He also arranged for our airport service and it came on time. So it made up for the hotel experience.

Room Tip: Now wifi in your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Glooey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    19
    48
    30
    51
See reviews for
24
50
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Stayed at Hotel Marena for a long weekend. Considering the price (as Paris is expensive), it is ok place to stay. It is very simple and rooms are small. However, it was rather quiet and room and bathroom were clean, which is very important. Also simple breakfast was included and bread and croissants were tasty and fresh every morning. What else you need for breakfast in Paris?
Location could have been a bit better, but it was still quite ok. Montmarte and Sacre Coeur was nearby, also some restaurants to try. You could easily walk e.g. to Moulin Rouge area and try some nice bistros there. Two metro stations also quite near to the hotel, 5 min. away. Small shop also in the next door (water, wine etc.) and bakery too!
Staff at the reception were nice and spoke good English (specially younger ones). They were also helpful and helped us to get the shuttle to the airport in the early morning. Thanks!
Rooms in the higher floors may be very hot in the summer months and rather cold in the winter (draught from the window).
Bathroom was ok in size and towels were changed. Hot water from the shower was no problem!
I would recommend the hotel for travellers on budget and people who are not afraid to walk (since it is not in the "centre").

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Phantom30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

no wardrobes,drawers so couldn't hang up clothes.Few cracked tiles in shower.Quite unfriendly staff at breakfast,seemed a chore to get croissants as none left.Its free to smile girls!Grumpy night reception guy told me to smoke out room window even tho front door open?overall just ok. werent in room too long,too busy seeing sights.

Room Tip: great for Sacre Coeur.great pub up street,Give Noel our regards!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halden, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

It's not as bad as they say! We checked Tripadvisor AFTER we had booked our trip, and was very close to canceling because of the bad reviews. Fortunately we went, and we had a great time in Paris! -Ok, I understand the criticism, the rooms are small, the beds are small and not that comfortable. Positive things about Marena: The guy at the reception was polite enough and spoke fairly good english. The bathroom in our room (403)looked recently refurbished. "French style" breakfast: Croissants, rolls, jam, coffe, tea and eggs. Bakery across the street, minimarkets just a few blocks away. All in all, I would not hesitate to recomend this hotel to anyone (on a budget), but if you want luxury, stay at the Ritz ...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bente N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

The hotel is situated in the Montmartre district and that is the positive thing to say about it. The room (203) was the smallest room I have ever experienced. Two suitcases in there and you are stuck. Even the staircases were narrow. The bathroom was big enough but the tub, where the shower was, lacked all kind of curtain to prevent the water from covering the floor and the floor had no drainage.The staff was almost uninterested in us, finding the computor more interesting. Eventually we had some help in ordering a shuttle to CDG Airport. I cannot understand how this hotel has gained three stars. Did they put them up themselves ?

Room Tip: My advice is - do not stay there at all or ask for a room with enough space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nils a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

The rooms are clean but very tired. The staff are not helpful, rude and never offered as much as a smile. We needed to use an iron and when we asked the gentleman behind reception looked up said "non" and then carried on his Facebook account. Breakfast is served Upto 10:30am. We watched as another guest asked for a coffee at 10am only to be told "no more coffee". Good location for montmartre district. Good pub next door and excellent small shop and bakers across the road. If you just want somewhere to sleep its o.k. But don't expect anything special and certainly don't expect a warm welcome.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Upon arrival to this hotel, the reception guy just grabbed the reservation form and threw the key on the desk. Nothing said... no eye contact and no response to French or English language. Not even a simple 'hello'. I initially thought that the hotel was taking part in a social inclusion scheme and had kindly taken on someone with an intellectual disability, but this was not the case as the other reception staff were exactly the same.

The guy manning the desk at night tried to demand some kind of cash 'late night fee' for opening the door. We resisted long enough for him to eventually give in and allow us in.

The building itself is actually good for a Parisian hotel and was in good condition. However the bizarre behaviour of the staff make it a place to avoid at all costs.

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank speakeasy365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel de Paris Maubeuge
Hotel de Paris Maubeuge
#1,506 of 1,801 in Paris
108 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Amiot Hotel
Amiot Hotel
#1,602 of 1,801 in Paris
591 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Abrial Hotel
Abrial Hotel
#1,150 of 1,801 in Paris
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Royal Fromentin
Hotel Royal Fromentin
#976 of 1,801 in Paris
421 reviews
Opera / Bourse
le Havane
le Havane
#1,254 of 1,801 in Paris
111 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Grand Hotel de Turin
Grand Hotel de Turin
#1,155 of 1,801 in Paris
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marena

Property: Hotel Marena
Address: 27 rue de la Tour D Auvergne, 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,687 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marena 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Paris, near the Opera district and the Montmartre village, the Hotel Marena is ideal for business traveler or holiday-maker. The famous Parisian department stores are a short walk way. Free Wifi and HDTV wide screen in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Marena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marena Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing